We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I want from a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hesperia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hesperia Bilbao
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what I want from a hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from the Hesperia and found it was a clean, modern hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly, when I checked in the guy on reception gave me a map on which he highlighted the main tourist attractions.
I never had breakfast but found several places around the hotel to get pintxos at very reasonable prices.
I would recommend an upgrade to the river view rooms, it was well worth it for the extra cost.
I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    707
    186
    48
    18
See reviews for
236
709
91
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast buffet had lots of vegetarian options and the location is unbeatable (right on the Ria). The hotel is also modern and the room we stayed in was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend and would recommend it. The rooms were very clean and well equipped although my husband was disappointed that there were no tea and coffee facilities. There were free toiletries.We stayed in room 416 and did not pay for the river upgrade. The weather was awful, but even so I'm not sure it is worth the money. We had a side view of the river which was fine. Breakfast was very good, there was plenty of choice including, cereal, fresh fruit, breads, cakes and pastries. There was also chocolate mouse if you wanted it! The location of the hotel is good, about 15 mins walk to the old town, and about the same to the new town centre. The Guggenheim was also about 10 minutes away along the river.
We found that there weren't many places to eat around the hotel, unless you wanted tapas in a small bar. As I said though the weather was awful so we didn't go too far from the hotel in search of food. There was a supermarket nearby for water etc. The funicular railway was also only a few minutes behind the hotel. The hotel bar does do food, but it was quite expensive.
Bilbao was nice and if I could guarantee better weather then we would probably return and if so would stay at the Hesperia again.

Room Tip: we liked 416
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It was certainly a good idea to get a riverview room, which was spacious and quiet. It was great watching the trams, buses, people and the weather! We could also see the amazing Guggenheim Museum and the Calatrava Bridge. The breakfast was good but we preferred slipping out to places nearby for tapas and drinks etc! The location of Bilbao was a real surprise as we didn't appreciate it was hilly and a trip up the nearby funicular gave us a good view of everything. We also recommend a trip by metro to the Transporter Bridge, which is in an interesting, historic area outside the city.

Room Tip: riverview room worth it! Ours was on the third floor. The bay window gave us a good view of what was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyW858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel! Excellent location, near to lots of the attractions of Bilbao, very clean, delicious breakfast and the best customer care by hotel staff I have ever encountered, they made our stay so very special by upgrading my mothers room as it was her birthday... Thank you to all the wonderful staff for a fantastic stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here in summer 2012 I decided to return for five nights with my partner. On booking I had requested a large double room but on arrival we were given a small room with a very small double bed. The room was also boiling and on investigation we discovered that the air con only blew out hot air. On requesting a change of room we were given what I had originally asked for without issue but the receptionist insisted that the air con in the whole hotel was hot in winter and cold in summer! Rubbish. We also had breakfast included. Although the variety was good, they seemed understaffed to such a point that replenishments were few and far between. Also there was a sign on each table stating a fresh fried breakfast could be requested with pleasure yet on asking we had to insist, even pointing to the card on the table stating this service. The waitress pointed at the already cold bacon and egg on the buffet bar as if to say we should have had that! Location cannot be moaned about but the overall customer care and service can be. My advice: try petit palace up the road!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This modern hotel is located right at the river across the Guggenheim museum, great location,
The room are spacious, with great beds and beautiful bathrooms, there is a parking right under the hotel which is great, the breakfast buffet was un spanish, so many choices, a wonderful hotel,where we will love to come back next time in beautiful Bilbao

Room Tip: Request an upgrade for a riverview premium room formonly 13 euros per night, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardLVDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#5 of 43 in Bilbao
1,210 reviews
Indautxu
Hesperia Zubialde
Hesperia Zubialde
#9 of 43 in Bilbao
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Bilbao

Property: Hesperia Bilbao
Address: Campo Volantin, 28 | Castanos, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Castaños
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, NHHotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing