We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood and experience!”
Review of CASA CAMARA

CASA CAMARA
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Pasajes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$102
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At the entrance to the Port of Pasaia, in a 17th-century mansion, is the restaurant Casa Cámara. Diners can watch the coming and going of boats from its sea-facing dining room. Given its maritime character, the restaurant specialises in fish and seafood. In the aquarium in the centre of the dining room are different species of lobster which will later be enjoyed by diners. The restaurant was founded by Pablo Cámara in 1884 and has remained in the family ever since. It is currently run by the fourth generation.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We booked a few days before arriving and had no problems doing so by email. We arrived and were shown to a table overlooking the water of this historic restaurant. The polite staff helped us with choosing from the menu and similarly made a recommendation on a bottle of local Txakoli, a lightly sparkling white wine. It was a delight to be served by a professional team who clearly love what they do and who were managing people in Spanish, Basque, English and French, just in the tables adjacent to us.

The food was outstanding from starters through to dessert. This isn't a restaurant where you get served a piece of fish the size of a matchbox, they are good hearty servings ... so don't eat before you go!

Highly recommended and we look forward to returning .... thanks to the Casa Camara team!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Politoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASACAMARA, Propietario at CASA CAMARA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly and proffesional service you received and we feel glad to hear you enjoyed so much the food at our house. Of course, please... we hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Have just good things to say about this restaurant tucked away Ina small area about 15 minutes outside of the city. Four of us had a variety of seafood dishes ...appetizers and mains...all outstanding....and at a reasonable price.

Thank DavidPSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASACAMARA, Propietario at CASA CAMARA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You are welcome David. Thank you very much for your visit. Please, come back when you want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing meal in a beautiful location, served by excellent women professionals. This meal exceeded out expectations. Bravo!

Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASACAMARA, Propietario at CASA CAMARA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your visit. What a pleasure to exceed your expectations... You are welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Well worth the visit. Truly amazing seafood, as good as any other in the Basque Country; fresh and tasty. Good wine list at very reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aner g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASACAMARA, Propietario at CASA CAMARA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much Ander. And thank you again for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

The fish here was spectacular! We were a party of 12, no easy feat to accommodate under any circumstances & our waiter did a fabulous job helping us -despite the restaurants busyness tonight. We had 1 gluten free & 1 shellfish allergy & they were extremely careful keeping everything separate.

1  Thank PrixFixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CASA CAMARA also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Pasajes, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to CASA CAMARA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing