We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The second and third dimensions of Bilbao revealed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Miro
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The second and third dimensions of Bilbao revealed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This boutique hotel lived up to our expectations; and for Hotel Miro, we had set them high relative to the price of the room. You can expect friendly, professional service right from the beginning – the fact we couldn’t speak Basque or Spanish was not a problem (though we did try, as always!). The complementary bar is an excellent idea – we couldn’t linger, but made the most of the fruit and a couple of soft drinks to burn off the hangovers we’d hauled with us from San Sebastian. We stayed in a City Privilege Room: modern, light, chic, clean, spacious, comfortable. A perfect compliment to the real reason you’re here: the Guggenheim. At just 200 metres from the Guggenheim, you can’t go wrong with this location. Our room overlooked the intriguing museum, so we were able to enjoy this architectural curiosity in all its glory. But Bilbao, as it turns out, isn’t just a one-dimensional small-town. This Hotel revealed Bilbao’s second and third dimensions: excellent food and lively, welcoming locals. Miro is just a short walk from some great delicatessens (jamon and cheese a must – go equipped with your phrasebook) and restaurants, including the atmospheric Markina – a traditional Basque family-owned restaurant. Hard to beat. Great value. We’d stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoodedBanoonigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiroHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear TheHoodedBanoonigan,

Thank you very much for your super kind words regarding your stay at Hotel Miró.

We are glad the hotel was a good starting point from which to discover our surprising city.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards from Bilbao,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    474
    113
    21
    11
See reviews for
143
689
46
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Spent the weekend in the Miro Hotel with some friends in February. Fantastic location. The hotel is central, by the river and near the Guggenheim museum. Decoration is modern and chic but very comfortable. We felt continuously pampered through the weekend. The service is of very high standard, the breakfast worth getting up for (despite the long nights!) and the complementary bar is a fantastic idea - you can always go back to the hotel bar and have free coffee, beer, sangria, snacks or refreshments while chilling in the big, comfy sofas. The spa and gym are small but have all you need and if you decide you want some outdoors exercise the hotel will be happy to let you a bike. I went for a weekend but I can see it can also be a great hotel for business - the meeting rooms are full of character (rare for a hotel) and free working wifi always helps! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiroHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Mariposssa,

Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay with us. It makes us very happy to hear you enjoyed the city and our hotel. Do not hesitate contacting us if you plan to come back in the near future, since we would love to welcome you again!

Best regards from sunny Bilbao,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Located on the river, just 5 minutes from the Guggenheim Bilbao, the Hotel Miro is a great base for exploring the city.
The free lobby bar was a highlight-we were there for a birthday weekend, and the small but well-equipped gym helped shake the cobwebs the next morning. Breakfast was superb, with some of the best coffee in Spain!
The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are perfectly functional. From a personal perspective, I do wish they had bathtubs rather than just showers, as we walked so much my feet absolutely throbbed! Free wi-fi is also a much appreciated feature.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, but ask for a river view, as the bridge and the Guggenheim are spectacular al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geminigirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiroHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear geminigirl789,

Thanks for your kind review regarding your stay with us.

It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed the hotel and sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

A lovely hotel, just across the Guggenheim. We loved the hotel bar, with free drinks and food for the guests, the spotless room with a view on the Guggenheim and the central location. On one side the Guggenheim and on the other side the Museo de Bellas Artes - both amazing!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiroHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear letsgo053,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay with us at Hotel Miró.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, take note of Fernando Botero´s retrospective exhibit starting October 8th at the Fine Arts Museum.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Opposite form the Guggenheim, the location of the hotel is superb. But also the interior is nice: modern and light. Rooms have all amenities you need and in the lobby you find a complementary bar for the guests, offering drinks and food all day and evening. Also in the lobby: loads of hotel-umbrellas for the rainy Bilbao weather.

In my group one guest with a wheelchair. There’s a not-so-comfortable-but-okay disabled-elevator/platform from the front door to the lobby. But once inside, all facilities can easily be reached. The disabled room is comfortable, main elevators are good and the breakfast buffet can easily be reached.

A big plus is the service: all staff were very very helpful.

Room Tip: for 20 euro extra you get an upgrade for a junior suite, nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiroHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Mleine,

Thank you for your review.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in all aspects, especially the service offered by the staff, which is our biggest pride.

We hope to welcome you back in the spring/summer, so you can enjoy the city in a brighter time of the year!

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
383 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

You cannot be closer to the Gugenheim museum than hotel Miro.
Rooms are a bit small but very comfortable and well appointed.
A sumptuous buffet breakfast in the morning with hot croissants and fresh juices.
No restaurant but a 12 hours open bar with snacks, coffee, tea and, yes, wine. Completely free.
Very helpful staff ready to give you any info about the city and its restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the Museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiroHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear JeromeGoa,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay with us, especially the mention of our staff and our breakfast.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Baños del Inca, Cajamarca, Peru
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at the hotel Miro. The staff was friendly and the room was nice. Great location if you are planning on going to the Guggenheim, great views.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiroHotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Amy C,

Sorry for the delay in our response. Thank you for your kind review and the mention of our staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future!

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Property: Hotel Miro
Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing