We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and nice room”
Review of Petit Palace Arana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Arana
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Location and nice room”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Well located in the very centre of the old town of Bilbao, this hotel has a modern structure, wifi available all time, friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed. I cannot comment on the breakfast because I didn't have it. it was not included in the rate I had chosen.
One thing to note: a lot of noise from corridor and other rooms due to squeaky floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samesame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    407
    212
    101
    41
See reviews for
165
457
52
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Like all of the Petit Palace hotels that I've staying in, they're a lot of flash and style, but not great quality. The location of this one is great, but we drove our own car, and getting to it is almost impossible. Narrow, one-way streets, with a street plan that resembles a box of toothpicks dropped on the floor, it makes driving to this hotel very difficult. If you're traveling by taxi, it's a non-issue. After an hour of driving in circles, we had to hire a taxi to lead us there in our own car.

Once settled however, the place is nice. Clean and stylish, but not great quality. Those of us who stayed on the street side, said that the rooms were noisy from traffic at night. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Location to attractions and nearby restaurants was very good. The place is consistent with the price.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room to avoid street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipyFelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in September (apologies for late review!)

Firstly Bilbao is a great city to visit; as well as the Guggenheim (a must and better if you order tickets in advance to save queueing) there are lots of other things to do / see. Shops varied and not all touristy, tapas bars, basque food and restaurants are great - try the tapas bar Berton on Viktor Kalea just around the corner from the hotel great tapas, affordable and sherry (try the fino) to die for! - but make sure you do a little research before choosing your tapas - part of the holiday fun! We went to see the football, great public art throughout the city, went to the theatre next to the hotel, bars around the hotel are buzzing / great atmosphere.

The hotel itself is ideally located. Room was good / we had a balcony - nicely furnished, boutique style, bathroom a bit tight space wise but ok; clean and tidy, quiet and with good facilities. Did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment - staff very helpful / good customer care - and would recommend the city and the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlettsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel R, Online sales department at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear client:

Thank you very much for you comment about our Petit Palace Arana Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that our location and room size were all to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights including New Year's Eve and everything was very good.The management gave us a two mini-champagne bottles to celebrate the evening. Wifi works just fine. Only suggestion to improve would be around the heating, it made our throats quite dry over night even with the AC off, the central heating I believe was quite high but nevertheless a wonderful experience. Definitely a place to come back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel R, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations.

We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations suggestions always with the aim of improving.

Hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenade, France
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The location is great, free internet is nice, possibility to reserve a parking is cool, friendly staff is a must, the options they offer (we got 3 nights in a double for 303 Euro including free (plain) breakfast and 2 tickets for the Guggenheim) interesting, free pet admission is a lovely plus. But all those things are useless if you miss the basic: no drop off area so you need to pray the Lord, find a spot were leave the car (I left it in a theater only area with my wife inside) get your parking access and then walk back to the hotel with your luggage; the room is nice, small but nice, however the bed is harder than a rock (even when they have a couple of slack missing like mine), the pillows thin and worthless, the hydro massage shower (the best feature of the room) did not work and the air in the room was stale even with the windows open.
Kudos for the optionals but the main reason why people get hotel rooms is to sleep and rest and that was almost impossible at this hotel

Room Tip: Do not get the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seifer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Coín, Andalucia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at other 'Petit Palace' hotels before I didn't think twice when I had to stay one night in Bilbao. Up to now it has always been a delight. Regretfully not this time. Upon arrival we were given a room on the first floor which hadn't been cleaned yet. I think staff should check this before giving keys to new guests. When we told the reception gave us a new room right away but still... The new room on the second floor was good except for the bathroom. It stank. Mold could be seen on the ceiling. The laminate floor was becoming detached because of humidity. The shower comparent could use a deep clean as well. As we were there only for one night and gad to leave early in the morning I didn't mention it but I would not have stayed a 2nd night in that room. Saying that I love the other 'Petit Palace' hotels and will go back there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saskia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeca T, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that our location.

We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Although a great location. Our room was an inside room looking over an air conditioning unit. A dark small room , no storage space and an unhelpful reception. Ruined an otherwise great northern Spain adventure.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an outside room and check it before registering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeca T, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,024 reviews
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Arana

Property: Petit Palace Arana
Address: C/ Bidebarrieta 2, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Arana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Arana Bilbao is a boutique hotel situated in Bidebarrieta street opposite Arriaga theater, between the old district and the Ensanche (modern distric). The Petit Palace Arana occupies an emblematic building dating from the nineteen century, being the oldest hotel in Bilbao. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar. Some of the rooms have balconies. Located in the heart of the city, in the gastronomic area where you can taste the best pintxos and typical gastronomy. It is situated just few minutes from the Guggenheim Museum and the other Bilbao tourist attractions.Room types •64 stylish rooms.• Rooms: laptop, exercise bike, shower and king-size bed.•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.• Non smoking hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Arana Bilbao
Petit Palace Arana Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing