We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Basic hotel, very reasonable price. Clean, spare, quiet hotel in the Old Town. Basic accommodation at excellent price. If you have a car, parking at Arenal at 16E per day. With GPS, easy in and out of the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room over the "alley". With the window closed it was very quiet. I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of the old town. The rooms are spacious and have good beds. Unfortunately the bathroom isn't well cleaned, breakfast very basic/cheap and our room didn't have an outdoor window (we looked into an air shaft)...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ammelientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This tourist class hotel was ideally situated in the very center of the beautiful and busy Bilbao. The room had just enough space for two people and the amenities were quite agreeable with a simple but good breakfast. There were no noices from outside, not in the day or night time. The venue must have been lately renovated, because everything looked so clean and tidy.The staff was friendly and smiling willing to open you the (all the times locked) hotel door, no matter how many times you went in and out. That made me feel quite safe and raised my confidence towards the accommodation provider.There was not an actual restaurant in the hotel, but no matter, because the neighbourhood was full of excellent food serving restaurants and bars. In fact those bars nearby were the most exciting to pop in to have some tapas with beer. Some of those old town (city center) restaurants were however quite expensive, but you can easily find a good local food serving venues with moderate prices.
The city itself was so beautiful and seemed to be well organized with the working public transportation and sanitation.
Vale la pena visitar!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

You have to put in comments, otherwise you may get twin beds, without possibility to change once arrived!

Also phonic isolation is non existent, I almost woke up in the night since it felt like neighbors where entering my own room!

There has to be better hotels out there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

If only I´d taken photos ...

I couldn´t imagine, when I first started using this site, that there could possibly be such awful hotels out there ... but this hotel truly horrified me.

Rubbish in the foyer in zara bags and others, dirty walls, halls with sensor lights, a receptionist that belonged in a monty python skit, and a disgusting room with entirely disturbing green walls. The hotel does not have airconditioning, as the details elsewhere suggest, but rudimentary fans ... Bad bad bad linen, disgusting wardrobes, no room safes.

It took about an hour of discussions to convince them that it really was intolerable and for the ´hotel´management to allow me to cancel my booking without paying the tariff.

The location is ok, but I have ended up staying well away from the old town, and if you want to visit the guggenheim, then the old town is too far away, anyway. The lovely receptionists at tryp arenal agreed it was awful, and I´ve ended up at a five star locale elsewhere....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexiswandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed here Aug 2008 for a week long trip to Bilbao. In spite of either of Myself or Anna speaking any Spanish (let alone Basque) we felt welcomed and appreciated. The room was modernly styled, blacks and creams if i recall correctly and our stay was comfy. We were at the front of the hotel 1st/2nd floor overlooking the street. we didnt encounter noise issues from this, inspite of the Aste Nagustia festival kicking off halfway through our stay. We did hear some creaking from the floorboards above us a few times alright.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pendragon_y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The walls are paper thin, the floor creeks as if it were hundreds of years old, and the windows open to a enclosed atrium (at least our inside rooms did) so no fresh air, but all that could have been overlooked if the AC had worked properly. Unfortunatley, during our 3 night stay, the AC malfunctioned every day. On our first night, the room was so hot and stuffy upon arrival that we turned on the AC and expected to come back to a cool room. Upon return the room was hot, stuffy, and 29 degrees celcius according to my clock's temperature gage. The first manager we complained to was unable to do anything and insisted that the air was getting cooler after she turned the AC unit off and back on in my room. It wasn't until a night manager came on duty that he fiddled with the hotel's AC system and got it working. Power outages caused the machine to fail the second night but on the third day the machine simply failed again and staff admitted tha tthe hotel's AC system was very old. On the first night, the rooms were not habitable and we had to wait outside until past midnight for the room to finally cool down.

The rooms were basic 2 star rooms, clean but with few amentiies (no mini-bar, no in-room safe, only the hotel's main safe). The location inside the old quarter is fantastic and there are a host of nice restaurants and bars just outside the door. The hotel staff were friendly and there's a 5 euro continental breakfast available. For the price, 50-75 euro a night, this place would be great but for the air conditioning problems. In Spain in the summer a 2 star hotel should have a working air conditioning system, especially if the rooms don't have access to fresh circulating outside air. The stuffy, suffocating room made my elderly father ill and we were prepared to sleep in the lobby rather than return to the rooms until the AC was working properly. The AC needs to get replaced.

On a minor note, I felt that the hotel clerk who checked us out early in the morning and called a taxi for us to take us to the airport should have apprised us of the fact that the airport didn't even open until over an hour later. We waited in the dark on an uncomfortable bench outside the darkened terminals for over 45 minutes, without access to toilets, water, phones, etc. We are used to 24/7 airports and had we known the airport was closed, we would have remained in our rooms for a while longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoundtripLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,139 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#19 of 42 in Bilbao
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Hotel Sirimiri
#26 of 42 in Bilbao
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilbao Jardines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilbao Jardines Hotel

Address: Jardines 9 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bilbao Jardines Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bilbao Jardines is situated in the center of Bilbao . It's a quiet place in the old town. We offer to our guests confort, relax and our best service in our modern hotel. Our location is perfect for visit touristic places like Guggenheim Museum , Arriaga Teatre ,Euskalduna Congres centre. Wifi free avaliable and breakfast optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bilbao Jardines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing