We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice break in the center of Bilbao” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice break in the center of Bilbao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent 1 night during our trip from France to Spain. The hotel is very nice from inside, clean and modern. Our 2 bedrooms were in line with our expectations and the hotel claimed standing. The swimming pool is very pleasant (and warm) though a bit "old" compared to the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic and employees were very helpful and smiling. The hotel location is just great, close to the city center and the Guggenheim museum. A bit of noise from the tramway line next to the hotel, but did not really disturb our sleep...

Room Tip: On the opposite side of the tramway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastien a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    767
    237
    49
    36
See reviews for
421
1,065
68
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Melia Bilbao is a fantastic place to stay if you are looking to explore the city of Bilbao.
It is located on the tram route so it is very easy to get to from the bus station and should you wish to take the tram to the Guggenheim it is a stop away (the walk is easy).
The hotel is situated in parkland with the river directly in front, again providing great places to either explore or just chill ...
As has been mentioned in other reviews there is also a shopping center across the road and the new centre of Bilbao is 10 minutes away and the old center is a tram ride away.
The hotel is spacious, the lobby is open to the top floor, so those who suffer from vertigo might wish to look elsewhere ... We had a great room, spacious clean and just fantastic in terms of the little touches that make the difference.
The rate we paid included breakfast and by breakfast we are not talking a couple of stale bread rolls and a couple of slices of chorizo ... This was a fantastic buffet with just about anything you could wish for.
We will be back to visit Bilbao and this is where we would stay without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandcolliedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam Center, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

excellent location! its only few minutes walk to the famous guggenheim museum. theres tram right outside of the hotel which would take you to the old town with amazing food. Great large room with views over the river & hills. huge and beautiful room

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This modern hotel is a quick 6 minute walk to the Guggenheim Museum. This is an indoor shopping mall across the street with a large public park on the opposite side. You're a quick walk from downtown Bilbao. Breakfast buffet is awesome! Very helpful staff. Our one dinner in the hotel restaurant was quite good as well. Highly recommended from an experienced husband and wife travel couple!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
280 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Big 5*-hotel close to and the Guggenheim and the old city and the typical bask restaurants. If you have vertigo, ask for a room on lower floors. The lobby and elevators are open space and if your room is on 8th floor or higher, it can give you a strange feeling. Cheap public carpark 300m away (only 12,9€/24hrs instead of 24€ in hotel). Plenty of good and cheap breakfast facilities close to hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is architecturally stunning. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast scrumptious. In all ways a first class hotel. If you are staying in Bilbao this is where I recommend you stay. Myosin can easily get to the old part of the city via the tram. It is quieter to stay at the Melia and close to the art museums.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_Karla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for 2 days and everything was very good in this modern hotel. The room, the smiley and quickest service, I've ever seen in hotel. Quality in everything. The reception helpful in everything we ask(information...e.t.c.), the breakfast (a bit expensive) very-very good. The first day we had a dinner with risotto (gorgeous!!!) and chicken with vegetables (excellent ,as well..). The only thing which disappointed me , was the Caipirinia.... The bar didn't have lime and actually I noticed that they didn't know how to make it. They had to look, from a brochure or something similar... Why??? and in the price of 9 euros. Could be better!!! The second dinner was tagliatelle with vegetables. Unsalted but o.k. I really liked Melia.If there is a second time-travel in Bilbao, I will go back again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annamaria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing