We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, modern hotel close to The Guggenheim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good, modern hotel close to The Guggenheim”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited Bilbao primarily to go to The Guggenheim, so wanted a hotel that was close by. The Hesperia is on the other side of the river, but is an easy 10 minute walk away from the museum, and we manage to get around everywhere else we wanted to go to on foot.

The hotel is only a few years old, and the design is clean and modern, a bit trendy, but comfortable and welcoming too. Our rooms were good, not huge, but clean, comfortable and quiet, and the wi-fi signal ok.

We did not eat in the hotel, but the service in the bar was efficient and friendly.

Good value hotel with nice staff and comfortable rooms. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperTim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    715
    188
    48
    18
See reviews for
242
720
93
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel. If I were to use 1 word to describe our experience it would be FANTASTIC. Our room was a suite on the 6th floor which gave us all the space we needed as a family, very clean and excellent comfy beds. The range of food and drinks were great and excellent value for money. But what made the hotel visit the best was its friendly and helpful staff who were always on hand. I would highly recommend this hotel to others and would defiantly return for another visit.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a front room if views are important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinnerup, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just spent 10 fantastic days at this hotel.
The wedding we Were invited to Was also Heald here at the hotel ,the whole experiance was beyond our expectations ,everything from the staff at recepetion to the waiters and bar staff Were so kind and friendly.
The food was perfect in every way (great breakfast buffet, snacks and tapas in the bar and a.la carte in the restaurant as well as the wonderfull menu for the wedding ).
We had a junior suite With an extra room(2 adults and 4 kids)
Great beds and the views just great to wake up to each morning.
Very clean and tidy hotel housekeeping very helpfull to.

Room Tip: Book a room With the view it worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

1. Great location - almost opposite the magnificent Frank Gehry Guggenheim. Easy to get in and out of Bilbao.

2. Rooms - basic and a little like an IKEA show room. That said it was clean and the beds comfortable.

3. Breakfast - best value at €12 per person. Provided guests with great coffee and ample choice.

4. Reception - young staff were a pleasure to deal with. The elder members were great once you engaged with them but otherwise a little grumpy.

I will probably return but might seek out alternatives.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Your_Secret_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel to go to BBK festival (taxi journey away-around 12 euro). I am assuming that is why we paid through the nose. Location was good-walking distance to city centre, 5 minutes from the bus station and within walking distance of the Guggenheim museum. Wifi is so weak there is no point in having it in the hotel. Printing facilities in the reception are handy though. Our friends highly recommend the breakfast which is reasonably priced if you book the night before.
The staff were friendly,the rooms clean and there was air con. Our friends room on the 3rd floor was far nicer than ours (305) so perhaps request that you are not on the ground floor where we were.
Room service was fine if a little cold. Overall a bit underwhelmed by the hotel but if the price is right I would certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived about 10pm and received a lovely welcome from very helpful staff. If you book breakfast the night before it only costs 11 euros and was well worth it: excellent buffet. Bar food in evening (ham and cheese plate) was superb. Loved the room: so spacious, comfortable bed with gorgeous orange scented toiletries. In the morning we went to the Guggenheim which was a short walk away. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good hotel, rooms were quite spacy and the staff is courteous. Hotel has a garage below and has a broad ramp (have that seen differently). Breakfast is good enough, not exceptional. WiFi is available in the rooms themselves.Hotel is located at walking distance to Guggenheim.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#6 of 42 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Indautxu
NH Bilbao Zubialde
NH Bilbao Zubialde
#8 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Ria de Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Ria de Bilbao

Property: NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Address: Campo Volantin, 28, 48007 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Bilbao)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Castaños
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Ria de Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, NHHotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Ria de Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing