We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice hotel with a fantastic view to the Guggenheim Museum. Breakfast and lunch was nice and the rooms fine. Went jogging a few times along the river and museum. Many bars and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars_Jakob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Lars_Jakob,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and restaurant and we have passed your comments to the Food & Beverage manager in order to motivate our team to keep working even harder from now on.

We appreciate your advise about the jogging area and leisure activities, as we are sure it will help all those travellers who are organizing their trip to Bilbao to make our decision as far as the hotel is concerned.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you want to send any recommendation or suggestion to our staff.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    659
    180
    67
    31
See reviews for
270
1,147
72
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staying at The Gran Domine allows you to have the unique experience of watching a scene at many different times of the day. And what a scene! There is an endless parade of interesting people--not the typical tourists--strolling on the plaza and musicians playing music.The Gehry architecture catches the light and constantly changes colors and shifts shapes with the shadows going in and out of the unusual building's walls. Get a membership and skip the lines. Drop in at odd times and enjoy the views out of the museum as well as the amazing exhibits within, at a leisurely pace, because you "live" across the street. The rest of the city isn't far away. The old town is a very nice 15 minute riverside walk. But my favorite neighborhood was near the hotel. Bilbao gets more rain than the rest of Spain and when traveling internationally, it is not unusual to find oneself up at odd hours. Because of the Domine's location, you will not feel cheated by these challenges. Often a good location means a less attentive staff. Not so here. They are very alert and provided us with great service. PS There's a pizza restaurant two short blocks from the hotel that is perfectly safe to send your picky teenagers to alone while you eat something delicious, exotic and expensive.

Room Tip: Get a view of the museum. Viewing "Poopy" at night makes his saccharine sweetness edgy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear MollyDenver,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate that you took the time to send your feedback to our Management and to all those travellers who are planning their trip to Bilbao. Reading reviews like this is what motivates our team to work even harder from now on, as our aim is to make all our guests to live the "unique experience" you mentioned. We can say we are proud of being a part of those special memories by offering a great view of the Guggenheim at any time, so that you could enjoy the different coulours and shapes that the light draws on the building.

However, we would like to thank you in special for the kind words you dedicated to our staff, who are always working hard to offer a perfect customer service. On behalf of our team, we would like to send our greetings to your family with the hope to hearing from you again on your next trip to Bilbao.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed in this on a business trip that I decided to take my wife and baby girld with me. Everything in hotel was excelent starting of with the registration at the desk. We arrived a couple of hours before we could check in, however they were very keen in getting us a room and despite not having one free when we arrived they arranged a room 40 minutes after.
This was also the first time we took our baby girl on a plane trip and stayed in a hotel with her so we were a bit "afraid" on how things would go. However, the staff of the hotel was very nice and provided almost everything we asked for.
The hotel itself is located just in front of the Guggenheim and having breakfast in the last floor of the hotel facing the Guggenheim is priceless. The rooms were also very nice, the only negative aspect is that you can see people from the room to the bathroom since there is a window and the blinds to not block everything.
Overall it was a very nice hotel to stay in and since Bilbao is not such a big city you can walk everywhere.
Will definitily stay in the Silken Gran Hotel Domine in my next trip to Bilbao.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear EUAS,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your review. We are particularly proud of being the first hotel that has accommodated your baby girl and have the chance to be now a little part of your family's memories. We appreciate the nice words you dedicated to our room and, in special, to our staff, as they will be a motivation for our team to keep working in the same direction.

As you said, we are sure you will come back to our property, so we are already looking forward to that moment.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Opposite the Guggenheim with a great view!!
Modern hotel with knowledgeable staff.
Remember to right a message before you leave on one of the many stones contained in the lobby centrepiece feature.
The barmaid also knows how to make a real Gin & Tonic!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jo B,

Thank you very much for sending us your review. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our whole hotel, including the bar and the design. But what makes us specilly happy is the fact that you describe our staff as "knowledgeable", as it is our aim to be helpful and close to our guests in order to comply with all your needs and wishes.

For all these reasons, we hope you will have no hesitation in coming back to our Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao if you decided to come back to Bilbao in the future. For the moment, we will keep your name in the stones by Javier Mariscal as a memory of your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is directly opposite the Guggenheim Museum, in an area steeped in culture.

I cannot fault it.

There are many nice tapas bars out of the main entrance and turn right.

A shopping mall is 1km walk away.

Room Tip: Go for a Guggenheim view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Keoking,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send your review to the future guests who are organizing their trip to Bilbao. We can see you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the surrounding area, so we look forward to seeing you here again in the future if you decided to come back to Bilbao.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if that happened.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

this was a family trip to the beautiful city of bilbao, the hotel was outstanding, just opposit to Guggenhiem museum . the rooms were spacious and clean ,the staff were nice and helpfull .I cant forget the great breakfast !!! with the great view . all in all this is an ideal hotel to stay in during a vacation in bilbao!!

Room Tip: always try to take rooms facing the museum,dont take rooms that have windows on the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Hana A,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to read that your stay was so pleasant and thanks to our location you could enjoy a memorable breakfast overlooking the Guggenheim museum.

We have passed your comments about the room and the staff to our colleagues in order to keep them motivated to work even harder to mantain the top quality customer service.

We look forward to hearing from you in the future if you ever come back to Bilbao.

Bet regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a pleasant and welcoming hotel. Its location, overlooking the Guggenheim Museum, was ideal for us.

The interior design of the hotel is stunning, and the roof top terrace restaurant in which we took breakfast every day afforded unequalled views of the Guggenheim.

The room was spacious, well equipped and furnished and immaculately clean.

The staff were friendly efficient and helpful.

The only minor criticism is that the charges for car parking on site are somewhat steep (25E per day), but in the round this was an excellent recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: preferably try to ensure booking a room facing the guggenheim
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Assistant D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Caroline Q,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to read that our Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao made your stay in Bilbao unique, and specially, that our staff was helpful and welcoming, as this is what we work for everyday.

We have liked to know that you had the chance to try our breakfast at the roof top terrace and stare at the Guggenheim to see the different colours that the morning light reflects on it, as we find it unmissable for anyone who comes to Bilbao.

On the other hand, we have taken note of your comment about the parking and passed it to the Management, so it will be taken into consideration.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you come back to Bilbao in the future; it would be a pleasure to see you here again.

Kind regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Guest & Community manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Property: Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61 | Right Opposite the Guggenheim Museum, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, the only 5-star hotel situated opposite the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum and close to the city's main attractions. A designer space in which the customer experience is the priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing