We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, basic accommodation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Anorga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Anorga
British Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great, basic accommodation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We were desperate and it was late. We were pointed in the direction of Anorga and it worked out fine. Don't expect much for your 52 euro, except a clean, safe room. Very friendly inn keeper.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    87
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
21
128
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

I really wasn't expecting much because it was a hostel, but I have to say that the room was much worse than I expected. There were three beds crammed into a tiny room and the bathroom and shower were tiny. You could probably hold out your arms and touch both walls. One thing I will say is that the front desk lady seemed to be nice and that there was free WiFi, but I would not recommend staying there overall, only if you're looking for the cheapest possible rates and really don't care about the quality of the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Pension Anorga is a great place to stay - After looking to book a higher-end place and finding everything booked, I chose this place. The website stated no rooms available, but when I called, they had a room. Not sure if there are issues with their website. Two blocks away from La Concha beach, 10 min. walk to old town. People running the place (I'm sorry I've forgotten your names), are very very nice. They are extremely accommodating and helpful. My room was quite small, which is expected in Europe, and very clean. It had a lovely balcony and therefore very nice in the evenings - no fan or ac needed. The shared bathroom on my floor was clean, but I tried using it before everyone else did. This place is great for the budget traveler - a basic room, clean, with a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Price paid per night: 52 euros
Would I stay again for the price? Yes
Would I recommend it for the price? Yes
The good:
- location, less than 10mins from everything
- very friendly manager
The bad:
- tiny bathroom

Recommended by the fully booked Bellas Artes this little pension was just fine for 2 nights in San Sebastian. The lady we dealt with did not speak english but hand signals and basic spanish were enough to make it a comfortable stay, and she was very accommodating - i needed to make an urgent reverse charge call overseas and she let me use her phone...this is the kind of homeliness pensions should provide given they lack in other areas (vs. hotels).
The bakery across the road is great! Also the best tapas place we found in the old town is called Restaurante Txondorra.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

We could not get into the highly rated Pension Bellas Artes and they recommended this pension. The lady owner was really really loveful and very helpful...but the place is just not great. It is really noisy and the rooms are very small. If you are not at the front of the pension you have a room overlooking a dark and tiny internal courtyard....makes the rooms dark and dingy. I have stayed in better back packers than this pension.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxtedandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed here May 18th through the 21st. This is a small hostal / pension in a nice San Sebastian neighborhood, not the Parte Vieja so not super loud at night, but still close enough to everything. You ring a buzzer at the door to be let in, even if you have reservations, so those without previous pension / hostal experience be careful! The owner was incredibly nice and talkative, and although I spoke with her in Spanish, she seemed to know some English as well. Be careful with the locks / keys...they can be confusing. Bed was a little bit ... lumpy, as they can be at these kinds of places, but a ton of blankets made up for that. The room I had at least (30 euros / night) had a balcony with an excellent view of the street. Nice! It was small but not too small and about as close to the bathroom as you'd be inside any American en-suite motel room. If I remember right, there was a place to put my stuff and a wall-mounted TV that received local channels (TVE 1, TVE 2, ETB 1, ETB 2, etc.). The bathrooms were clean and I don't recall having any trouble getting to them.

Altogether, a great bargain. Some places might have rooms a few euros cheaper, but the kindness and sweetness of the staff at this little pension makes all the difference.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Keys / Locks
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvdxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

We had a last minute booking (thanks to a cancellation) at the number one pension in san sebastian, Hotel Bellas Artes, for nights 1and 3 of our stay, but they were booked out for night two, and so recommended we try Pension Anorga. It was a few blocks closer to town, but was only a one star pension. But the recommendation was spot on - we were pleasantly surprised: Pension Anorga is what a pension should be: a clean, comfortable, quiet, and friendly place to rest your head. Josephine and her staff make you feel one of the family. The spotless rooms might be small and simple, but they are clean, well cared for, and come with free wifi. You really couldn't ask for anything else. Laundry for 15 euro is done within hours, and the 12pm check out is great. Well located one block from San Martin or the beach, and 5 mins walk from the old town and tapas bars. You'd be hard pressed to find a better pension for 50 euro with ensuite in San Sebastian. And a farewell hug after just one night was the icing on the cake. A great find - Highly recommended. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Free Wifi, great location, and very clean
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#20 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Anorga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Anorga

Property: Pension Anorga
Address: C/ Easo 12-1 | Guipuzcoa, 20006 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Anorga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension Anorga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing