We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“500m to Guggenheim”
Review of NH Bilbao Deusto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Bilbao Deusto
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
GreenLeadersGold level
Braga
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“500m to Guggenheim”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

NH Deusto is just 500m away from the Guggenheim museum in Bilbao, in walking distance from the city center.
The breakfast buffet was great with good selection. I had a single room quite small but enough for a short stay, very comfortable bed.
Wi-fi is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreagartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH Bilbao Deusto, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Muchas gracias por tomarse la molestia de informarnos sobre su estancia, nos satisface que le haya gustado nuestro desayuno, seguiremos sin duda en esta linea.
Reciba un cordial saludo y esperamos verle pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    231
    149
    58
    21
See reviews for
77
225
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Clean hotel; roomy bathrooms; pleasant staff; breakfast way too expensive (go to any one of the cafes within a 3 minute walk...fabulous place, go out of the hotel, go left, cross at first crosswalk, and walk toward bridge 150 yards. Cafe right along sidewalk.) Enjoyed my stay, would and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing street are nice...noisy, but not looking into other rooms' windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amkmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The best thing about the hotel is that it's just 500m away from the Guggenheim museum in Bilbao. The hotel might be in the centre of Bilbao's business district but it is only a 30 mins pleasant walk along the river. The breakfast buffet was a sumptuous spread and the hotel itself was only 400m away from the Deusto metro station. The standard double room was huge and modern with a very comfortable bed. The only downside probably was the 10 euro charge for the use of Wi-fi in the hotel room. If you are in Bilbao to check out the Guggenheim...this is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I don't want to ruin everybody's mood or expectations, but even though it did sound like a good deal and I did not had the worst experience of my life, still is a below average hotel.

Position
- actually this is ok, close to airport and to city center, but 3 minutes will not make a difference in such a small city even when you are walking.

Stuff
- amiable, no complaint there, but not aware of the conditions in the hotel. We were cold one night even with the heater one, there were no blankets in the room, or signs for "do not disturb"

Price
- kinda spicy, the breakfast was 20 euro/person so we decided to eat outside, there are plenty of bars

Parking
- very very small, accesses are not properly marked, I never knew exactly on which door should I enter and where will I get.

Room
- our room was 501, last floor, with a nice but neglected terrace. It had a metal windows, the bath was constructed under the cornice, a long corridor - unusual for a hotel. Our room was right near the elevators and it was noisy. Walls are thin, so we were hearing the elevators, the neighbors doing repairs early Sunday morning and Saturday night there was noise from the street bars and people. The bad was huge, but strange, I think it was a 3 persons bed. The switch to turn off the lights was not bed side, so I guess it was something improvised from another configuration.

Room Tip: In my opionion do not ask for 501, is too noisy, but ask for 5th floor if you want a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is tired, and so is the staff. During breakfast, the two waitresses were reading the paper, commenting the news, without paying any attention to guests.
My guess is NH tried a facelift, but they lifted all the wrong bits, leaving none of the the original charm and making the plastic add-ons painfully obvious.
It's noisy, it's only half clean, many things are broken (hairdryer, air conditioning in my room).
Make yourself a cup of tea, then head to reception and pay for it? Pizza delivery instead of room service? Orange juice 4 months over date in the mini bar? A sandwich vending machine in the hall?
Seriously?
I stayed here because I had to be at Deusto University, just across the street. Next time, I'll happily pay a cab from another part of town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night, the staff were friendly and helpful, spoke perfect English and couldn't do enough to help.
The room and reception were very clean and the beds were really comfortable, we had a room which faced out on to the street and still got a good rest without too much light or news.
There's a shopping arcade about 10-15 min walk away, which is really lovely, a few cute boutique stores and some surf/outdoor shops.
Wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

their staff is very helpful, friendly and accomodating. the location of this hotel is perfect, not exactly in the city center but close enough to walk there. the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. all in all a great hassle-free, simple, clean and comfortable option for your stay in bilbao.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Indautxu
NH Bilbao Zubialde
NH Bilbao Zubialde
#6 of 42 in Bilbao
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
1,983 reviews
ILUNION Bilbao
#20 of 42 in Bilbao
624 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bilbao Deusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bilbao Deusto

Property: NH Bilbao Deusto
Address: Francisco Macia, 9 | Deusto, 48014 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly NH Deusto)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Bilbao Deusto 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, NH Bilbao Deusto is the perfect place to stay during your time in Bilbao. Ideally located for visiting Bilbao's top attractions, the NH Bilbao Deusto is just 550 yards from the world-famous Guggenheim Museum and the new Iberdrola Tower. The hotel is also just a short walk from the historic center and enjoys excellent transport connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Bilbao Deusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing