We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel”
Review of Hotel Sirimiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sirimiri
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is a recently modernised hotel in the Casco Viejo, very close to the tram stop and train station Axturi. The room was very smart, although not large, with a wonderful bathroom. Even though it is very close to the 7 streets, we found it very quiet. There was no air-con in the room, which was not a problem at the end of September, but maybe in the summer? We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

we stayed in this hotel in September 2012. A faulty shower door crashed and smashed on top of my friend. we found the hotel staff to be most unhelpful and felt they accused us of causing the problem. I had stayed there before and recommended it to many others because of the location but never again. we gave the hotel staff a chance to apologize but no. I have not been so badly treated and it spoiled our stay in Bilbao this time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Bilbao is a nightmare of a city to drive in. Poor signage, one way streets and pedestrian walkways all make for a very confusing drive. We must have driven around for at least one hour looking for the hotel, stopping to ask for directions without any success. We finally found a gas station attendant who gave us clear driving instructions to the Guggenheim. After a very brief stop, we decided to skip the rest of the town. Somehow, we found Miraflores Avenue. My spouse just happened to see a sign for the hotel on the side of a building. Turning in, there it was near a church square. Absolute chance allowed us to find it!

The hotel was very good. The attendant spoke good English. Parking at the back of the hotel is very limited and tight. It took a while to squeeze into the parking space. Our room was a standard room, small but comfortable. It was very clean and the bathroom was well appointed. The bed was comfortable. The room was very quiet. We did not buy the breakfast but went instead to the small café near the church. It served excellent coffee and croissants at very good prices.

It is about a 45 minute walk to the Guggenheim and a 20 minute walk to the medieval area. Both are well worth visiting on foot given the driving difficulties of the city. We would recommend this hotel for its location. I suggest though it would have to be a good GPS to find it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sirimiri for one night in mid-September. Front desk staff was knowledgeable and room was modern and very clean. Rates are quite reasonable. Don't count on using the free parking lot as spaces are very limited. You will be directed to a lot on the other side of the old city which is a very pleasant 15 minute walk from the hotel and costs about 17euros for the night. Parking here is probably more secure than at the hotel. My only complaint is that you must leave your passport at the front desk at check in. Mine was not returned at check out and I did not realize this until we were an hour outside of the city on our way to our next destination. We called the hotel and they were very apologetic, but we still had to go back. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a couple of nights - just make sure you have ALL of your belonging before you leave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loves2Travel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We are two couples who stayed at Hotel Sirimiri for 3 days, 2 nights in May. We were certainly pleasantly surprised by how well this hotel worked out for us.

Overall, this was a great hotel for a reasonable price (we paid 78 euros per night including breakfast). Our rooms were in the newly remodeled part, so we can't say what the older rooms are like. The rooms were spacious, new, and had good lighting.

We interacted a lot with 3 different hotel front-desk guys. They could not have been more helpful and "nice". They were indispensable in providing visitor information, maps/directions, and restaurant recommendations (all of which were good and reasonably priced). One day we asked for detailed directions on how to drive out of Bilbao, and get to our destination which was clear across Spain. The desk guy spent a long time with detailed instructions. When we left very early on Sunday morning, he was just coming onto his shift. As we were pulling away from the hotel, he ran out to be sure that we had our directions and to wish us a good trip. I wish we had service like that everywhere we go!

Bilbao is a pretty busy city, and any large city is difficult for newcomers with rental cars to navigate and park in. This is a great place to stay to largely avoid these problems. It was an easy and direct shot off the main motorway. Sirimiri has a free parking lot in back, which is somewhat limited in spaces but we always saw that they had a spot available. We didn't move our rental car for 3 days, as it wasn't necessary to do sightseeing things in Bilbao.

The green tram begins its routes right near the hotel and can easily take you through main sections of the city, especially to and from the Guggenheim (which is a long walk, but do-able).

The location is great because it is about 5-10 minutes by foot to the old medieval town. There are many good restaurants there with lots of local flavor. We were there during a major soccer tournament between Bilbao and Barcelona, and that's where the fans congregated to celebrate. We also watched spontaneous Basque folk dancing in one of the plazas on Saturday evening with live music.

The only failing of the Hotel Sirimiri was the breakfast. The coffee machine was broken when we were there, so our large coffee appetite was foiled. They did provide free coffee from a vending machine, but it was inconvenient. Also, the food was pretty unimaginative and minimal, but we were able to get yogurt and cereal, which was enough. There was a good little cafe directly across the street for good coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly remodeled section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The reception is a bit strange, looks like a medical office and rather smells like one, too. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We arrived late and there was no parking left but the man called a nearby hotel who let us use their parking (for a charge but at least the car was safe). The rooms are a bit small but very clean. Warning if you get a street side room - there are recycling bins across the way and a woman in the neighborhood decided to recycle her bottles at midnight, dropping in about 30-40 bottles, one at a time, each seemingly making a louder crash than the next. Grrrr! The breakfast area is horrible, in a charmless room with no windows and the breakfast selection itself is uninspiring. There seem to be a large number of business men staying here. The hotel is in a convenient location and it definitely served its purpose for 1 night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We didn't see the Sirimiri at its best, since the hotel was in the process of expanding which resulted in doors that opened onto building sites several floors about the ground, drilling and other building noise, and a red trickle emerging from the bath taps. If it wasn't for the kindness of the staff in assisting us in starting our car in the tightest car park I've ever seen, it would be hard to recommend this hotel at all. Rooms, wifi OK, breakfast inedible - terrible coffee and a minimal buffet laid out the night before. If a car park is important, choice in Bilbao is very limited, and this hotel wins hands down for location, close to the coastal motorway to get out of the city, and the tram station to get into it.

Room Tip: As far away from the building site as possible - maybe the back is quieter than the front since not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wikidrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
ILUNION Bilbao
#22 of 42 in Bilbao
776 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#25 of 42 in Bilbao
356 reviews
Occidental Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
294 reviews
Castaños
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirimiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirimiri

Address: Plaza de la Encarnacion, 3, 48006 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sirimiri 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sirimiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirimiri Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing