We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Friendly, very good location, good value"”
Review of Begona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Begona
Ranked #5 of 26 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Friendly, very good location, good value"”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and very helpful which added to the hotel's special character. The hotel is in a very convenient location - near the old town, the railway stations, the tourism office and the modern town with its excellent shopping streets. The hotel was very clean and very quiet. It is situated on a pedestrian street just off the extension of the Gran Via. They did not serve breakfast but it is easy to get one for a reasonable price at the railway stations or in the old town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilbao V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    116
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
142
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Looking for an inexpensive, but really good accommodation in Bilbao? Here it is! Central. Really inexpensive. And very clean. We stayed here for 3 nights and would return here anytime.
Reception's open 24 hours. And very friendly and helpful.
There's free WiFi. TV's "only" in Spanish and Basque. But you're not in Bilbao to waste your time watching TV, aren't you? :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden Beach, NC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night for a quick stop in Bilbao. Both the staff spoke very good English and were extremely helpful and accommodating. We asked for a quiet room and got one off the street but that was in February. But the place is on what is more of a pedestrian walkway than a street. You can drive your car to the front door to drop off luggage and they have underground parking for 12€ when we stayed. We understand there is no free parking on their side of the river.

The hostel is like any other hotel in Europe. How quiet it is depends on your neighbors. If you fall asleep easily and sleep soundly, you won't have any problems. We had pretty good neighbors during our stay, but Spaniards do stay up late. This is no criticism of the hostel itself.

While it looks like it is a long way from the Guggenheim, etc., it really isn't. One can take a nice walk along the river to get there. In fact I would recommend crossing the river to get to the Guggenheim to get a better perspective and better overall pictures of the museum. Afterall the architecture of the museum is better than most of it's art.

There are numerous panaderias and cafés for food near the hostel. The Nuevo York one block up is especially nice. Yuppies will like it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but enjoyed the location; across the bridge from the old town. Rooms very clean, good wifi. I left my Dr. Dre headphones behind and when i emailed the hostal, they replied immediately and awaited my arrival. Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadicAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This lovely accommodation was an "Authors Pick" in the Cadogan Guides to Bilbao and The Basque Lands (pg 149, 5th ed,2012). Easily found if you are coming from Bilbao airport, as you can take the airport bus to the end of the line (Termibus Station) and from that station take the metro (San Memes) 3 stops to Abando metro, which is the centre of the city, Hostal Begona is less than 5 minutes from Abando Metro. We stayed in a large three bedroom suite, two double beds and 1 single bed, which was clean and well furnished with a fridge, kettle, tv and wifi. The bathroom was clean, spacious and had a lovely powerful shower with the option of side jets, our towels were replaced daily. While two of the three hosts I met had little english they were friendly and efficient. This is an ideal choice if you intend exploring the wonderful Bilbao and dining out for your meals. It is a pleasant river walk to the Guggenheim and in the Casco Viejo which is the heart of the city. I would both recommend to a friend and happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess_PeaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was a wonderful budget hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean. The location is perfect - very near the tram that goes along the river to the Guggenheim, or in walking distance if you like to walk. Also walking distance from the nightlife on the other side of the river, where all the pintxos bars are. There are wonderful cafes on the street for breakfast or a drink/snack.

The hostal is full of funky artwork and an astounding library of books. It gives it a really nice feel.

The only negative is the hostal's website says it has parking, but it doesn't, or they would rather not bother with it (I'm not sure which). You can park at the Pio Barojas car park about 2 blocks away.

Other than that, great value, clean, comfortable - a great find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElleGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Why spend a great deal of money if you are never in the hotel. We paid less than £50 for a double room with shower. The hotel was clean but the location cannot be beaten. It is on a small street and as expected there was a little street noise at night so we asked for a quiet room at the back. The guy at reception was very helpful and spoke English. We flew to Santander and took the airport bus to the bus station. Check the Alba site as buses do go direct to Bilbao from the Airport. They are quicker and dearer but not so frequent. We took the bus and you arrive at Termibus which is not the one near the train station but is near the football stadium.. We took a taxi to the hotel for about 7 euros but we returned by tram from outside the hotel or you can use the metro. Bus station stop is called SAN MAMES and hotel stop is ABANDO. Both seemed very safe.

Room Tip: Back rooms are silent at night but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McdonaldsLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Begona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Begona

Property: Begona
Address: C/Amistad, 2, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Begona 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Begona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing