We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very nice hotel in the city center. The rooms were large and clean and the bed was comfortable. I ate at the hotel restaurant twice for lunch because I know it would be fast. The food and service was excellent but a bit expensive. If you plan to eat there though, its better to make a reservation to ensure you get a table.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Michael T.

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios en cuanto al alojamiento en nuestro hotel.

Si decide regresar a Bilbao en un futuro, estaremos encantados de poder alojarle.

Un cordial saludo

Muy atentamente,

Jon Espeja
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Its well located at the very end (or begining) of the Gran Via street where all the shopping life happens, so thats good. Is next to the sagrado corazon monument, and a few steps from palacio Euskalduna, the psrk, la Ría and 15 minutes walk from Guggenheim. Location, check. The rooms are not that nice. They are a bit small (and the one I had was also a bit dark, because it didnt had drapes but only blackouts).
The bed was decent, and also the bathroom and shower. Although the shower is small and its not closed so there is a lot of spilling when yo take a bath. Internet works, but it changes everyday, so you have to go for the passcodes everyday to the concierge. Breakfast is good, and if you are into sports, they have no gym. What they do have is an agreement with a gym convenienlty located 4 blocks away in case you want to lift some iron. To go for a run? Well the river is just 2 blocks away and its really nice (when its not raining). So thats it. I wiil rate this a 7 out of 10.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Luisitorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken a few minutes of your valuable time to write us your comments about our hotel during your recent stay with us.

Regarding to your room size, accept our apologies because of not having given a room as was expected. Nh Collection Villa de Bilbao hotel has 3 different categories of rooms with different sizes: standards between 31 m2- 37 m2, premiums 37 m2 and junior suites 56 m2 per a small supplement from standard room´s price.

Secondly, referring to our Wi-Fi connection, it was uncomfortable to change codes every day, so we have just started to work with a provider, it generates a new Wi-Fi access automatically with a code per day, and so you do not have to go to the reception in order to take another ticket. Moreover, we go on keeping two option: we free (for free) and paying Wi-Fi for highest connections.

It is our aim to provide our guests the warmth and hospitality through our facilities and services.

Thanking you again for your time and your comments.

I remain at your entire disposal and send you my best regards.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Bilbao is charming packed small city, so location probably won't never be a problem (we are always close to everything).

Airport bus stops on this block (1.40€ dropped at the hotel door).

Hotel staff was very polite and attentive but a little bit slowwww for checking in. Check out was smooth.

I asked a non-smoking bedroom with NO carpets and that was exactly what I got. And more: brand new, clean, modern room gave us a great sleep quality.

The breakfast was unnecessarily expensive: 9.9€ per person. 1 block eastwards you'll find a great bakery with a 2.35€ per person. Guess what we did.

It's besides the Basque Government building..like...door-to-door, so beware on strikes and protesters (there was one ongoing when we arrived)!!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room without carpets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to write us your comments about the services of our hotel during your recent stay with us.

Accept our apologies because of not feeling interaction with our reception staff, we always try to offer a pleasant treatment to our customers. My partners will be informed and we will be faster for the next time.

Regarding to our breakfast buffet. We offer a great variety of high quality products. This new concept is called ANTIOX and its aim is to be healthy and varied. Our breakfast could not be sold with the same prices that you will find outside for a great bakery.

At the Hotel NH Collection Villa de Bilbao it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guest. With pleasure,

Thanking you again for your time and your comments, I remain at your entire disposal and send you my best regards.

Best regards


Jon Espeja Martínez
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Convenient to reach from the Airport by public transport. Centrally located for the main sights and old town. We stayed on the second floor and although we fronted the Gran Via, there was little disturbance from street noise/traffic although there was some internal noise from people moving above us. The room was large and well appointed. Two large individual beds with good quality bed linen.Reading lights above the bed. The bathroom was excellent with good quality towels and toiletries and a magnifying mirror - the toilet was off the bathroom, which is my preference.There was a Nespresso maker with 3 pods and plenty of table top and hanging space.
The buffet breakfast was, although seemingly expensive by local standards, extremely good value. It was among the most plentiful and varied we had in our three weeks in Spain. The quality and freshness was top notch.Egg and vegetable dishes could be cooked fresh to order.The female supervisor had excellent organisational skills running a busy breakfast room. You can pick up a quick coffee and pastry locally but if you prefer to have a substantial leisurely breakfast which will take you through to dinner, the breakfast here is recommended. The only quibble I have with the hotel is that there was little interaction with reception staff as we came in and out over a period of 3 days. It is always nice to hear a cheery 'Hola' or have someone ask if you had a nice day or need anything as you come and go. An exception to this was when we were checking out - a staff member called Elena was particularly helpful with directions to our next destination and was generally very charming in talking to us about our stay in Bilbao. Overall - a very happy experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goggsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken a few minutes of your valuable time to write us your comments about our hotel during your recent stay with us.

Our management and staff are pleased to be your hosts. It is our aim to provide our guests the warmth and hospitality through our facilities and services. We offer high quality products for our breakfast buffet. This new concept is called ANTIOX breakfast and its aim is to be healthy and varied. It is a pleasure for us when customers tell us they like it.

Accept our apologies because of not feeling interaction with our reception staff, we always try to offer a pleasant treatment to our customers. My partners will be informed and we will do our best for a next time.

Thanking you again for your time and your comments.

I remain at your entire disposal and send you my best regards.

Best wishes

Jon Espeja
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the NH Villa de Bilbao for 7 nights in a standard double room. On arrival I found the evening reception staff to be less than welcoming and that my booking was for 1 person only rather than 2 people. This was cleared up quickly and I found the day reception staff to be very helpful throughout the stay.

The breakfast was very good with a choice of pastries, cereal, fruit, and cold cuts, as well as the opportunity to have eggs cooked to order. There were several fruit juices and even sparkling wine.

The room that I had faced the inner 'courtyard' which consists of air conditioning pipes and vents. It was spacious and cleanliness was overall acceptable. The main concern was that it was very hot in the room during the stay. When this was reported to the reception they advised that the air conditioning was set to 'warm' for winter and would not give cold air. I always thought that air conditioning offered hot and cold options, so this is either an old system or it doesn't work. Opening the window offered only partial relief.

Overall a good place to stay within easy reach of public transport and the city's main attractions. The stay was quiet but could have been more comfortable with improved climate control.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Mr. Guest,
Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to write us your comments about the services of our hotel during your recent stay with us.
Regarding to the air conditioning system, our hotel is not able to have connected at meantime hot and cold air because of having only one air vent that can be used or only for hot or only for cold. Because of that reason, it depends on the season for us. For winter and autumn we have central heating working and for summer and spring the air conditioning
At the Hotel NH Collection Villa de Bilbao it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guest. With pleasure,
Thanking you again for your time and your comments, I remain at your entire disposal and send you my best regards.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night earlier this month. Very nice and clean modern hotel walking distance to the Guggenheim and the center of the city. The wifi was irritating because you had to get a paper slip with a code every few hours in order for it to work. The hotel had what I consider the best free breakfast I have ever seen in my years of traveling. Omelet station, endless fruit, juices, pastries, etc. the spread was fantastic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pritchett54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Mr. Guest,
Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to write us your comments about the services of our hotel during your recent stay with us.
Regarding to the Wifi connection, we work with a company that only provides one option free of charge , It requires to change login and password each day or there is another option, with a high speed connection that does not need any changement but is paying .However we will consider your comment in order to improve our quality products and services
At the Hotel NH Collection Villa de Bilbao it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guest. With pleasure,
Thanking you again for your time and your comments, I remain at your entire disposal and send you my best regards.

Best wishes
Jon Espeja
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Everything is good about this place. We loved the location, the architecture, food and the staff: friendly, with meticulous attention to detail. The facilities are great and the decor is comfortable and attractive.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank IquitosAnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,325 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Villa de Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Villa de Bilbao

Address: Gran Via, 87, 48011 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Green Hotel in Bilbao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £53 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Villa de Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao is a four-star hotel conveniently located in downtown Bilbao, recently renovated and ready to fulfill your highest expectations in terms of comfort and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, NHHotels, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Villa de Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bilbao
Nh Hotel De Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing