We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Cheap, central and Cheerful”
Review of Pil Pil Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pil Pil Hostel
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I spent in this Hostel a whole week and they made me feel like at home.
Really cozy place, colorful decoration and new facilities.
The location is quite good, metro and tram station right opposite the building.

Highly recommended if you visit Bilbao

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 233PeterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this hostel and it was full every single night. It was very clean, beds and linen were clean and comfy. Free wifi and nice showers/bathrooms. The breakfast is very basic, bread and jam or cereal. Free tea and coffee at all times, nice touch. Located right across the street from a metro station whcih is nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabeth1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I only stayed for one night, but was quite satisfied! Great location, right around the corner from the bus/train station. Hostel was clean, room was spacious and the wi-fi connection was good. Staffers were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic (cereal, white bread, Cola-Cao), so I supplemented mine with fruit from a nearby supermarket, and was good to go.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Lee Santamera would reccomend this hostel to anyone. Very helpful staff, excellent locale. I will no doubt return here someday. I parficularly like the no noise after 12 rule, do your partying in town & then rest up at Pil Pil. 10/10

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Nothing bad to say really. Basic hostel breakfast, free WiFi and plenty of showers/toilets to use (though the hostel wasn't crowded during our visit). Great for backpackers and couples who are looking for an inexpensive place to stay overnight! The location is good, 15-20min walk from the Old Town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

good: cleanless and beds.

bad: there is a common room but you cant stay there after 00:00. you cant even talk inside your room after this time! the hostel's guy said we must be quit. we were just talking.
After the checkout you CANT stay in this hostel to wait your bus, aeroplane or whatever. We had to wait outside our flight time.

Im travelling around Spain and it was the WORST hostel we've been.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipebreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilPilHostel, Owner at Pil Pil Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear guest , thanks for your opinion, I'm very sorry that your general impression of our Hostel is that different than the others reviews listed below on TripAdvisor, please let me clarify some items you have mentioned on your review and apparently didn't get properly. When you register in a Hostel/Hotel you have expressly accept our terms and conditions (by ticking the accept terms and conditions point, and signing below), this is a list of basic principles of convivence in order of staying with us, LIKE the common area is open until 00h, It means that you can't stay there due our goal of grant a peaceful rest for the others guests, the same applies when you're sharing a room and perhaps you are not noticing this fact, but you guys were chatting out loud. The second point you have mentioned about checking out and staying after, in many occasions guests (luckily you can ask to other tripadvisors reviewers) they have wait for their planes/buses at the Hostel, but in some cases, as It was kindly explained to you, the Hostel is full and if all the guests who did check-out stay at the Hostel, and all the guests who check-in comes to the Hostel, we have the double amount of people legally allowed and the quality of the service decreases, is a matter of common sense to understand this point and i trust you are understanding it now.
Thanks again for your valuable review. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

It's a brand new hostel, by Laura & gang. Just 5 minutes walk from bus station (Termibus). Metro, Tram, Bus stop are 2 minutes walk. Perfect spot. 10 minutes walk north bound to river bank where there is park to almost all attractions of Bilbao sited.

It has small court in the back for some relaxing and chatting. It provides breakfast and friendly atmosphere. they provide you with city events and suggestion for out of town travel. The bus station is close enough for you to catch bus to other cities or airport (aeroporto).

I really love it and pleased to recommend this hostel to anyone visit Bilbao

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GogorU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,096 reviews
ILUNION Bilbao
#22 of 42 in Bilbao
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indautxu
NH Bilbao Zubialde
NH Bilbao Zubialde
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
864 reviews
Abando
Poshtel Bilbao Premium Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pil Pil Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pil Pil Hostel

Address: Av. Sabino Arana 14, 48013 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Bilbao
Price Range: £13 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the ONE!, We're a cozy hostel with the BEST LOCATION in BILBAO!Just a 4 minute walk from the Bus Station TERMIBUS (Airport Bus' stop) and the San Mames Train Station! Moreover, we are a 30 SECOND walk from the Metro Station San Mames, 30 SECOND walk from the Tram Stop Sabino Arana, 8 Minute walk from the Euskalduna Congress Center, 15 Minutes walk from GUGGENHEIM Museum and a 1 MINUTE walk from the SAN MAMES FOOTBALL Arena.Comfortable duvet, pillow, bed linen (Our BEDS are 10 CENTIMETERS LARGER than regular ones, Your confort is a MUST to Us) and TOWEL, and just as at HOME, SHOWER GEL and SHAMPOO is on Us. Safety Deposits are available.Every day from 7 - 11 am we serve an all you can eat massive breakfast (YUMMY Croissants included), which is way above the typical hostel standard.PIL PIL Hostel offers our guests Free Internet & WiFi and a modern Kitchen directly connected to our common area, get relaxed and enjoy our SHARING LIBRARY, where guests share guides and tips for visiting Bilbao, as well as other books.And last but definitely not least, Our STUNNING and UNIQUE URBAN PATIO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pil Pil Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing