We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful small B&B”
Review of Basque Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basque Boutique
Ranked #5 of 26 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break. Located deep in the heart of the old town, which is full of charm and character. Rooms are all themed, beautifully furnished, comfortable, clean and generally good. Free wifi. This is not a full service hotel, but who needs that when there are great cafés and restaurants all around? Good service, efficient booking. Can't fault it and highly recommend it as a place to stay. Good value too.....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndrewAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very nice hotel in Bilbao, the reception staff gave me everything i need and a really kind attitude. it is located in old town area in the city, bars, restaurant and not too far to walk to city center, you also can take the tram or bus, it's really convenient. I love especially the interior design concept in my room. It was a lovely hotel in Bilbao, i had a great time. Definitely recommend!!!

Room Tip: just choose the design concept, each room has own different city element of Bilbao
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband booked a weekend to Bilbao as a surprise for my 50th birthday. Having made the booking via an internet booking site, he emailed the hotel directly and told them about my special day and asked if they could please provide a bottle of champagne in the room for our arrival as a special touch. They point-blank refused! No 'sorry' or explanation as to why this wasn't possible. Just a straight 'no'! He told me about this after we'd arrived and I was a little disappointed with the hotel after that. Yes, it is in a lovely location. Yes the rooms are quirky and individually designed and yes, on the whole it was a great experience. But even if you accept that a boutique hotel (or any hotel) is not in a position to provide little extras, my husband's argument was that surely they could have just popped to the nearby supermarket to get a bottle. With only a handful of rooms, and reception only manned part-time it hardly seemed like a big request. So my advice would be to go there and enjoy for what it is...but if it's a really special occasion and you want any special requests carried out, choose a bigger hotel with a better customer service outlook.

Room Tip: Not sure, given my review if they would give you a requested room, but worth a try. We had the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely small hotel in the old part of the town, surrounded by bars, restaurants and cute shops. This B&B only offers 'rooms', no 'breakfast' but you easily find places to have breakfast. Try a 'croissant à la plancha'!! The rooms are arty in a funny way, clean, great 'warm' shower soil and - for the ladies - there is a powerful hairdryer & qualitative towels available! & Free wifi. There's no reception but you receive the entrance code in advance by mail.
Some addresses I recommend when in the old town: the best pinxtos you find in Berton's, Calle Jardines 11 (try the mushrooms with aioli!!), if you have more budget to spend go to 'Victor' on the Plaza Nueva and a bar just behind the corner is 'Lamiak', run by cheerful artistic ladies.
A nice discovery with a fair price/ quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heidi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here for one night and loved the decor,location and price.Beautiful tiling in the bathroom and good big shower.Bed linen and towels were very good and the beds very comfy.
A coffee machine or some way of making a cup of tea or coffee would be great.We would definitely stay here again and our friends already have!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joangallagher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here in late July 2013 - haven't got around to raving about this place. Just loved it. Like other guests, we wandered past it when trying to locate it for check in - it is a discreet entrance and security panel to enter is not immediately obvious if strolling by. The rooms are unique and the modern design is playful. The beds are really comfortable and having A/C is a bonus. The bathrooms are roomy (with proper hairdryer) and the location is fantastic in the old part of town. I loved this place when I first saw it on the web and it definitely lived up to expectations. Go ahead and book this place, if you are wishing to stay in the old town - it's a lively place and the Basque Boutique hotel is a great little haven just up above the bustle of the old town.

Room Tip: The corner room we had was light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CurlyWire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This B&B actually only offers "a bed", not "a breakfast". But that's not a problem whatsoever: this little B&B is situated in the center of the old part of Bilbao so lots of little pubs and restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner! The rooms are delightful (nice decorated), beds are very good!

The B&B is a bit hard to find but if look up, you will surely see the "Basque Boutique" sign.
Tip: if you come with your own car, park at the public parking called "Parking El Arenal", just a lovely 10 minute walk to Basque Boutique.

5 stars because of the price/quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pimmetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basque Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basque Boutique

Address: C/ La Torre, 2 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range: £51 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Basque Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Basque Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing