We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the Gug” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miro
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Gug”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a view of the Guggenheim and el Poop (the flower decked puppy) from our window. The hotel is modern, slick and perfectly located and the spa is very pleasant as well. The main part of Bilbao is a short walk away. For an art focussed visit look no further for somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Worth getting a front room with aview of the Gug
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your stay on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our great views and location, perfect for visiting both museums and art galleries. You probably also liked our in-house photography collection all over the hotel.

Our Wellness area is perfect for relaxing after a day of visiting the city. Booking a session of Acqua Wellness or a massage are ideal for total wellbeing.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed on news and specials.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    474
    113
    21
    11
See reviews for
143
689
46
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
502 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This modern, sleek hotel is the perfect place for a stay in Bilbao. It is located across the street from the Guggenheim and around the corner from the fine arts museum. The rooms are spacious and well designed. The spa facility is exceptional. The massage therapist is fantastic - book an appointment! Coffee and soft drinks are offered in the lobby bar. WiFi is complimentary. The breakfast buffet is substantial.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks sooo much for sharing your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We are lucky to be located in such a privileged spot...across the Guggenheim and next to the also-worth-the-visit Fine Arts Museum.

Great to hear you enjoyed our free Courtesy Bar, breakfast and massage...our therapist Igor is fantastic, he takes you to a world of total relaxation.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future, so you can continue discovering our surprising city!

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Includes ticket is a great deal. Nice breakfast. Rooms neat. Black carpet - how do you know it's clean. Nicely stocked bar. Good snacks and price. Restaurants generally close at 11 pm
Hotel has a spa! Free drinks in lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable opinion on Tripadvisor.

Our "Art in Bilbao" package is a great deal which includes tickets to both Museums, room and our delicious breakfast. We always recommend booking directly via our website to guarantee the best available rates.

We are happy to hear you appreciated our free Courtesy Bar and hope you enjoyed some relaxing moments booking a massage of Acqua Wellness session.

We encourage you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed on specials and info about the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent two nights here on our honeymoon road trip of the Basque Country. Very convenient for both the Guggenheim and the Musee De Belle Artes (fantastic collection of Basque art), Our room had a great view, and was very comfortable. An urban trendy look and feel, (it's in Wallpaper!) Bikes for hire in the lobby, and a small gym and spa. We booked the spa, but the steam room wasn't working when we used it, so we weren't charged. It could do with a bit of a refresh. I also booked a great massage - worth the treat. Public areas very nice, but didn't have breakfast as expensive, and easy to eat out. The area is very quiet at night so if you want some lively night life, you'd need to walk more into centre. Tried the seafood restaurant below for tapas - they had goose barnacles, which were a first for me! Delicious but squirty! We loved Bilbao and definitely will go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstanceSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for choosing us for your honeymoon stay in Bilbao, it is such an honor for us!

We are glad you enjoyed our unbeatable location between the two Museums, our great views of the Guggenheim. Sorry the steam room did not worlk correctly, it has been fixed already.

Yes, we are featured on Wallpaper´s two editions of the Bilbao Guide, it is a great reference, and I think the are planning a new updated edition.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, so you can continue discovering our surprising city!

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

A bit hard to find, but a great location near the Guggenheim, the Fine Arts museum, and lots of restaurants. No parking, so have to park at an underground public garage across the street. Beware that the garage does not have a 24 hr. entry or attendant. I had to walk down the drive down ramp, under the barrier to get entry. The hotel has a modern feel, there are free nonalcoholic drinks to guests available at the bar, the rooms have modern bathrooms. Get a view of the Guggenheim (an oblique view, being slightly down the street from the museum), because the museum looks unbelievably beautiful at sunset. The black carpet is hard to keep clean- every speck of lint or dirt pretty much shows up on it, but the bed was comfortable and clean and pretty spacious. There was a large walk in closet and a separate room for the toilet. You can rent bikes at the front desk. The front desk staff was okay- not terribly friendly, but fairly helpful when asked. I wondered about the list of recommended restaurants- the one they recommended was our only truly inedible meal (at 24 euros per person for lunch). We found much better ones on Tripadvisor (of course), so I would ignore their list and assume they are getting paid or something for the recommendation.

The breakfast was okay. There are not enough tables for the number of guests, so we had to wait for a table. Also, the staff was unable to keep up with refilling the food, so many items had either a wait or were not refilled. The tables were not cleaned very well between guests, so there were smears of sticky stuff on the placemats and crumbs on the chairs. There was a good selection of tea and a coffee machine and freshly squeezed orange juice (if you were lucky enough to get some before the pitcher ran out and did not have to wait 15 minutes for the next pitcher).

While it was a comfortable stay, I may check out another hotel next time I visit Bilbao.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Guggenheim that is on the end of the building closer to the museum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hongdemao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable opinion on Tripadvisor.

First of all let me clarify the parking issue, there may have been a lack of communication on our part, sorry if we did not explain it correctly. Plaza Euskadi Parking is open 24 hrs. and has an attendant 24 hrs. At night pedestrian accesses close for security reasons, but with the parking ticket one enters conveniently through those pedestrian accesses. On the -2 Floor, next to the exit, there is an attendant who can also be contacted via intercom at the doors.

We are sorry the restaurant you chose was not up to your expectations. One thing I can assure you, our list of recommended restaurants is 100% unbiased and we have no monetary relationship with them at all. We chose them because as locals we like them and think our guests may like to discover them as well.

Thank you for your comments about breakfast, we take note on your suggestions.

We are glad you enjoyed our free courtesy bar, our location and our views and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very good modern rooms. We were fortunate to have the suite on the 8th floor looking across (its set across from the Guggenheim). The room was clean, spacious and modern.

Service was friendly (and bilingual). Car parking is in the underground car par across the road, and the hotel provides a discount (don't forget to get your car park ticket stamped before leaving)

This would be a great place to base yourself in for a long weekend in a very cool city.

Room Tip: Make sue you ask for a room facing the Guggenheim
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dblfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed the spacious luxury of our penthouse-style Master Suite and our prime location in front of the Guggenheim...

The parking garage is excellent, conveniently located just by the hotel, and offering a special discount to our guests.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed on specials and news of the hotel and the city, so you can plan a future visit to Bilbao.

Best,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great location on same street as Gugenheim and a lovely 15 minute walk to the old town along the river. Hotel reception is very pleasant and chic. Free soft drinks bar (self service) and rooms are great. The definaition of a Boutique hotel. Our room overlooked Gugenheim and was in a perfect location. As we had a campervan they allowed us to park for free outside the hotel.
The did breakfast offer of 10euros which was well worth it, one of the best breakfast i have had in a hotel included eggs and bacon! there was also cava for those who really wanted to start the day in style. Room was quite pricey but I only made booking night before so im sure you can get better deals. A great hotel, great location and most of the staff were incredibly helpfull and polite.

Room Tip: When booking request room with view of Gugenheim, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review!

First of all let me explain we offered you to park in front of the hotel as a unique exception, since your van was very high. The space in front of the hotel is reserved for taxis and clients unloading luggage for a short time to guarantee a comfortable and convenient access to the hotel for all guests.

We are glad you enjoyed our unbeatable location, breakfast, free courtesy bar and service and hope to welcome you back in the future. We sincerely recommend you to book directly on our website for guaranteed best available rates and specials.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Property: Hotel Miro
Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing