We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and efficient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hesperia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hesperia Bilbao
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Well located and efficient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Its a ten minute walk to the old town and main shopping areas, overlooks the river and is convenient for el gugg museum. I wouldn't stay longer than two days in Bilbao - it is well connected and there are more interesting places across Cantabria and the basque country.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robespierre1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    692
    185
    48
    18
See reviews for
234
699
90
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We chose the hotel because of the location just opposite the Guggenheim Museum and close to everything else in the city. We had asked for a room that did not face the road, and we therefore slept very well. The room has everything you need and the breakfast service is very good as well, if you don´t arrive at the breakfast room too late on Saturdays and Sundays. I´ll return next time I visit Bilbao.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Reino Unido
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

First of all I'd recommend Bilbao to anyone, not just for the Guggenheim although that is amazing. The old town is gorgeous, food and drink cheap and very good. Lovley clean city with plenty to do and a great mix of old and modern.
The Hesperia is on the riverside opposite Guggenheim and down a bit, usually hotels with great locations just rely on that, not here. Service was quick, correct and friendly, room was a little small but not enough to put me off staying there again, decor lovely and clean. The restaurant was very well priced and the food was amazing. And a bottle of wine in the bar was only 10 euro! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
1 Thank Dazmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scrunchybaby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had booked 2 rooms, one double with cot and one double with an extra bed. Unfortunately they did not have family rooms so my baby stayed in a cot in our room and our 2 year old stayed on a pul up bed in my parents room which worked out fine. Our rooms were next to each other.
Nice modern decor of room, although no view, just another wall...and lovely bathrooms (although plenty of bathroom goodies, including a very nice baby pouch with sponge and shampoo etc,) there was no shampoo for us, just a big pump by the bath with shower gel.
Breakfast was very good with a large choice of healthy uptions as well as eggs and bacon. Great coffee too with a make your own espresso/capuccino machine that grinds it all fresh for you.
Restaurant in the evning was fine, nothing spectacular with a very small menu. Nice trendy bar area which seemed popular.
It´s location is great, just over the bridge and in 10 minutes walk you´re at the foot of the Guggenheim museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. We had a very dull view on 3rd floor of another building´s wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrunchybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
376 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel was clean, and new (as of July 2012). Though the room a tad small. And our room didn't face the river, but an empty courtyard and into other rooms.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
Great location: 10 minutes walk east of Old Quarters, 5 minutes walk west of Guggenheim, 10 minutes walk south of commercial shopping.

Bilbao is small. Everything is within walking distance.
People were nice, friendly, warm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The location is amazing. It is right on the river and you can see both the Guggenheim museum (5mins walk) in one direction and the new pedestrian bridge (2mins walk) in the other. The old town is less than a mile away further along the river.
We booked through late rooms and were upgraded. The room we stayed in was clean, well equipped and very big.
One downside was that the bar/restaurant lacked atmosphere but there are so many other places to eat in Bilbao that we didn't have more than a sandwich and a beer there anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Situated in a fabulous location. On the river front and just a short stroll from the Guggenheim Museum and also the old quarter of Bilbao. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was great. The rooms were very clean and facilities were great. On the plus side the minibar was free.
Bus terminus about 15 minute walk away. Easy to find. Friendly and helpful staff here. Hopped on a bus for San Sebastian. Lovely drive through mountain region. San Sebastian was absolutely beautiful and we had a great day here.
All in all we had a fantastic stay in Bilbao and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriennelynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#7 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Bilbao

Property: Hesperia Bilbao
Address: Campo Volantin, 28 | Castanos, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Castaños
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hesperia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing