We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another side of San Sebastian”
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We decided to split time in 2 hotels in San Sebastian, to try to see some of the different sides of san sebastian. We spent some time on the sea front, and then some time out the other side of town at the Astoria. The Astoria was a great hotel. the rooms are generous in size and had excellent amenities and a very large bed. We enjoyed exploring the neighbourhood, particularly the deli and supermarket a few doors up. While the location is a little out of the main pinxto bar area, it is easily accessed by bus, even late at night. And you can walk into the city for shopping. The staff were very helpful, assisting with reservations and providing good directions well. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CITraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Driving through Spain and decided to stay in San Sebastian for the night before the Bilbao ferry to UK.

Initial impression of the Hotel was good - on street parking (pay for) and easy access for bus to centre and old town (6 euros by taxi - 1.6 by bus) Pleasant residents( with free loan of dvd's) lounge and breakfast room and a bustling cafe bar as part of the hotel. Room and its facilities were good but no tea/coffee in room, THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A 4* SO SURPRISED THAT AT AROUND MIDNIGHT UNABLE TO OBTAIN ANY FORM OF DRINK - HOT OR COLD AND NO ROOM SERVICE. Will consider it again, but if get a deal on parking would stay nearer the centre and beach

Room Tip: Rooms on side street will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Through a friend's recommendation, we stayed at Astoria7 during our 4 day visit to this beautiful town. This is a nice smallish hotel with a cinematic theme. We slept in Meryl Streep's room with her pics adorning the whole room! Astoria7's location is excellent being right across a bus stop for hopping on frequent & excellent buses into town. It is also across the road from a taxi stand and the regional bus service (to Bilbao etc). A leisurely walk to town takes about 20 minutes. Service is excellent. The cafe in the morning serves great pintxos & good coffee. Only small gripe was the aircond took quite a few hours to cool, perhaps given the large size of the room, but this was easily fixed by leaving the keycard in the slot when we went out. Nice, comfortable stay away from the bustle of downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpctravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Astoria 7 is at the back of town rather than on the sea-front but this puts it near the bus station which is great for arriving and dropping backs off before exploring town unencumbered. It also means it's quiet at night and the walk back after dinner is a relaxing stroll.
The room was a really good size with desk and sofa. It was clean and stylish. The staff were very friendly.
We didn't opt for the breakfast, instead getting up late and eating in the cafe in the ground floor of the hotel and this was excellent value and again very friendly.

I recommend visiting the little deli a few doors up from the hotel. I would have bought loads there if we had been able to carry it home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were well looked after having had many questions about the area. Serena went out of her way to find a Spanish DVD I'd been attempting to locate. She helped us with everything from restaurant suggestions to affordable public transportation. It was convenient to have a garage on the premises although at 17 euro a night, it does add up. The Alsa bus office is right across the street; less expensive by almost half than their competition a couple of doors away.( We took it to Bilbao for the day. ) We were in the "Harrison Ford" room. Clean, modern and spacious, it was perfect for our three nights in San Sebastian. We walked to Old Town and returned by bus (1.60 euro). I would definitely return....there were many more complimentary DVD's we didn't get to!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side street for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lady frobisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We really liked the Astoria 7. Saved us tons compared to the Christina and was very comfortable. It's certainly not on top of the action but the walk isn't that long and it gives one a reason to take varying routes thru town. Also close to the train stations and bus pickup.

Nice room facing another building. No noise issues to speak of. Front rooms seemed to be the balconies. Wonder how they'd be facing a busy street? Fitness center was well equipped and well appreciated. Jogging in the area wasn't too bad once we made it out to the river.

Ate breakfast at the bar each morning. Very affordable and tasty.

Not hotel related but something fun to do is pick up a bottle of wine and some cheese and bread from the market or super market and hike the jesus trail, find a spot and have some lunch. Or there's a park across the tracks that works well too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank checkerInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a fun hotel with its movie theme decor in both the public spaces and the rooms. Ours (Leslie Caron) was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel staff both at reception and breakfast were friendly and helpful. Parking is safe underground. Breakfast buffet was good, with made to order omelettes a bonus. San Sebastián hotels, as this one, tend to be pricey, compared to other places in Spain. But the hotel and the resort proved a welcome vacation from all the art and history on our cultural tour of Spain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amp93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £50 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing