We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views of the Guggenheim from a Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Miro
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent a weekend in this lovely property situated across the street from the Guggenheim, Bilbao, with breathtaking views of the museum. Book a room with a view since you cannot get a better view of the museum elsewhere. The rooms are decorated in an elegant boutique style with tiled bathroom and shower. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a pleasant room with views over a park. Parking of our rental car was a breeze just across the street from the hotel in a public parking lot for which the hotel offers discounted rates. We also indulged in the wellness spa with a relaxing sauna and massage for two for a very reasonable rate. The hotel is also situated in central Bilbao and it is easy to walk all over the bustling center of the city. Finally, the hotel staff could not have been friendlier. This is a gem of a hotel in a lovely city.

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing the Guggenheim...room 42...quiet room with a stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Wow, these kind of comments deserve a big WOW! We want to sincerely thank you for making our day with the kind words you share on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Miró.

Indeed we offer amazing views of the Guggenheim, definitely the best perspective in town!

We are glad you enjoyed our location, and particularly our friendly service, our biggest pride.

A private session of Acqua Wellness or a massage with Igor, our experienced masseur, is a perfect way to end a day of sightseeing or shopping around the city...

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back at the Miró and recommend you book directly so you can access the best rates and exclusive benefits.

Best regards,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Excellent price/quality, comfortable and trendy room/bathroom with a separate toilet, very friendly staff, tasty breakfast, relaxed atmosphere, free drinks in het bar.
Only these negative points: the rooms could me more soundproof (you hear the traffic in the room), pillows too soft and ... the weather.
We'll choose Hotel Miro again when we are in Bilbao.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at Hotel Miró!

It makes us happy to hear you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, breakfast, room, free courtesy bar and most importantly, the service provided by the staff...

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and we suggest you book directly on our site to get great rates and exclusive benefits. Until then, we invite you to stay informed about Bilbao and the hotel following us on Facebook and Twitter.

Best,
Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My sister and I stayed for a long weekend in this hotel, it's classified with 4 stars. We booked a junior suite. the air conditioner couldn't be used because it was a little noisy. The staff was and is over friendly! The location is perfect.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs for light sleepers, if your upstair neighbor is wearing high heels, you will be hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cendihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us as your hotel in Bilbao. Your opinion is very valuable to us and helps us improve the quality of our services.

We are glad you and your sister enjoyed your stay and will check the AC system in the junior suites, to make sure they are running correctly.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and recommend you to book directly on our website to get exclusive benefits and the best rates.

Cordially,
Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very great location, across the street from the Guggeneheim. My 7 year old loved the park across the street he could play at and meet other kids after the museum. This hotel was very well set up in the rooms. We were lucky to get one of the master suites and had a view from our window of the Guggenheim and the river. Nespresso machine in the room to my husband's content. Quiet street. They have breakfast in the am on the first floor. Did not have the opportunity to eat there because we found a bakery/gelateria just up the street. Not a lot of restaurants on the street and the day we arrived late in the evening it would have been nice to have a restaurant in the hotel. YOu need to walk a good 10 minutes to find places to eat.
My son got a kick out of having a bath tub in the bedroom. I was happy to arrive and find they had a proper king size bed . They were very nice and helpful at reception. NO complaints regarding their service and attentiveness.
Location was great. 20 mins stroll up the river and you are in the old town.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel and I think all the rooms face the street, so I think you would still have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your kind review of your stay.

Our location in front of the Guggenheim is definitely perfect for visiting the museum and the city, as well as entertaining the little ones in the amazing park across the street.

Also, the Master Suites are perfect for couples and families alike, featuring penthouse views, extra space, in-room bathtub and many special services like the Nespresso machine or access to a private session in Acqua Wellness.

Bilbao Basics & Tips is our own recommendation guide of the city, feat. insider´s tips to great restaurants for all tastes, some very close to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and recommend you book directly through our website to get the best rates and exclusive offers.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was a lovely boutique style hotel in Bilbao. We recently went to visit our daughter who was studying abroad at the Universidad de Deusto in Bilbao. We were able to walk to the university just across the river and meet her. In addition, the hotel is across the street from the Guggenheim Museum. We were also able to walk to the "old town" and take the nearby metro to the beautiful beach in Plentzia. Our room at Miro was clean and roomy. The staff were helpful and friendly. They have complimantary coffee and soda in a nice bar area, a really nice bonus for a diet coke addict! The hotel lobby always had a wonderful fresh aroma, that I would love to duplicate in my home!

Room Tip: We had a city deluxe room, which was nice and we had plenty of room. The photos make it look a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katejackson12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Miró.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our city and your stay with us. The aroma you mention is orange blossom, we love its freshness!

Our courtesy bar exclusive and free for guests is ideal for a coffee while planning the day's visits or after strolling the streets.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and recommend you booking through our website for guaranteed best rates and exclusive advantages.

Happy 2014!

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In a good spot opposite the Guggenheim and near a tram stop that will run you up the other end of town for just over a euro. That said it is a nice walk along the river up to the old town, just the right distance for a stroll. Behind the hotel are quite smart streets with a good sprinkling of bars and restaurants, and as you get to the main shopping street a few blocks back these get more numerous. Right next door is an excellent Bar/ Restaurant called Serantes 3 which is really handy whatever you fancy, even if it is just a glass of wine. Dont forget the fine art museum one street back - the building isn't as impressive as the Guggenheim but the contents are better in my view!

We had the basic room and this was just fine. An unusual layout as some have said with the bathroom partially screened by curtains, but dont let that put you off, the essential privacy is maintained because the toilet is in a separate place. A very comfortable bed, good towels and amenities, and best of all - windows which actually open. They open onto a nice view of the Guggenheim and the river too.

I was celebrating a birthday and they left us a bottle of Cava in the room which was a lovely touch, made us feel very special.

The room was nicely serviced and spotlessly clean, as is the whole hotel. A nice public area with complimentary soft and hot drinks, no bar of course, but there are so many nearby it didnt matter.

A very nice modern hotel in a good spot, but do bear in mind it isn't very close to the old town but is ideal for the museums, river and the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful opinion on Tripadvisor.

Totally agree that the Fine Arts Museum is definitely worth a visit! The suggested itinerary of the Masterpieces is a must!

We are honored you chose Hotel Miró to spend your birthday in Bilbao and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our courtesy bar and perfect location.

Hope to welcome you again in the future and recommend you to book directly on our website to get exclusive benefits and the best available rate.

Best regards,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting the amazing Guggenheim, and parking is very handy across the road. Be sure to get your parking ticket stamped at reception for a discount. The 24 hour free tea and coffee in the foyer is also a nice touch but what made our visit so enjoyable was the great service provided by the reception staff especially Esther who when I asked if she knew of a clinic where I could have some stitches removed she rang around, arranged a place close to the hotel and offered to come with us as the staff didn't speak English. Not only that as it was raining she organised a taxi which she paid for - now that's service!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Guggenheim to see it in all lights, it's constantly changing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfreak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your experience at the Miró.

We are glad you enjoyed our location, and most importantly our service. Luckily we were able to help with the clinic arrangements, and we are honored to count with great team members like Esther, who always exceeds her duties to help our guests.

Hope to welcome you again so you can continue discovering our city under other circumstances...we recommend booking directly through our website to get exclusive benefits and best rate guaranteed.

Best,

Hotel Miró

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Melia Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £90 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing