We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Bilbao
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel could not be better designed, and maintains a unified them from gate till smallest details in the room and furniture design. Location is ideal. Staff could not be any friendlier. Swiming pool in 6th floor with awesome view on canal and city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    808
    258
    52
    39
See reviews for
448
1,113
71
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

There is very little I can say about the Melia and Bilbao that wouldn't be in the 'excellent' class. Hubby and I had a really FAB few days in the Basque country as part of a driving holiday, during which we stayed at this hotel.

It started well when we scored an upgrade to one of their top floor suites (with huge wrap-around terrace) over-looking the park, which was amazing. Spacious and modern with a sunny outlook and great facilities. The staff (particularly front desk) were exceptionally helpful, recommending restaurants and bars, and also giving us great advice on museums and places of interest. They were spot on too.

The food in the hotel was also superb. The innovative Aizian was something very different and very good quality food and even the mini tapa in the bar was tasty and reasonably priced. (Quite a few locals seemed to eat here too.) We also had superb room service burgers during our stay; highly recommended.

I wish I could say the same for all of our hotel food not this trip, but the Basques certainly know how to feed you!

An excellent hotel with FABULOUS staff. Eskerrik Asko to you all!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year 2013-14 and we could not fault the hotel one bit. The room was clean with fantastic bathrooms (stand alone bath tub and walk in shower) and the breakfast offering was plentiful and delicious. The only slight downside was that Bilbao was almost entirely closed for New Year so we ended up having too much room service. Once would have been fine, but more than once and it became a bit monotonous. There is a swimming pool which is outdoor but covered - it's fine for young children to enjoy and to just relax in, but do not expect to do lengths. The location of the hotel is good, right next to the Guggenheim and with a tram stop opposite that takes you into the old town. There is a shopping mall directly opposite, which I'm sure would be good but was virtually always closed at the time of year that we stayed. Definitely a good place to stay when visiting Bilbao, but would recommend just two nights in Bilbao and more time in other locations such as San Sebastian.

Room Tip: All rooms face outwards, so every room has a view. Even the smallest rooms are large enough to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FastCarFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is part of the regenerated area along the river with the new museums/office towers/residences, it is nicely equipped with a decent gym and bar/restaurant. There is also a big shopping mall across the streets so that makes it convenient to grab a bite to eat. I have walked from the hotel to the centre of town/subway line, which took about 15 min. A tram line also passes by the hotel. Guggenheim is about 15 minutes away. Athletic Bilbao football stadium/bus terminus is about 20 min away. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

When I had booked my trip to Bilbao the first hotel that I thought was Melia Bilbao! After some price simulations this one of the cheapest but one of the best hotels in town.
I went to the hotel by airport bus that stops in the street in front of the hotel so it's a short distance. With a good location, in the center of the new part of city, in front of Zubiarte (the biggest city center mall) and very near to the river. The hotel entrace is simple but beauty, but theres anyone outside to welcome you or pick your bags. The receptionist at check-in were very efficient and I followed to the room wich I had great expectations. Again, the room 512, in 5th floor, was the remotest room in that floor! The room is big, with a bathroom with shower and bath. But some details harms this 5 stars hotel! The wall over the window is damaged and badly patched! This is not a solution for a 3 stars hotel, even more for a 5 stars! To my astonishment and in the first time in my life I found waste from other person in the trash... A empty Princles package... This is unthinkable! The bed is confortable. When I was sleeping the light of closet turned on and I waked up very scared! I also repair that the lower wall decorative was taken off. The breakfast won't impressed me! There weren't to many variety as usually the hotels in this category have. Then I tried the pool! I really made a recomendation: If you are chilly as me don't enter in the pool! The pool is located in the exterior (the air temperature was 5ºC) and the annouced "heated pool" was probally at 20ºC... not to much for the shock of temperatures! For me this is a very bad experience and I really hate that and run to the sauna. This hotel dind't had any guest review card! At check-out the receptionist were very frendly and apologized from the Pringles and the wall. This hotel have very friendly receptionist but fails in cleaning and room maintenance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FConceicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Within sight of the river and easy walking distance of the Guggenheim and the old city. Refurbished to a very high standard in 2010, glass lifts, huge foyer, 10 floors, terrific views, very clean and efficient, good service and quiet at night. Double room including breakfast from €120 per night. Rooms have an expresso machine (tepid water) and tiny cups so ask at reception for decent size cups; not perfect for those travellers who would like a hot cup of tea! Truly impressive breakfast buffet and Restaurant Aizian on the ground floor has a dinner menu that is hard to beat for quality and value - 3 courses (with several choices per course), half a bottle of red or white wine and coffee, all for €33 per head. Hard to beat, especially compared to the hotel bar where a gin and tonic is €7.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high as possible for a good view of the river - the Guggenheim is hidden from all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhyllRutland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for one night when away with work - beautiful hotel inside with the most amazing reception area with ceiling all the way up to top of the hotel with glass lifts rising within. Very modern and funky inside including the rooms. Very clean in my enormous room. A great marble bathroom with walk-in shower, bath, two sinks, toilet and bidet. Bed very comfortable and huge. Enormous window with two levels of "motorised" blinds, one providing complete blackout, the other just obscuring.

Breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had for a while - everything you could wish for, cereals, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, continental breakfast, smoked salmon, yoghurts, serrano ham (the list just goes on and on). And of course teas and coffees. Safe in room too and a big TV.

Had dinner in the hotel bar, very nice ambience, and good selection of sandwiches through to main courses and promptly delivered. Bar also well stocked.

Location was great - very quiet, overlooking the river and just a few minutes walk away from the Guggenheim. Felt very safe outside, nice clean city centre with no graffiti that I could see.

Only regret is that I didn't have more nights here! Will have to return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,244 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 42 in Bilbao
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Melia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing