We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”
Review of Pil Pil Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pil Pil Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very happy”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our first hostel we had stayed in and it was excellent. Very clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful - they didn't mind answering our many questions about where to go! Bilbao is relatively small so it didn't matter that this hostel wasn't directly in the hustle and bustle of the main part. We walked to places like the Guggenheim which took about 10-15 minutes and was very pleasant. Tram stop directly outside the hostel and 5 minutes from the central bus station in Bilbao. Would really reccomend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    48
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
16
64
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have started my Camino de Santiago from Bilbao and this hostal was the first stop on my way. Location is very good 3-5 minutes walk from bus station and metro station. also you can easy get the centre by walk, many restaurants and supermarkets a re not far from here. Very clean and well-designed. Great staff! They kept my big bag whole month at the storage when I when my camino with my backpack. Also they allowed to order the guide book to the Hostal address. Nice lounge with the small and well-equipment kitchen. Wi-fi is free and available in the lounge. And there is small nice courtyard. You can observe local life behind you)) Good value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed at the room which has directly door to the courtyard. Very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowWildkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for the duration of the bbk live festival.
It was a great hostel for the price, the rooms and showers were very clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We met some awesome people of all different nationalities. The beds are comfy and the breakfast is good considering the price of the stay.

The main reason we didn't camp is because we wanted lockers to store our valuables and plane tickets etc. This hostel has a fairly large secure locker for each guest.

We aim to stay here again next year. Fantastic overall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanius111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Absolutely loved staying with these guys. Staff were all SO friendly and helpful, masses of advice on food/night life/places to go. The hostel itself is very central in terms of shops and the city, it was also amazingly clean! I would definitely recommend this place, hugely impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Everything is very clean, delicious breakfast. Near to Guggenheim museum and the bus central station of Bilbao. The subway station is in front of the main. The staff is young people very kind and pleasant. I will back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nachomontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I arrived there at 23:30. The service was slow and not good at all. There are asking 19,50 Euros for a bed&breakfast. However, the breakfast consists in toasts and juice where the other hostels offer better breakfats and the night are cheaper.

There's no activity, the ambiance is pretty much dead and you can't be in the living room after midnight.

Very clean though and close to the bus station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenoitLovesPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Me and a couple of friends were here for few days, is a Great Hostel, Everything is so new, and the Hostel is always very clean.
There are a sunny backyard inside pretty cool, perfect to chill.
Rooms are quite spacious with locker included. teh lockers are not too big but enought for personal pertenences

I recomend this Hostel If you wanna visit Bilbao

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
ILUNION Bilbao
#18 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pil Pil Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pil Pil Hostel

Property: Pil Pil Hostel
Address: Av. Sabino Arana 14, 48013 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the ONE!, We're a cozy hostel with the BEST LOCATION in BILBAO!Just a 4 minute walk from the Bus Station TERMIBUS (Airport Bus' stop) and the San Mames Train Station! Moreover, we are a 30 SECOND walk from the Metro Station San Mames, 30 SECOND walk from the Tram Stop Sabino Arana, 8 Minute walk from the Euskalduna Congress Center, 15 Minutes walk from GUGGENHEIM Museum and a 1 MINUTE walk from the SAN MAMES FOOTBALL Arena.Comfortable duvet, pillow, bed linen (Our BEDS are 10 CENTIMETERS LARGER than regular ones, Your confort is a MUST to Us) and TOWEL, and just as at HOME, SHOWER GEL and SHAMPOO is on Us. Safety Deposits are available.Every day from 7 - 11 am we serve an all you can eat massive breakfast (YUMMY Croissants included), which is way above the typical hostel standard.PIL PIL Hostel offers our guests Free Internet & WiFi and a modern Kitchen directly connected to our common area, get relaxed and enjoy our SHARING LIBRARY, where guests share guides and tips for visiting Bilbao, as well as other books.And last but definitely not least, Our STUNNING and UNIQUE URBAN PATIO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pil Pil Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing