We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place but need a Sat Nav”
Review of Hotel Artetxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Artetxe
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Stayed over the end of June to catch the ferry the following day, I was aware that the place was difficult to find so found it OK but with the use of a Satnav. The hotel itself overlooks the city with great views. the accommadation is good and clean and the breakfast is ample. There is also free wifi.
Next door is the restaurant Artetxe not part of the hotel. This restaurant is worth a visit altough quite expensive the food is first class. Warning if travelling to the ferry the morning after and not prepared. You are on the opposite side of the river and my satnav route too me through the small side streets to the rivers edge where i could see the ferry across the river. The satnav kept telling me to get on the ferry but after some head scratching i realised the ferry it was talking about is actually a small swing bridge that you drive on and it swings the bridge over the river where you drive off and on towards the ferry port. If you werent aware of this and short of time it could be quite stressfull

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2010

Up on the valley side with sweeping view over the city. Family-run and English-speaking. Recently refurbished in a modern but individual way. Plenty of parking. Excellent restaurant attached with large outdoor area covered with vines.

Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank seventiesicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

For people wanting a place close to the centre of Bilbao, this is not the hotel for you.
This hotel is not anywhere in the centre of Bilbao.
But if you come by car, then this hotel is a good base for you. It provides free parking (which is probably difficult to find in Bilbao, not to mention the chaotic traffic) and it is not too far from the funicular which will take you to Bilbao. Parking spaces available for free around the funicular station so this is a cheap alternative than parking in Bilbao itself.

Room was not big but the size of the room was not a problem.
The size of the double bed however was a problem. It was small for a double bed yet big for a single bed.
View from the window was pretty good.
There is a restaurant next door - well, across the parking lot.
Staffs were friendly.
No comment on the breakfast as I did not book a room with breakfast.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if I come by car.
If not then I'd stay somewhere closer to the centre of Bilbao (will need a car to get to the funicular so not much point staying here if you don't have a car).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

It's a really good hotel. It's very calm, in the country, but only 10 minutes from the center of Bilbao.
The hotel is rustic and lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorisCoimbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Small hotel overlooking Bilbao. Not suitable for families with children as rooms were small and no air cond. We stayed for 1 night.

Staff v friendly and helpful. Suitable for people who wish to stay out of city centre. But ease to access city via funicular which is approx 2 kms away.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artetxe, Propietario at Hotel Artetxe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear CC57:

Apart from double rooms the hotel also offers appartments for families and larger groups of travellers. Some of our refurnished rooms include AC Our front desk staff will be delighted to explain all about it for your next visit to Bilbao.
Location: Road Bi-3741 Enekuri - Artxanda at km #7 POBOX 48015 Bilbao intersection with pedestrian path Camino de Berriz #112
GPS
43º 16´43´´N
2º 56´46´´W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

We (three adults) stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights while visiting the Guggenheim Museum. We selected this hotel because of there was plenty of car parking and reasonable rates.
Bilbao has a network or freeways so if you get lost you have to work hard to find your way back. Still that was not a problem for us as we had the Artetxe map from their web site which was very helpful together with our own maps.
This is a family run hotel with a stunning views over Bilbao. The hostess was very nice and pleasant and spoke very good English. We had two rooms on the first floor (no lift) that were very nice, with comfortable beds and warm - it was getting cool in the evenings by mid October.
Breakfast was ample and the hotel was close enough to the Guggenheim without being caught up in tourist city. There is a restaurant right next door but it does not open on Fridays or Saturdays. There is a very nice one about 2 kilometers down the road. Street noise not a problem at night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Viscountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

We stayed in the Hotel Artetxe at the end of a three week trip in Northern Spain. This was a step up in quality from the rest of the places we had stayed, but at around 60€ for a double it was excellently priced. The room was modern and immaculate as was the ensuite bathroom. The ceiling of the room had charming oak beams, and the hotel as a whole felt cosy and friendly without feeling too small. The views were spectacular and it was a relief to get away from the city at night for a peaceful end to the trip. There is one negative side in being removed from the city in that you need to take the bus or drive, but there was a hourly bus service which served the hotel and although not the greatest it was good enough. The staff were welcoming and helpful arranging a taxi to the airport and serving us drinks outside whilst we were waiting. All in all it was a great stay I couldn't recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chris_Champion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artetxe, Propietario at Hotel Artetxe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Chris:
On behalf of the whole Artetxe Front Desk Service Team we thank you for your review. It would be amazing to meet you back in Bilbao some other time. Happy guests worth the effort :-)
Yours sincerely,
#hotelartetxe #artetxecomoencasa #welcomehotelartetxe #prowelcomers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
294 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#10 of 42 in Bilbao
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artetxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artetxe

Address: Carretera BI 3741 | Km 7, 48015 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £43 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artetxe 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurnished countryhouse basque style outside Bilbao downtown, located at the top of Artxanda hill offers panoramic views of the whole city, special spot to enjoy nature and relax.Good combinations with Loiu Interantion Airport, highways and coastal roads and Artxanda's funicular public transportation down to Guggenheim Museum area.Rooms equipped with bathroom, telephone, central heating, Led TV, visco elastic pillows. Bookcrossing area, parking lot under surveillance, free WIFI, We lend Netbook to check email, Coffee bar, Breakfast buffet. #prowellcomers #wellcomehotelartetxe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artetxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artetxe Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing