We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value hotel in Casco Viejo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilbao Jardines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
227 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel in Casco Viejo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It was not expensive, and some of the facilities were quite modest in reflection of the price. The breakfast was basic but quite sufficient. If you want a bigger feed while in Bilbao you only have to go next door to Berton or to any of the dozens of other great bars and restaurants round about. The shower in my room was small, with folding screens which were a bit flimsy. The floor of my room was squeaky, and that was even before I started enjoying lots of the Basque food around the city centre!

There were a lot more positive things about the hotel. The price was obviously a good feature, as was the location in Casco Viejo, the old part of Bilbao, just two blocks from Plaza Nueva. My room was in the middle of the hotel, and I barely heard the noise of the streets at night. The hotel staff were friendly and maintain security by generally keeping the hotel door locked, clicking it open when you appeared on the door step and pressed a button. I am not a cyclist myself, but noticed 2 bicycles for guests to use, a good idea.

The hotel is on a pedestrian street. However, taxis are available at a rank just around the corner on Plaza Arriaga, even at 08.30 on a Sunday morning when I was leaving for the airport. The fare was just over 25 euros, which did not seem bad if my memory of previous visits to Bilbao served me correctly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeelKippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    160
    71
    23
    8
See reviews for
55
103
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at this budget minded hotel. Room is spacious, clean and service staff always helpful. Always someone on duty to buzz you in. Our room on second floor (100s) was quite although located on busy street. Would definitely stay again. Really convenient.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D Ford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBilbaoJardines, Director de Recepción at Bilbao Jardines Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us again.
We hope you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment.
We hope to see you at an upcoming occasion. Greetings from Bilbao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Highly recommended. This hotel was competitively priced and in a great location for visiting the Guggenheim, the 'Old Town' and all key attractions. The included breakfast was of a reasonable standard and all staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My daughter & I stayed three nights at this hotel. Central location in the 'old town'. Tram, Metro & buses 2/3minute walk. Hotel very clean with friendly, helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel for any age group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is in the old part of town. We flew into Bilbao airport and got a bus from airport. Airport information gave us a map and marked the stops. Second stop was in the centre of Bilbao past the Guggenheim and just after a large roundabout. The hotel is 1k walk from here. If coming from Santander then our friends caught a bus and it was €7 for a taxi from bus station. Train station and metro are are just over the river. Hotel is clean, well run and comfortable. You are right beside loads of bars and restaurants. This was great value. No problems recommending this hotel. This was our first stop on our 2 day hike on the el Camino.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpsomSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location amid pintxo bars. Reception staff esecially Felix v friendly and helpful. You can walk everywhere from here, 15-20 mins walk along river to Guggenheim. Plaza Nueva 2 mins walk.Fantastic city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TONY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBilbaoJardines, Gerente at Bilbao Jardines Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for the visit. It is very nice to see that visitors to the hotel and the city have enjoyed the stay. Regards from Bilbao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very friendly staff. Rooms are basic but functional.

The location is terrific - right in the center of the Casco Viejo, but we arrived late and left early so we could not get the full benefit of it. Wish we had spent an extra night here to enjoy the location.

Also, the location is very tricky to get to if driving and thanks to the Santa Semana parade the police had blocked off all approaches to the hotel. We essentially had to scuttle the boat (our rental car!) and walk about 700m to the hotel.

There is an excellent bakery practically next door to the hotel where we had a light breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rj123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#17 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Abando
Hotel Artetxe
Hotel Artetxe
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Estrella Ostatu
#30 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilbao Jardines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilbao Jardines Hotel

Property: Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Address: Jardines 9 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bilbao Jardines Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bilbao Jardines is situated in the center of Bilbao . It's a quiet place in the old town. We offer to our guests confort, relax and our best service in our modern hotel. Our location is perfect for visit touristic places like Guggenheim Museum , Arriaga Teatre ,Euskalduna Congres centre. Wifi free avaliable and breakfast optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bilbao Jardines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing