We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
45
26
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
26
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room ideal location hotel is situated first floor casco viejo old city hosts midnight cereal toilet corridor metro noise breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Blue Bilbao is a small nine room bed and breakfast, located in a quiet side street almost right in the centre of Bilbao old town. It is literally a two minute walk to the nearest metro station Zazpikaleak Casco Viejo, which connects you to the main train station and bus station, as well as lots of other points of interest around the city. It is also only a very short walk away from Bilbao Cathedral, La Ribera market and the Bilbao Opera.

The property is clean, modern and safe and is located on the first floor of a wonderful old building with many original features in the lobby and corridors. Our room looked out onto a pleasant little courtyard, through a set of opening French doors.

The owners Mercedes and Pedro were very thoughtful and kind throughout our stay, and Mercedes had lots of local information to offer when we checked in. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Bilbao and would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dupweef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We were visiting Bilbao for the second time, primarily to watch the Champions Cup Final (Rugby union). Hotel Blue is perfectly adequate, being clean and well located and good value. Breakfast is toast/orange juice/tea/coffee/fruit. Again perfectly adequate. The only notable problem is that as the hotel is situated adjacent to residential flats, the neighbours, and the plumbing are quite noisy and the walls quite thin, so if you're a light sleeper make sure you've had a busy day and you're really tired otherwise you might be awake in the night. That said it was pretty quiet from midnight.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pdbonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

There are, I think , nine rooms on the first floor of a building in the old town. There is no car parking - we parked at Parking Arenal (E18 for 24 hrs) then trundled our case the approx 500 metres to the building. We received a very warm welcome from our hosts who were happy to show us round, give us a map and point out the various landmarks and recommendations. We had a large, airy room with ensuite and plenty of room for bed and desk. It also had French windows leading out to a small, glassed balcony overlooking the narrow street. Decor was bright and clean. There is free WiFi but it was painfully slow. Breakfast was simply cereal, tea and toast which you made yourself. This is not a luxury hotel but it is clean, well priced and in the centre of the old town.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank phils_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the heart of the old city just 2 minutes away from the metro station. We were welcomed by the owner who came downstairs to tell us the elevator wasn’t working at the moment. We had a very warm welcome which continued throughout our stay which made us feel very familiar. They provided us with all information we needed and also allowed us to leave our luggages a bit longer cause our flight was at night. The room (family) was very big and clean and the toilet was also spacious. The breakfast was very basic: toasts with marmalade and butter, coffee, juice, tea, chocolate etc. we were informed we could use the common kitchen whenever we liked. If there was something to add is that they could have put something more in the breakfast such as cereals or croissants.
The only downside i would mention is the noise that there is when the toilet is been used, like when you flush the toilet or in the bath and also that if the room is near the main entrance and the common room , there could be some noise.
I would really encourage everyone to stay here because of the ideal location in the city and the lovely owners who treated us very nicely, a thing not so common everywhere, which I highly appreciate.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank athena93bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Although a little difficult to find this hotel is located in the heart of the old town. Perfect base to explore Bilbao
The welcome was warm and we were shown to our room which was clean, comfortable and well maintained
Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast and although limited in choice it’s actually quite nice and you are surrounded by restaurants and bars if you want more
The hotel is situated near the metro and the famous seven streets
Great value for money and we wish we were staying another night
Thank you

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 191keithw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews