We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, simple, modern.”
Review of Pension Altair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Altair
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This pension is in a very good central location. An old building but the pension itself is totally restored with modern conveniences. Our (smallish) room had no view but was very quiet and warm (this was in February). The internet worked in the room. Good bathroom. The part-time (they were not always there) staff was spot-on with their dining suggestions. This pension does not offer breakfast, which is no biggie because there are like a million cafes, bakeries, pastry shops and bars on the street downstairs.

If you have a car, there are several parking lots within few blocks. (Beware that parking in central San Seb is not particularly hard but expensive, about $25 to $30 for a 24-hour period in a parking lot; street parking is expensive, limited, and aggressively regulated by parking police.)

Overall, it fit our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

This was one of my favorite places I stayed during my trip to Spain. I arrived late at night, and had a little trouble locating the building. But, once I located it was greeted by a very pleasant gentlemen who spoke fluent English. Room was very clean with a modern decor and comfortable bed. Had a sitting room, bedroom and double balconies, along with plenty of storage space. Great location with food markets nearby and plenty of options for pintxos. Best pintxos I ate were at a location two blocks from the pension. Beach is three blocks away. Friendly and accomodating staff. WIFI works great here. As with any room with balconies on the street side, it can be somewhat noisy at night until the bars close. Only suggestion for this pension is to place a small refrigerator in each room. I loved San Sebastian and will definitely stay here again upon my return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is a great place to stay, it was perfect to stay alone and would also be a great place for a couple or a small group if you got adjacent rooms. The owner is extremely nice and accommodating, and speaks English or Spanish or French to you, as needed! The room was very clean, nice balcony, simple but perfect. No breakfast but there are many cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in 2 different rooms at Pension Altair about 10 days apart.
Ricardo and co. are great hosts. There is no fridge in rooms or for communal use, but he arranged for us to have access to a kitchen on another floor to store food for our daughter who has special dietary needs.
Scrupulously clean, decent beds and unlimited use of the computer / free wifi.
Quiet, the more so for being in Gros (away from the excesses across the river).
I managed to leave stuff behind on both occassions and they have taken care of it /sent it on to me with minimum of fuss.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wondersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Pension Altair was a great choice for an inexpensive weekend break in San Sebastian. San Sebastian is an expensive city – and unbeknown to me, the weekend we visited was at the end of Semana Grande. I thought it was the previous week, but it wasn’t and this fact had pros and cons. Cons included the room being more expensive but pros included the fab fireworks display each evening and bands in Constitution Square. But, although the price was a little higher than elsewhere, for San Sebastian, it seemed to resemble good value.
The location of the pension was fine for us – but we like walking and exploring the city. It’s in the Gros area, about five minutes from the beach there, known as the surfers’ beach but about 15 mins, at a brisk pace, from La Concha, which is less rough. The Old Town is about ten minutes away. Sometimes I did feel as though it would have been nice to stay in the Old Town – but given how busy and noisy it was when we left each evening at about 1am, it may well have been for the better that we stayed in the quieter Gros. Anyone who isn’t keen on walking might get a bit fed up with plodding to and from the old town and other sites – especially if it’s as hot as it was this past weekend!
The pension itself was pretty much faultless. Don’t expect some luxurious room with sofas and mini bars – do expect a homely, helpful place, with incredibly clean rooms and lovely unique features. I had requested a room with a Gothic arch in advance and that’s exactly what we got, with a Juliet balcony overlooking the street and bars below, and a church up the street. Bed was comfy, shower was exceptionally powerful and staff were very helpful. The room décor was also nice; fresh and modern. It’s not a huge room but has a big wardrobe to store clothes. The room was the perfect size for a weekend but any longer than a few days and you might want somewhere bigger. The only thing which went wrong with our room was that the safe didn't work but as soon as I told the lady at reception this, she came and fixed it for us immediately. Great service.
There’s a taxi rank right outside as well, which was great when we left to get to the bus station to go to Bilbao airport.
San Sebastian is a gorgeous, relaxed city – even with all the people out and about for Semana Grande. Even when the bars are full to bursting, it retains a really relaxed air. Eating pintxos and drinking txakoli was the perfect way to spend a sunny weekend, and when you have that, plus the natural beauty of San Sebastian at your disposal, why spend £££ on a plush hotel, when a charming pension will do?

Room Tip: Ask for a gothic arch window room for a little extra atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrummieWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Altair was a great place for us to stay in San Sebastian. It was only a couple blocks from the beach and not too far from a number of good restaurants. The rooms were modern and clean but simple. Perfect for the price.

Our only hiccup was payment as the front desk was not staffed when we left in the morning, but it all worked out in the end. Also note that they had no AC.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilbury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I'm glad I stayed here. The room was superb. Clean comfy and classy. The staff was most helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#9 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
683 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Joakina
Pension Joakina
#1 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#3 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Altair

Address: Padre Larroca n. 3 Entlo. Dr., 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £34 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Altair Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing