We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite haven”
Review of Hotel Artetxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Artetxe
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A quite haven”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was close enough to Bilbao for sightseeing but in a quiet location. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable with a lovely view over the city. The funicular down to the city was about 3 minutes drive away which avoided us having to tackle the joys of driving right into the city. The breakfast was plentiful if a bit mechanical. All in all a good place to stay

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ReydeJamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    176
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
232
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

You need a car to get here, which was ideal for us, as we were spending the night here before catching the morning ferry. Being only a short drive from the city centre, airport and ferry port it is excellently situated. There was also plenty of free parking for guests.
Artetxe has a great view over Bilbao and the rooms are spacious, pleasantly decorated and well equipped. The breakfast which is extra, has a good selection.
Staff were very helpful and they can provide you with maps of the area and city.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view, we forgot and had no view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We chose this hotel because it was not in the heart of the city but was on a quiet hill above. A short drive away, there is a funicular that will take one near the river and the Guggenheim, our goal.
Our room was a bit warm, but that really was not a problem.
We had much difficulty driving to this location in our car -got badly lost. But if one understands that it is in Artxanda, signs should guide up the hill. Google maps was insufficient help.
The room was spacious and clean. WiFi, an essential for us, was a welcome amenity.
And the buildings and grounds themselves are attractive, as others have indicated.
The second night for dinner we went (by funicular and walking) to the public square in the Old Town and returned inexpensively by taxi. What a fabulous meal at La Terraza.

Room Tip: We requested a less expensive room and a quiet one. We got that. I know that when I book in an att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfolkways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

If you have a car and want to stay close to Bilbao, this is a good choice. We stayed for 2 nights after arriving via the ferry - we got a bit lost around the new tunnel/motorway, but once in town, GPS pointed us to the hotel straight away. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions and spoke good English. The room was of good size, clean & tidy. WiFi was free and worked well inside the room. There’s a funicular within 2km of the hotel - park your car there for free and take the cheap funicular (one every 15mins) down to the city where you can walk to anywhere! Guggenheim is within sight and a 15 - 20mins pleasant walk to the old town area. There’s a supermarket right next to the funicular station downtown. The staff provided good information to us when we asked about dinner options and advice about where to go outside of Bilbao. We didn’t take the breakfast option so can’t comment on that.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyb-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We loved this little hotel in the hills over looking Bilbao. You definitly need a GPS to find it and to navigate as we did from the ferry at Santander across to Bilbao, but once there we only had to go a short way further up the hill to the furnicular to go down to the city centre in less to no tme. Parking at the furnicular was easy. Our reception at the hotel was great as was the information given and maps. The room was in a separate building,very clean,well appointed, ensuite with shower, haidryer and toiletries.Breakfast was OK, buffet style, cereals cold meats,cheese, yoghurts, bread. The croissants were small and not so good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel at the end of our trip to Northern Spain. I booked directly with the hotel asking for two rooms, one with a double bed and one with two singles.
This was accommodated beautifully. We had two facing rooms with the children getting what appeared to be the largest room in the hotel (due to it being disabled friendly) with a larger bathroom than ours (room no 105).
As mentioned by previous reviewers, you definitely need a car to get to this hotel. I would also add that you need an updated map on your GPS. We hadn't and as a result the GPS got confused half way through a tunnel in the middle of the town's motorway system (which appears to be brand new). Once we were on a recognised road, it was fairly clear where the hotel was - you just follow signs to Enekuri / Artxanda. Coming from the Enekuri direction, the hotel is located appr. 300m after the 7km marker on the left hand side.
The hotel is great for exploring Bilbao as a family since you are only 15-20 minutes away from the centre (via the funicular railway) and yet the there is no major noise level. Worth noting that the funicular railway stops at 23.00 and is a 2km drive from the hotel. This means one your your party has to refrain from drinking any alcohol. As a result the place seemed to be frequented by people who were not after the nightlife and everything went quiet by 24.00 - great for a good nights sleep.
The only slight negative was that there was no airconditioning. Strangely, the inside of the hotel was a lot warmer than outside. When we visited, outside temperatures during the day were appr. 20-23 degrees during the day, yet the hotel room was uncomfortably warm and certainly required an open window during the night.
Reception staff were exceptionally helpful, giving us directions to the railway, restaurant areas and tips on the cheapest way to travel (buy a credit trans card with a credit of 5 or 10 euros, this then allows adults to travel for 56 cents each into town - children are cheaper in cash). On our first night we came back from town and inquired about the number of cars parked further up the road. Emma at reception informed us that this was due to the pending fireworks which we could visit from the gardens of the hotel. She even served us a cold bear each! There are also daily Spanish newspapers available to read in the small reception area.
Breakfast is 7 euros per person and due to the distance from town you are essentially obliged to buy it - so we just viewed it as an extra cost and looked at the total per night. Breakfast is served buffet style and out of the two hotels we stayed in had the better selection: 3 cereals, cakes, toasts,jam, honey, fruit, yoghurts, cheese/ cold meat, juices, coffees (both instant and brewed from a machine), tea etc. My kids were ecstatic due to the fact that there was Nutella!
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is exceptional value for money given it's location and proximity to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheshirewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here in August 2010 and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here. We were located in the top room of the renovated farmhouse building, which gave us a stunning view over Bilbao.
The room was top class, with excellent fittings and fitout and a superb shower/ensuite.
Two windows at the rear of the room were able to be opened, giving one an outlook over rural scenery and the city that was very pretty.
The hosts were first class, being exceptionally friendly and helpful, and spoke good English, a great assistance to those of us with poor Spanish/Euskadi language skills.
Breakfast was a basic continental style and well supplied.
The only real drawbacks to this hotel is that you need a car to access it, unless you like a lot of walking. In addition, it is somewhat difficult to find, unless you're familiar with the roads and highways around Bilbao.
However, we did find the place after some unplanned deviations - and we also found that access to the city is quite good - down a crazy piece of road engineering, that feels like it goes straight down the mountainside!
The adjoining cafe/tavern below our room seems to have a regular carousing group of locals, who love singing Basque songs until late in the evening!
We did not find this unpleasant, though, and the Basque singing is quite melodious and enjoyable to listen to.
About a couple of kilometres from the Hotel is the Artxanda Funicular railway, that takes you in a straight line, at about 27° slope (which is steep!), straight down the mountain face, right into Bilbao!
This Funicular railway ride is well worth a trip, as part of the experience of staying at Artetxes.
Overall, we would highly recommend the Artetxes Hotel as a very good value location to stay at, as long as you have a car.
We were unable to find anything to dislike about the Hotel and the owners, and we would willingly return.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onetrack139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#23 of 42 in Bilbao
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artetxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artetxe

Property: Hotel Artetxe
Address: Carretera BI 3741 | Km 7, 48015 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artetxe 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurnished countryhouse basque style outside Bilbao downtown, located at the top of Artxanda hill offers panoramic views of the whole city, special spot to enjoy nature and relax.Good combinations with Loiu Interantion Airport, highways and coastal roads and Artxanda's funicular public transportation down to Guggenheim Museum area.Rooms equipped with bathroom, telephone, central heating, Led TV, visco elastic pillows. Bookcrossing area, parking lot under surveillance, free WIFI, We lend Netbook to check email, Coffee bar, Breakfast buffet. #prowellcomers #wellcomehotelartetxe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artetxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artetxe Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing