We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot for Architecture Nerds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Architecture Nerds”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is right on the door step of the Guggenheim museum. The bus from the airport stops just across the road so it's a great spot for an easy, cheap commute to the airport.

It is located in a great spot, about 15-20 minutes walk from The Old Town, less than 10 minutes from the main shopping street and within minutes of the river, parks and the Fine Arts Museum.

On arrival, the hotel is really bright and modern. We had a room on the fourth floor (I think it was the fourth) over looking the museum. This is a MUST for this hotel. While the interior atrium is lovely - the light falling on Frank Gehry's Guggenheim at sunset it beautiful.

The room was a decent size, with fabulous bathrooms - see pictures for a better idea.

On a negative side, on the first night there was a wedding in the hotel and it was incredibly loud. There were still people talking loudly on the street outside at 5am. The bar downstairs was also closed due to this but the staff didn't really seem to know this as they had given us a drinks voucher for that night. Thankfully it was just that one night so I imagine its not something that happens all the time.

Pros

LOCATION!!!!!! LOCATION!!!!
Clean, comfortable rooms.
Sexy bathrooms.
Well stocked mini-bar (if over priced...but then aren't they always)
The restaurant upstairs is great. Pricier than anywhere else we ate in Bilbao but it was a 6 course tasting menu with drinks for €90 for 2 people so you can't argue with that.


Cons
Loud noise on night one
VERY Expensive Breakfast. (But there's a nice open cafe across the road where you can get good coffee and nibbles for less than €5.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Guggenheim. If booking online, be careful on the breakfast front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Libbyly,

Greetings from Bilbao! We appreciate the time you spent to send this detailed review.

We are sorry to hear that there was noise outside the hotel during your first night and we would like to explain that this was something extraordinary as the area outside the Guggenheim is normally quiet in the night.

We are glad to read that the location, as well as the room and the batroom, were of your taste. We will also pass your comments on the DOMA restaurant, by Martin Berasategui, to our colleagues to ensure they keep working in the same direction.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the future.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    676
    182
    69
    31
See reviews for
282
1,192
77
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
854 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Really nice quality hotel with great interior design that in some areas are quite amazing. The room was great even though I only had a room with an internal view. The bed and bathroom very both great and there was many nice details in the room. The hotel has a fabulous location towards Guggenheim, and there are many bars in the area. Hotel parks the car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Chokk,

Thank you very much for your nice words. We are delighted to see that both the room and the bathroom matched with your expectations and we could contribute to the good memories you kept from Bilbao. We appreciate that you have no hesitation in recommending our property and look forward to seeing you here again.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

So you're heading off to Bilbao for a visit? And you're going to visit the Guggenheim? Well, the Silken Gran Domine has a truly superb location right opposite the front door. I really can't reiterate this enough: the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the museum and shares the vast open space around the museum that provides such a lovely sense of s p a c e in this central area of the city.

The reception staff were pleasant and efficient, a good representation of how I expected this modern hotel to operate. The decor is one of white walls, simple patterns, crisp edges and a trim efficiency to everything; well, to almost everything. I stayed for three nights for the BBK Bilbao music festival and for each of those three nights and their associated three or four days I had disappointments and frustrations. It was little things like my room key not working when I first went to my room. And again the key didn't work another night. The lift had an absolutely horribly synthetic smell to it, so much so that I would hold my breath before I got in and until I got out four floors later. I had to ask for an iron and ironing board (surely a business-like hotel like this should have them in their large rooms as standard?!) and then it took almost an hour for them to be delivered to my room, although they said it would be done immediately. The quality of food delivered by room service was terrible; I highly recommend you make other arrangements although I failed to find a local store nearby that was open at night. The staff who delivered items to my room had the worst body odour of any hotel I've been to in the room, so much so that I had to open my window to try and let some fresh air in afterwards. Doing so then led me to discover that some of the rooms may have a window but that it only opens a few inches and opened into an almost hole in the centre of the building that was dark and had strange smells and noises escaping it at different times. If you have one of these interior rooms then I'd recommend you just leave the window shut as two nights I was working up by strange noises in the middle of the night.

Breakfast being served at the rooftop restaurant was fun and the buffet on offer was superb. Lots of cheeses, fresh meats, yoghurts, cereals and very good coffee. The bar near the main door was functional and fun and the central atrium of the hotel felt as though it was filled by a huge stone sculpture: 20 metres of phallic rock encaged in a metal bodice and thrusting up to the sky.

Would I stay here again? No. I would definitely look for somewhere with more charm, more history and accept a less convenient location. However, if I was just popping by for a night or here for a conference then the Silken Gran Domine would probably do very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear ncw73,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. First of all, we would like to express our pleasure after reading how much you enjoyed our breakfast selection, the efficience of our staff and the central location.

On the other hand, we regret that you did not find the avant-garde design by Javier Mariscal charming enough and, in special, that you had to deal with the smells mentioned as that does not represent our high standard. For this reason, we would like to have the opportunity to receive your visit again in the future in order to demonstrate that it was an extraordinary situation and give you the chance to see one of our executive rooms facing the Guggenheim, considering that the view over the atrium did not match with your expectations.

Please, feel free to contact us on your next visit to Bilbao and we commit to make your stay unforgettable.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our second time at the Domine. The hotel's design is in keeping with its location. Everything in Bilbao is within walking distance of the hotel. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The room is large and the bathroom is well equipped. The breakfast buffet featured a large assortment of food making it interesting and filling accompanied by a view of the museum and the hills of Bilbao. This is the perfect hotel for a trip to Bilbao.

Room Tip: An upgrade to a room facing the Guggenheim is worth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nyctravelers_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear 2nyctravelers_ny,

Greetings from Bilbao! It is a pleasure for us to know you have repeated your stay with us and we are sure this has not been your last visit as we can see both the hotel and the surrounding area matched with your expectations. We trust that our breakfast buffet with a view of the avant-garde Bilbao filled you and gave the power to walk along the city and discover the main attractions.

We thank you for your kind words in the hope of seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Last stop of our Spain trip and we stay here for 2 nights. Great location across from the city's main attraction the Guggenheim Museum. Unfortunately, like the rest of the trip, the weather was cloudy and rainy. We had dinner at their rooftop terrace restaurant Buenas Vistas. Food and service were very good. You can also enjoy a glass of wine or beer casually out on the terrace.

Our room was large and comfortable. Water pressure was good though the temperature did fluctuate a little and the shower drained well.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank anotherEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear anotherEd,

We appreciate that you took the time to send us your review. We are very glad to know that being the last stop of your trip, we left a good taste in your mouth even when the weather was gloomy. We have transferred your comments on the restaurant team to the person in charge as they mean a motivation to keep working in the same line.

On the other hand, our Maintenance has already checked the shower to avoid the temperature fluctuations in the future.

We look forward to seeing you here again.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wished it was more!!!

Our big, spacious room had beautiful decor and was all the things you want for a great stay. It was only 2 mins to the Guggenheim and we would recommend a Friday night to the pintox bars and visit to the old town for some great food, wine and fun!

As a side note we were celebrating my birthday and went to the Guggenheim's restaurant, Nerua, which we'd highly recommend for anyone who is looking for a wonderful evening meal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RHarrison4107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear RHarrison 4107,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to read that our room and design made your birthday even more special and you could easily reach the main attractions of the city.

Be sure we would be grateful if you decided to come back here in the future.

Kind regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and couldn't get a room overlooking the Guggenheim, due to a computer issue so we got an interior room, right in front of the elevator. This meant that we heard every time the lift was stopping at our floor and heard anyone who was waiting to get on the lift.Whilst the room was big and clean, the window let in very little natural light so the room was dark and a little depressing because of this. What was even more disappointing was to hear upon departure that we should have had been offered a room with view for the 2nd and 3rd nights... great... trainees should not be in charge of check-in without supervision. Great breakfast and service in the restaurant of the last floor (+rooftop terrace). Central hotel right in front of the Guggenheim and 2-minute away from the information office and bus from/to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Swiss_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear The_Swiss_One,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We regret to have been unaware of your disappointment with the room until the moment of your check-out, as we would have liked to have the opportunity to offer you an option more adequate to your needs and expectations. For this reason, we look forward to seeing you here in the future in order to be able to show how much our Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao has to offer as far as the rooms are concerned.

On the other side, we appreciate the kind words you dedicate to our breakfast and location.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you decided to come back to Bilbao as we would commit to make your stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#9 of 42 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Property: Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61 | Right Opposite the Guggenheim Museum, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, the only 5-star hotel situated opposite the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum and close to the city's main attractions. A designer space in which the customer experience is the priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing