We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and Tea included!”
Review of Ganbara Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ganbara Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Tea included!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you took all those leftover lego bricks you had as a kid and put them together to make a higgledy piggledy city - you would have something that looks like Bilbao. A mix of old, new, industrial, innovative, blocky and slick. Ganbara is in the old town right in amongst great bars and restaurants.

The dorms are cramped and got very stuffy however the toilets/showers/linen were all very clean. Would happily stay again if needed a hostel in Bilbao.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    35
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
8
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and would recommend staying elsewhere.

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm for the first night. The room was far too small for 8 beds and there was nowhere for my backpack. I was also bitten by bedbugs :(

The other two nights I stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was nicer but the room shakes whenever a train goes past directly behind the hostel!

I tried I stay again for another night while in transit but after they offered me a room they cancelled it on me less than 24 hours before I arrived, so I had to find somewhere else at short notice.

Good points:
- Great location next to the old city
- They give you a padlock for the lockers, which are a decent size.
- Nice crowd
- Ok breakfast included

Bad points:
- Everyone hangs around late outside late at night smoking and chatting which will keep you awake and the smoke comes in your room (all rooms are ground level or first floor)
- Noisy
- No individual lights or sockets
- Poor service with my later booking

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hostel is well located very close to the old city area.
It could be better clean, because in the rooms we could still smell tabaco from previous guests.
The room's door was not working properly.Bathroom's should have more fixed placesto put the towals and hangers.
Despite this it was great FREE WIFI, friendly people and nice kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the 4 bed mixed dorm. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The owners were friendly and even offered to give us a new empty dorm when for our last night at no extra cost.

The rooms are tiny but the communal areas are great and we met loads of cool people. We all went out together the one night and had a huge party!

Theres a TV in the lounge which seems to have all the sport channels which my boyfriend was really happy with!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in a poor hostel in San sebastian on the Friday 28th march this hostel saved the day on the 29th.

Very clean, good rooms, communal rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. The location was great and easy to find.

The only negative was there being no light in the showers however this I'm sure was a one off and won't effect the excellent rating it deserves.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank crustyloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great hostel with nice staff in a good location! Free breakfast in the mornings and free drinks all day. Great common area with lots of couches and tables for hanging out or watching tv. Everything was very clean and with a nice decor. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great hostel! It has two cool public areas, free coffee, tea and cookies all day long! :)
The staff was very nice and always very helpful, I will definitely stay here if I go back to Bilbao and will definitely recommend it! Great location and loved the design

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariecheverria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Estrella Ostatu
#30 of 42 in Bilbao
53 reviews
BBK Bilbao Good Hostel
#11 of 27 in Bilbao
80 reviews
Abando
Bilbao Central Hostel
Bilbao Central Hostel
#21 of 27 in Bilbao
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganbara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganbara Hostel

Property: Ganbara Hostel
Address: Calle Prim, 11, 48006 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ganbara Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ganbara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing