We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good price for Bilbao.”
Review of Pension Mardones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Mardones
Ranked #19 of 25 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good price for Bilbao.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed a total of 4 nights at this pension in October. It is certainly nothing fancy, at all. Completely function over form but worth the price. Situated in the center of Casco Viejo and across from numerous yummy restaurants and shopping you couldn't ask for a better location. It was always a short walk to find a good breakfast, lunch or dinner. Bilbao can be a very expensive city and I was happy to pay less for a clean, simple room so that I could afford to eat the good food.

Room Tip: If you want quiet room then get a room toward the back of the building. If you want to see the actio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HodgeAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
11
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Pension Mardones is perfectly located in the old town. Walking distance to all the major sights and the main train station. It's a short tram ride to the bus station if you are travelling this way.
Bilbao itself exceeded all expectations, it's a beautiful city!
My only criticism is the size and comfort of the "double" bed. Two people cannot sleep comfortably in a bed that size and the mattress was obviously very old with springs sticking into you.
It was very noisy at night, but we were expecting that from others reviews.
The staff were difficult to pin down when needed and don't speak any English.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The Pension Madrones might seem a tad overpriced at first, but, surprisingly, it is not. The location is unbelievably good, the building is situated in a narrow street in the middle of the older part of the city, and the building itself, with its porcelain wall decorations and stairways made of dark polished wood, possesses a great air of antiquity about it.

Pros:
- Magnificent location: as I looked out of the window, I often caught myself thinking that I am on a movie set. The conversations and songs from the nearby cafes create a very relaxed, yet colourful ambiance.
- The proprietor is a very refined gentleman — courteous, charismatic and helpful. I have booked the wrong type of apartment by mistake and he exchanged it for an ensuite one as an act of sheer courtesy. Most appreciated.
- The building is very old, and it is presented in style: wooden floors, carved wooden furniture, antique window frames... It is full of character and inspires a thoughtful, romantic mood.
- The room I have stayed in was very large, huge by hostel standards.

Cons:
- Somehow they have failed to install any wall fixture to hold the shower, which renders the whole thing barely functional. The shower is still usable, but uncomfortable and inefficient to say the least.
- The Wi-Fi signal in my room was somewhat weak. The connection worked but was not that fast or reliable.

Things to Keep in Mind:
- It might get a tad noisy at night due to all the cafes and bars surrounding the place. Personally, I found that it contributed to the overall atmosphere, and it never affected my sleep, yet if you are looking for an absolutely quiet place you might want to consider this.

Verdict:
- Despite the somewhat flaky WiFi signal and the inability to use the shower properly, the outstanding character and exceptional atmosphere the place offers, as well as a remarkably pleasant host, yield Pension Mardones a solid 5.

Room Tip: I have stayed in Room 8 and I could recommend it - a huge room with a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeroHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Standard basic room without any trappings, but the location is fantastic - in the middle of the old town. It did get quite noisy at nights, but overall I'd recommend this place for the location alone!

Room Tip: Choose an outward facing room if you want to see what's going on in the street for atmosphere, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_H_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed in a double ensuite and whilst it was basic it was clean and tidy. Location is excellent with many bars, restaurants and shops on the doorstep and a very short walk to the metro. The Guggenheim again was a 15minute walk away or a 5 minute metro ride. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only downsides are that it was quite noisy, and difficult to find when we first arrived. Overall for a short stay and a place to sleep its great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyw1687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in late April.
The location in the cask viejo is excellent, near bars and great streets. We have stayed in the centre of old towns before and expect noise, especially on weekends. However, your quality of sleep will depend more on your neighbors. The floorboards are nice, but very creaky, people walking around can wake up light sleepers. Then the walls are very thin and any conversation can be heard. Then the garbage truck comes down the street at 8ish, collecting the many empty bottles. Quite a racket! The bathroom is small, but that's ok for such accommodation, but a hook to hold the shower head would be appreciated, as would soap be.
The positives are, great location, great wifi, very clean throughout, room made up every day and fair value overall. When we stayed it was full and if you got a room towards the back, not street facing, noise may be not such a problem.

Room Tip: The street view from the second floor balcony is nice, but go for the back rooms if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
402 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed there for two nights in September 2011.
It is a small pension in Bilbao.
Location is perfect: in the Casco Viejo. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
However, the room and the bathroom were very small. The window faced a wall in a very small internal courtyard. No AC or ceiling fan (just a small portable electric fan). It was really hot and quite noisy at night.
Being in a pedestrian-only area, private parking is not available (public parking 5/10 minutes walk from the pension).
Price was not cheap but probably acceptable given the location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcogi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Roquefer
Roquefer
#13 of 25 in Bilbao
49 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Pension Manoli
Pension Manoli
#21 of 25 in Bilbao
9 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Quartier Bilbao Hostel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilbo Zaharra
Pension de la Fuente
Pension de la Fuente
#23 of 25 in Bilbao
53 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Iturrienea Ostatua
Iturrienea Ostatua
#6 of 25 in Bilbao
179 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Casual Bilbao Gurea
Casual Bilbao Gurea
#1 of 25 in Bilbao
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Mardones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Mardones

Property: Pension Mardones
Address: c/ Jardines n. 4 20 y 30 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored house, oak beams exposed, endearing. 11 Rooms with bathroom,7 Rooms without bathroom heating and TV. Next to the metro, trams, trains and buses, to 5 'of the Guggenheim. Area wealth of architectural, shops and restaurants pintxos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Mardones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing