We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, well situated”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, well situated”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were in Bilbao for three days and found the Melia a nice place to stay. Although I think this hotel may be better suited to a business traveler than a vacationer. It's a large building with a large lobby and that loses a bit of the charm we were looking for in a hotel. The rooms were surprising large but were beginning to show some sign of wear. The staff was very friendly and the service was very efficient.
Bilbao is a terrific city and the the river is just steps away. The location of the hotel also helped us discover the park across the street which was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    819
    260
    54
    41
See reviews for
457
1,131
73
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barry
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We wanted a hotel in central Bilbao with easy car-parking facilities at the end of our 4 week tour of northern Spain. This was ideal. Our room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the park with a view towards the mountains. We usually eat and take our breakfast out but it is worth paying extra for the breakfast here as there is so much choice and the quality is excellent. We also had our evening meal in the hotel after reading the various good reviews and it was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank CarcolBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had been travelling 6 weeks in both hot and cold climates and my wife and I both had large heavy suitcases. When dropped at the entry to this hotel by the taxi from the airport and all I could see was a flight of steps from street to the entry and reception level with nothing but a steep ramp forming part of the steps, presumably to facilitate dragging wheeled cases up the steps, my immediate thoughts were that for an architecturally "different" hotel, they hadn't given due consideration to either those with limited mobility or older folk like me lumbered with dragging the wife's and my own suitcases around! My disappointment was allayed when my wife pointed out a lift from street level (requiring access via and intercom) 20 meters further along the street. As the intercom wasn't answered, it was back to dragging the cases up the steep ramp - not impressed.
Once inside, to further my frustration, with only one staff member on reception and the people ahead of us with a seemingly complicated check in process, it took us an age to check in. Strange for the middle of the day on a Sunday. Notwithstanding, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, speaking 5 different languages!
All of the above was put aside when we entered our room and settled down for a two night stay. The room was large, modern and very clean with a beautiful view over parkland and the river. Free wifi was readily available in the room. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the Guggenheim and a minute or two to a tram stop where trams to the old part of town and the main shopping district run every 10 minutes or so. It is in a very quiet area with no traffic noise and the widows have wonderfully effective electrically operated block out roller blinds.
Apart from the initial misgivings, we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel and excellent service from the staff who happily arranged an early morning wake up call and a taxi waiting at the door of the hotel for our very early morning departure to the airport.
Word of warning though for anyone travelling to Bilbao - it pretty much closes down on a Sunday - no shops open, few restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Either overlooking the river or the extensive park on the opposite side would be equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Amazing architecture, great sized rooms, balcony was impressive. Bathroom was large and accommodating as well. Staff was quite friendly, breakfast inside hotel was excellent, fresh food and set up with a good flow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uberspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 2 am in the morning to this hotel and the night portier was just golden in his way to welcome us!
Room and service, just perfect!
Breakfast very well assorted and very service minded staff.
I'm sitting on the balcony on the 9th floor and just admiring the view of the park, mountain and the people below.
Bilbao and Melia hotel is just cotton for your soul.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June
Minor complaints:
Arrival was strange, front of hotel completely unmanned so no one to greet you. I understand porters are becoming a thing of the past with the popularity of the wheelie case but I think it would still be good to have someone around to welcome guests.
At times our room had the faint smell of a greenhouse, slightly damp. We wondered if the bath had leaked as the skirting board looked warped. It wasn't bad enough to complain about, mentioned it when checking out but don't think receptionist quite understood.
The swimming pool was disappointing, very small and always in the shade.
Wifi connection was poor

On the positive side:
Beautiful room with a good working area if there on business
Sofa and chair for relaxing
Large wardrobe
Huge bathroom with spacious shower and whirlpool bath plus good range of toiletries including razor which was helpful as my husband had forgotten his
Tea and coffee making facilities and well-stocked mini-bar
Underground parking
Great location between the river and park, just a short walk to the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum and maybe, 20 minutes to the old town.
Breakfast was good but more fresh fruit would have been welcome, the fresh melon and pineapple with canned pears and peaches on the buffet were disappointing considering the season.
The Aizian restaurant is excellent.
Q bar was extremely reasonable and equally relaxing or buzzing depending on the time of day.

Would definitely stay here again mainly for location, views and Aizian restaurant where staff were particularly welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toasty754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

3 not so good things: Reception was a little slow on checkout, the infinity pool doesnt get the sun & the bedroom had 2 singles instead of a double.

All else was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were adequate, bathroom had good toiletries. The bar and restaurant are excellent. Location is near to the bus station which is also nice. I'd stay here again if in Bilbao.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beermatt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,262 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing