We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miro
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

First thing you will notice when you get to the hotel is it is right across the street from the Guggenheim. But that shouldn’t be the selling point. My wife and I spent 6 days in Bilbao and visited most of the areas in the city and for me this is the only neighborhood I would stay in. It is a bit of a walk to the old town but you really don’t want to stay near there unless you plan on being drunk the whole time. I had a room facing the museum and that was a view! Despite being on the main road there is virtually no traffic noise. I felt safe walking around the hotel at 2am, and it’s a nice walk along the river. But still the best part of the hotel is the service that made us felt so incredibly welcomed with it small but very efficient and super friendly staff. By far the best service we have experienced in Basque. My room was bright, clean, and just the right size. Breakfast was good and the staff was only too happy to bring us hot food from the kitchen. Next to the Basque food, this hotel will bring us back to Bilbao, soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Bilbao and for sharing your kind words on Tripadvisor.

We are very lucky to be located in a privileged location, in front of the Guggenheim Museum and close to the city´s main points of interest like the Fine Arts Museum, art galleries, Euskalduna Congress Center and Opera House...and of course the views! Most of our rooms face the Guggenheim Museum and Iberdrola Tower, two of the city´s architectural gems.

Your comments regarding the efficient and friendly service make us especially happy, thank you!

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future, so you can continue discovering the amazing Basque Cuisine. We recommend you book directly on our website so you can obtain exclusive advantages.

Best regards from Bilbao,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    483
    114
    21
    11
See reviews for
147
707
46
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stunning boutique hotel, right across from the Guggenheim. Staff was delightful and helpful. Rooms are sleek and contemporary. Showing some signs of wear in the lobby and othe common areas. Beds extremely firm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnsjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor, we value your opinion and suggestions very highly

We are very privileged to be located in front of the Guggenheim Museum, steps away from the Fine Arts Museum, and close to the main points of interest in the city.

Thanks for your kind comments regarding the quality of service provided by the team, it makes us very happy.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and recommend booking directly on our website to obtain exclusive advantages.

Best,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel has a really modern and cool decor. The lobby/bar area was a great place to relax and has tons of interesting design books. Location was great - just across the street from the Guggenheim (we had a clear view of it from our room) and a mere 10-15 mins walk away from Grand Via, the main shopping area of the city. Would definitely stay here if I came back to Bilbao.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed our free courtesy bar exclusive for hotel guests. We like to have a selection of art books and the catalogs of the past and ongoing exhibits at both museums.

The Miró´s unbeatable location in front of the Guggenheim provides us with great views of Gehry´s masterpiece.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future and recommend you book directly on our website to obtain extra benefits and special rates.

Best,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a chic boutique hotel in a great location in downtown Bilbao, one block from the Guggenheim and one block from Museum of Fine Arts.

The hotel room was about average size for Europe and slightly small for the U.S. The room was very tastefully decorated. The bathroom was attractive but really too small for two people. It also had curtains rather than a wall into the lavatory section of the bathroom from the bedroom, which is a really annoying trend in hotels these days (think renovated Sheratons). At least the w.c. area had a door, though. There was an excellent shower.

Breakfast was included with our room and was outstanding. The food was fresh and of excellent quality. There was a large selection for a small hotel (although not huge, as in some large luxury hotels), and very high quality.

Internet access was free in the rooms and worked easily and quickly.

Aside from the location, the best feature of this hotel is its staff. Front desk personnel were excellent, knowledgeable, and accommodating. All staff members spoke fluent English. The most outstanding employee was Iñigo, who gave us many tips on sightseeing and restaurants and was incredibly friendly. He made our visit memorable.

My wife mentioned that it was her birthday to Iñigo at breakfast our first morning, and within minutes he returned with two free tickets to the Guggenheim, compliments of the hotel. That was very classy and we appreciated it very much.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for choosing us and for sharing your kind words regarding your stay.

The Miró´s ideal location between the two museums is perfect to discover the city.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, we are constantly trying new things aiming to improve.

We are especially touched by your comments about the service provided by the staff and especially Iñigo who treated your wife with a bday surprise.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, and we strongly recommend you book directly on our website to obtain exclusive benefits.

Best,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Miro for a short 2 night stay in Bilbao. We chose this hotel for very obvious reasons, since our intention was to visit the Guggenheim Museum. The hotel is directly opposite the museum and from our room, we had clear view of it.

Arriving from Elciego in the Rioja, a 2 hour drive away, the hotel was easy to find and parking was a breeze, just opposite the hotel. Check in was a breeze, wifi is free throughout the hotel, and there is a courtesy bar for hotel guest use throughout the day, coffee, tea, soft drinks, bottled water. This was nice especially after a day of walking around the city.

There was no porter service, and we took our own luggage to the room. Room was clean and functional but small. Be forewarned if, like us, you have 2 large suitcases. There is no space to have both suitcases opened at the same time, and we had already booked a larger room than is their standard. Bathroom is clean but very small and a bit of a squeeze for 2 persons to use concurrently. Amenities provided are basic, but we were invited to call housekeeping should we require additional items. What I find disconcerting was that only one small bottle of water was provided for 2 persons.

Bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet and afforded a good nights' sleep.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and their restaurant recommendations were spot on. The hotel gave a discount for car parking at the public car park, which I thought was a nice touch.

Location wise, from the hotel we had a lot of fun exploring Bilbao, the museum and the old town. Plenty of good food within walking distance from the hotel. The tram station is just opposite the hotel by the Guggenheim museum, it's extremely user friendly, and we found that with this tram line, we were able to access everywhere we had intended on visiting in Bilbao.

Breakfast was included in our hotel rate. While the breakfast spread was pretty standard and nothing to write about, it was nevertheless nice to have, and something to get the day started.

All in all, a good, fuss free stay. We managed to book our stay at a winter promotion, so the rates were extremely value for money. Would we return to this hotel, maybe not because we like a bit more service and larger rooms, but that is merely personal preferences. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, if what you are looking for is a just a bit of chic, and a clean functional, practical and convenient hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Room with fire of the Guggenheim museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor, and for your valuable comments and suggestions.

The Miró is indeed in the city´s best location, in front of the Guggenheim, which offers us great views and quick and easy access to the other points of interest in the city.

We do have porter service, however not 24 hrs. At the moment he was probably helping somebody else, sorry for the inconvenience.

Thanks for your comment about the service provided by the staff, it is our biggest pride.

We certainly would like to welcome you again in the future and we recommend you warn us in advance that you are bringing large luggage to try to assign the room appropriately. Also, as you did, booking directly on our website guarantees best rates and exclusive benefits.

Best regards from sunny Bilbao,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hotel Miro was a great choice for us. It was going to be a quick trip to the Guggenheim Museum which was within sight of the hotel. The location is perfect for walking to museums, along the river, to the old town, and many restaurant locations.
We were driving in from San Sebastian and it was easy to locate from the highway, and there is a huge underground parking across the street.
The staff was friendly and helpful, the room clean but sparse. It was a very efficient use of space.If you need a grand closet, dont go here.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We value your opinion and comments very highly since they help us improve the quality of our service.

Indeed our location is fantastic for enjoying stunning views, visiting both museums and close to the main points of interest.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, and would recommend you booking on our website, to guarantee best rates and exclusive advantages.

Best,
Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BXL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Miro hotel is a cosy place with a superfriendly staff. The standard rooms are small but good and clean. There is a bar at the reception, perfect to relax with offered coffee and drinks for guests. Breakfast is good, fresh juice, cava, fruit, bacon and all you need. The only suggestion to add could be a pancake in the morning to make it perfect! Location of the hotel is ideal, close to all you need to see in Bilbao. Miro is a truly great place for guest Looking for a cosy boutique hotel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BxlCkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_M_Wicke, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We very much appreciate your comments about the staff's friendliness, and the enjoyment of being in a small, intimate hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed our location, in front of the Guggenheim, close to all points of interest in the city, and our delicious breakfast (thanks for your suggestion).
We hope to welcome you back in the future and until then we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter and visit our website to stay tuned about events in the city and special advantages.
Best regards,
Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Property: Hotel Miro
Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing