We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but needs investment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Bilbao

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great staff but needs investment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This is a well located hotel with well meaning staff. However worldly travellers should forget the 5* rating completely. This was the old Sheraton hotel and Melia have invested little in the infrastructure apart from changing the name. Think long queues, very average food, musty smelling rooms and an outdated pool. On the plus side it is just minutes from the Guggenheim and modern art museum.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JJCDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    767
    237
    49
    36
See reviews for
421
1,065
68
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel it's self was wonderful; pleasant building, excellent location & a very good breakfast.

However, the reception and bar were heavily understaffed, one receptionist for a que of 30 people?, a 45 minute wait to check in or out? Unacceptable, would of loved to of seen more of Bilbao but instead I was stuck waiting!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Callum G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Melia Bilbao. Although a solid hotel with friendly staff, I found it to be far from a 5 star hotel. The room smelt very damp and musty, but was a nice size with a large outdoor balcony. Service in the bar downstairs was slow. The hotel is in a good location for the tram and for walking to the Guggenheim.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Potimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a high quality hotel with full service as swimming pool, saunas, fitness room etc. A short stroll among the beautiful river to the Guggenheim Museum. Bilbao's main park just outside the restaurant door. Bilbao has a lot of running paths and bicycle roads around and in the city. The park has several exercise instruments for public use.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was excellent we had an upgraded room on the 10th floor with a terrace, looking towards the park. Only hotel I have slept through the night for a long time. We didn't use the pool but looked inviting overlooking the city. We had a great breakfast included. It is well positioned near the Guggenheim and a shopping centre and it does not take long to get to the city centre even if walking. I would give this 4.5 to be honest, the only let down I felt was the bar area which needs updating and cocktails were ok. After Melia Genoa we were spoilt by the Melia brand. The WIFI was not good in the room. Maybe small niggles but it is what I would expect from a 5 star hotel. The building is lovely inside looking up the main atrium with speedy lifts. The garage is underneath so the car was kept cool, but quite tight getting in and out. Watch out for the pillars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortisheadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were here for one night during our trip through Spain and were very positively surprised by this hotel.
The room and bathroom were big and spotless clean.
The breakfast buffet had a huge variety of fresh food.
The service is very professional and the staff is fluent in English and French.
We booked through the website of Meliã and had an amazing offer (€70, breakfast included)
Just be careful when you drive your car out the parking: the way out is very narrow.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The rate for a 5 star hotel was really good value. I booked on Melia.com and made the most of the 10 euro- a day bonus, which I used against room service. The location was great, on the edge of a really pretty park and minutes walk to the Museo des Belles Artes and the Guggenheim. The Andoarabbia tram stop and a small covered shopping mall-the Zubiiarte- just over the road. It is a great place to base yourself if you are staying in Bilbao.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank SC-Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing