We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total comfort and a touch of luxury”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The rate for a 5 star hotel was really good value. I booked on Melia.com and made the most of the 10 euro- a day bonus, which I used against room service. The location was great, on the edge of a really pretty park and minutes walk to the Museo des Belles Artes and the Guggenheim. The Andoarabbia tram stop and a small covered shopping mall-the Zubiiarte- just over the road. It is a great place to base yourself if you are staying in Bilbao.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank SC-Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 2,679 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here before flying home for two nights after walking the camino route and picked a junior suite for the two nights and have to say it was amazing :)
Pool on the sixth floor was a great relief from the 37 degree heat and the drinks and food were excellent and breakfast was worth every euro

Thanks for a great break

Room Tip: Junior Suites are great with stunning views over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Castleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was a lovely hotel. We loved the staff who dropped everything when we had a question and needed help. The rooms were big and comfortable. It is a short walking distance to the museums. The breakfast was excellent as was the bar. We did not eat a meal so I can't comment on the restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank pp21401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a terrible experience with room full of ants. Had to be moved to an inferior category room and was charged for the higher category rate that I had booked. Beware. Get whatever they say in writing!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Maria Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Good location to explore this beautiful city! Max. 10 minutes walking distance from the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum. Personnel is a bit cold for a 5 star hotel. Rooms spacious, clean. Great pool on the 6th floor! The michelin star restaurant was closed when we were here. Had lunch at Q lounge bar/restaurant. The sushi we ordered was old! The chef apologised himself, fresh dish was promised for the next day.
Not worthy of 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireClarice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Absolutely a wonderful experience at Meliã. In the heart of the city, many attractions near by. Customer service was amazing, from front desk, to bar, to wait staff. Will return in ever in Bilbao, Spain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank isaeddleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family stayed in 2 rooms for 5 days (8th July 2014 - 13 July 2014 P Griffiths)

Hotel was nice with no complaints at all about rooms, public spaces and Food was very good.

Problem:-

1. On the last night the people in the room next door decided to party until 4am, banging on doors, banging on walls and music at a great volume. I complained to reception who said they would sort it out. I then heard the phone ring next door and then they carried on. It was only when I informed the reception that if they didn't sort it out, I would. As I say they finally quit at 4am.
When I checked out the next morning I asked to talk through my complaints with management but was told that there was no management on site and that I would have to complain in an email on my return home.
I emailed the hotel that night and then waited a week. I received no reply.
I then e mailed Melia hotels customer service and then waited a week. I received no reply.

It is disappointing that a hotel group so big cannot reply to an email from a customer who has paid a lot of money for 2 rooms for 5 nights.

I would have also thought that every hotel would have a duty manager on site at all time and if like the receptionist said "they don't have a manager on site" that's worrying because who is in charge in case of an emergency??

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank myfavebench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#11 of 42 in Bilbao
290 reviews
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £59 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of bussines and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River-Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. The wellness center (swimming pool, sauna and Gym) will be closed for maintenance and cleaning from next October 30 and for a period of approximately one month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing