We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basque Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basque Boutique
Ranked #3 of 25 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The place is awesome, modern, tidy, clean. The location is very convenient , nearby you have all you need- subway, shops, bars etc.
And you should be familiar with Bilbao and basque culture to get a hint of the rooms. We were staying in Gernika room and it was super.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okaty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    52
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
111
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

we have just checked out of this hotel... early.. as we have been awake since 6 in the morning anyway.. due to the extreme loud work men outside.
we have been here for 3 nights.. and not slept a wink.
this is such ashame.. as this hotel is amazing. very quirky and excellent facilities. the decor is magical and the set up is fantastic.
great location. .. lots of bars and restaurants to go too. and plenty of shopping.
definitely would come again.. but make sure you dont go in april.. as not very hot.. and if you stay here.. please ask if the building work is still going on... because myself and the other 5 if the group with me.. have not slept a wink for th We whole 3 days. absolutely terrible! !!!!!!! very very noisy! !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We loved the photos we saw online and as the Basque Boutique is also in a beautiful part of the city and surrounded by bars and restaurants we chose this hotel for a long w/end in February. We arrived on a big fiesta (still not sure what it was exactly; everyone was adamant it was NOT a government holiday, but something local and to do with trade associations.....)and late on the Friday night so the streets were full of very happy people in fancy dress - this was lucky as from the street Basque Boutique is INVISIBLE, no sign or anything, but we were able to ask for directions and half a dozen young men fell over themselves to take us to the door.( Look for yellow advertising signs in the windows on either side of the main door.) Reception is self-service but organised and no problem. We had asked for their Picasso/Guernika room but they would not promise in advance, however when we arrived this was the room we had. A good start. The room was smaller than we'd expected from the photos but fine for us. We had a "Juliet" balcony and the bathroom was clean and modern. It rained all weekend but the room was warm enough to dry out between trips and we had a hairdryer. Despite all the street bands and partying we didn't fid it too noisy, enjoyable to hear people having a good time. Our only quibble really was that there were no facilities to make tea or coffee, not in the room and not anywhere else in the communal sitting-room, which made early morning medication/waking-up a slight problem. There are a lot of bars and cafes close by so once up and dressed we could quickly get hot drinks, but we are sluggish first thing without some caffeine. A good place to stay, clever decoration and delightful helpful staff and right in the centre of the old town. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms are themed on Bilbao & the Basques so all quite interesting, you might want to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisand69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend break. Located deep in the heart of the old town, which is full of charm and character. Rooms are all themed, beautifully furnished, comfortable, clean and generally good. Free wifi. This is not a full service hotel, but who needs that when there are great cafés and restaurants all around? Good service, efficient booking. Can't fault it and highly recommend it as a place to stay. Good value too.....

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very nice hotel in Bilbao, the reception staff gave me everything i need and a really kind attitude. it is located in old town area in the city, bars, restaurant and not too far to walk to city center, you also can take the tram or bus, it's really convenient. I love especially the interior design concept in my room. It was a lovely hotel in Bilbao, i had a great time. Definitely recommend!!!

Room Tip: just choose the design concept, each room has own different city element of Bilbao
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband booked a weekend to Bilbao as a surprise for my 50th birthday. Having made the booking via an internet booking site, he emailed the hotel directly and told them about my special day and asked if they could please provide a bottle of champagne in the room for our arrival as a special touch. They point-blank refused! No 'sorry' or explanation as to why this wasn't possible. Just a straight 'no'! He told me about this after we'd arrived and I was a little disappointed with the hotel after that. Yes, it is in a lovely location. Yes the rooms are quirky and individually designed and yes, on the whole it was a great experience. But even if you accept that a boutique hotel (or any hotel) is not in a position to provide little extras, my husband's argument was that surely they could have just popped to the nearby supermarket to get a bottle. With only a handful of rooms, and reception only manned part-time it hardly seemed like a big request. So my advice would be to go there and enjoy for what it is...but if it's a really special occasion and you want any special requests carried out, choose a bigger hotel with a better customer service outlook.

Room Tip: Not sure, given my review if they would give you a requested room, but worth a try. We had the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely small hotel in the old part of the town, surrounded by bars, restaurants and cute shops. This B&B only offers 'rooms', no 'breakfast' but you easily find places to have breakfast. Try a 'croissant à la plancha'!! The rooms are arty in a funny way, clean, great 'warm' shower soil and - for the ladies - there is a powerful hairdryer & qualitative towels available! & Free wifi. There's no reception but you receive the entrance code in advance by mail.
Some addresses I recommend when in the old town: the best pinxtos you find in Berton's, Calle Jardines 11 (try the mushrooms with aioli!!), if you have more budget to spend go to 'Victor' on the Plaza Nueva and a bar just behind the corner is 'Lamiak', run by cheerful artistic ladies.
A nice discovery with a fair price/ quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Hotel Miro
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basque Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basque Boutique

Property: Basque Boutique
Address: C/ La Torre, 2 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Basque Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Basque Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing