We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect designhotel with a fantastic view and 1 class food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A EUR 20 taxi travel from the airport you find this pearl of a dsignhotel. Across the street from Guggenheim Museum and with view to the channel. First class gourmet food, and one of the best breakfasts I have tasted. Close to tram and bus In addition Bilbao is a fantastic city. This was our first, but definite not our last visit to this hotel & Bibao.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to either the Guggenheim side or to the street, as the hotels has inside rooms as wel...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Trond H,

Thank you very much for your kind words, do not doubt that we will be waiting for you at the Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed our design and customer service and it is a pleasure that you did not miss the opportunity to try our meals and breakfast as we can see they were some of your good experiences in Bilbao.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us in the future when you come back to our city, we look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,352)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel in good location for exploring Bilbao. Staff are friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast facility on the 7th floor terrace. Wifi is a bit of a hassle as you need a code for each device and they need renewing every 24 hours.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the Guggenheim
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Ron T,

Thank you very much for sending your feedback. There is no better compensation to our hard work tan knowing that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and helpful. We are going to take your comments as a motivation to keep working in the same direction in order to mantain our high standard customer service and with the same aim, we have passed your impressions about the wi-fi system to our management.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you decided to come back to our city in the future.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had a very good experience. A modern hotel with some quirky art not of my taste) in a superb location for the Guggenheim museum and other attractions. There is a fantastic view at breakfast from the roof terrace, however we did not use the cafes or restaurants in the hotel as there is better value to be had with a short walk or tram journey. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained and the staff helpful with information and maps etc. We had an inner room looking over the atrium and the only noise we heard was one evening when a private event finished and this quickly dissipated. Great place to stay in Bilbao.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Richard B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send your review to the future guests who are travelling to Bilbao. We can see you have enjoyed our room and breakfast as well as the proximity to the Guggenheim, but we feel specially happy to know that you spent a relaxing time with us with enough tme to visit the city and its main attractions.

We just would like to remind that we are open to hear any suggestion you would like to send us and we look forward to hearing from you on your next visit to Bilbao.

Thank you and best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way to catch the ferry to Portsmouth. We chose the hotel because of its location and car parking facilities - not cheap at 25 euros per night but worth it.

We had a deal that included entrance to the Guggenheim on the Monday and were fortunate that it was the first Monday of the summer that it was open. Generally museums are shut on Mondays in Spain. Am not sure it was worth the extra as it did not include an audio tour which we had to purchase separately. The parking was essential as we had lots of stuff in the car. It is worth noting that they park the car for you. My husband went down with the guy who parked it and said he would have found it near impossible to do. They were also very prompt and helpful if you wanted the car out and giving us directions to the ferry.

Our room was comfortable rather than spectacular with a view over the street rather than the Guggenheim which guess is more expensive. The TV was extremely small with fuzzy reception not so good for watching world cup football matches. The bathroom was okay but might have expected a walk in shower rather than one in the bath.

We ate in the cafe bar which has a fairly limited menu but both food and service were excellent. It was not expensive and had a reasonably priced wine list. We did not use the other ground floor restaurant nor the bar.

Breakfast was taken up on the top floor of the hotel looking directly over to the Guggenheim. We were lucky that the weather was good and it is a great location with the sun shining and a great selection of breakfast buffet items and freshly cooked eggs on demand.

It was a good option for us as we wanted to see Bilbao on our way home and needed the car to be secure but not sure its quite in the 5 star category

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trueblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Trueblues,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send this detailed review to the travellers of Trip Advisor. It has been a pleasure for us to know that our GHDB suited your needs and that our staff was efficient and helpful when dealing with your requests.

As far as the TV is concerned, we appreciate that you made us aware of the bad signal as we have been able to pass your comments to our maintenance team, who has already fixed it.

We are also delighted to read that our restaurants for dinner and breakfast were of your taste and matched with your expectations. We would only recommend you that, if you decided to come back to Bilbao, you booked one of our executive rooms facing the Guggenheim as we are sure it would make the difference you were looking for.

In any case, we have taken note of all your suggestions in order to keep improving our facilites and customer service everyday. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you come back to Bilbao and we commit to make your stay unforgettable.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Many positive things can be said about this hotel. However for a 5 star hotel I expect at least a good quality pool and accompanying facilities. None of these are available. The rooms seem to vary depending in being an inner room [facing a piece of stone art work] or looking outwards. The latter let you see the Guggenheim and the weather. The much praised roof terrace with its amazing breakfast is way overrated. Its overpriced and just adequate certainly not 5 star quality. Attitude to customers surprised me especially when I left something behind. Contacting them within three hours they requested passport photocopy and credit card details. I cut my losses. The location for both the airport and the Guggenheim are great, not so if you need to be near the old town.

Room Tip: Outside rooms can see the sky
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Denis O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your review. We are sorry to read your disappointment about the swimming pool as we offer other facilities according to the urban hotel we are with the aim of making our guests live a different experience. In any case, we have passed your comments about it and breakfast to our Management to keep improving our facilities and customer service.

We appreciate your detailed description and hope that these aspects did not impede you to enjoy the "many positive things" you mentioned about our property. Please, do not hesitate to contact us in the future if you come back to Bilbao and we will find the perfect place for you as each of our rooms are different on design.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A really nice hotel just in front of the Guggenheim. Interesting interior design and comfortable rooms. It is said to be a 5 star hotel and although in this category it does not stand out as something exceptional, one can argue the category is deserved. Fantastic view from the terrace where breakfast is served – the Guggenheim building can be admired in all its glory. Breakfast, by the way quite good, with sufficient selection and quality of various items. Because the price we paid would have been more appropriate for a 3 star hotel it was simply a bargain and should make any complaints unfair. I have, however, two. The first, as is unfortunately too common, is about the quality of the internet connection (at least the free one). Simply very slow, not even sufficient for browsing and emails with larger attachments. The second is about the TV. I almost never watch when on holiday, but we were staying during the Worldcup so it was another story and the quality of the picture was poor, as if a flimsy room antenna had provided the signal (no, it was not some unplugged cable – I asked at the reception, they sent a guy but nothing could be done).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Thomas777,

Thank you very much for your detailed description of our property. We have passed your comments on the WiFi and the TV to the maintenance team to ensure it will not happen again as these aspects do not represent our high standard.

As far as your whole experience is concerned, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the design as much as the room and you found our breakfast at the terrace fantastic.

In any case, we remind that our team is always open to hear the suggestions of our guests so we hope you have no hesitation in contacting us in order to let us know those aspects that you consider might have made your experience more special.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location couldn't be better, the rooms are big and with amazing design... Do not miss the chance of having the breakfast in the terrace! It is one of the most amazing breakfast that I have ever found in a hotel.

Room Tip: Guggenheim view, of course
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andoni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Andoni D,

Thank you very much for your feedback. There is no better motivation for us tan knowing that your experience at the Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao was so outstanding that you consider our breakfast the most amazing one ever! We will take your words as a boost to keep working on the same direction in order to mantain or even improve our customer service.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you want to send us your suggestions or impressions.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,290 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
2,524 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61 | Right Opposite the Guggenheim Museum, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: £106 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Hotel Domine is the only 5-star hotel in front of the Guggenheim. Having been completely newly renovated in 2017, luxury can now be found in its spacious ambience, its extraordinary service, the passion for art and design, as well as an elegant and cosmopolite style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing