We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Photo Zabalburu
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Occidental Bilbao(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Bilbao(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Bilbao Zubialde(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bilbao Centro(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Abando(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
8
38
107
47
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
38
107
47
63
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A basic 2* is what you get. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone but it ok for a short stay and good value. Staff friendly enough. it's got a supermarket across the road and a frui and veg shop and cafes on the street. It is on the edge of downbeaten area but not in it, I never felt worried( I though the old town was dodgier myself). I wouldn't bother with the €4.80 breakfast - it's just diy bread and marmalade, coffee and a cake

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Judging by the photos of the hotel online, we thought we were looking at a far better hotel than what we encountered. Certainly, it has ambitions of being hip and stylish, but the place, unfortunately has seen better days, sadly. The rooms are clean, but otherwise, in line with what I'd expect of a 2-star hotel.

The area it's in is, as other reviewers have noted, is seedy; and is quite a few blocks from the train station and historical centre and river.

The service is very friendly, generally better than what passes for customer service in Spain generally. Don't waste your time and money on the self-service 'breakfast' (if you could call it that), though.

Value for money: we were in town for Big Week, so most of the hotels would've been full, but we noted that the big chains like the Mercure were offering rooms for roughly the same as what these guys were charging. Definitely shop around, read TripAdvisor, and pay attention to the star-ratings and reviews of the hotels, _not_ the photos!

Room Tip: Not a room tip per se; don't bother with breakfast at the hotel, go to Cafe Bertiz (cafe bakery) on the other side of Plaza Zaralburu -- WAY better value for money for breakfast.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somelammer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel itself has a style and is easy to remembering. The Beatles billboards, black&white pictures from 60-ties. The staff is nice and colorful dressed.

Rooms are OK, nothing significant in any details but decent.

The hotel location is the main problem. It is far from the old town (20 minutes walking), it is far from most famous modern Bilbao architecture objects (30 minutes), it is about 15 minutes walking from rail station and bus station.
Yes, something is very close - it is a bull fighting arena. Additionally, this part of the town has a bad reputation. Walking around we have got recommendation from local people do not go out in the evening. Many patrolling police cars and police officers seem to confirm that bad reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krzysztof N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The major problem with this place is the location. The area is a bit rundown, and its not exactly central to sights, Metro and Lightrail. Also the area is a bit seedy. The place looks slightly run down, and my room was very small. The bathroom was fine though. It's ok clean, and the staff at the reception is very friendly. There is pretty much noise from outside and from other rooms as well. Nice "do-it-yourself-breakfast" option at the place. Great photos in a lot of places at the hotel. Wi-fi fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank henningn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Good and friendly hotel well situated at 10 minutes exactly from the bus stop from airport bus (walking distance). Comfortable and clean. The only bad point is the bad quality of the breakfast. For the price 4.80 € it's better to go the the baker's on the next square, just 2 minutes walk down street and get there fresh orange juice, good croissant or tomato omelette.
The reception is helpful if you need any informations and is able to make a call for you for booking. Two bus-stops in front of the entrance. Free Wifi at reception and in the rooms.

Room Tip: la single numéro 206 est minuscule, single room 206 is tiny. Book in advance !
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhuLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews