We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel”
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good central hotel”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Two couples stayed here as part of a deal with San Sebastián Food Company. It is a very well placed hotel for all of the attractions that San Sebastián has to offer. It's about a 20 minute walk to the old town and the pintxos bars and the squares and cafe bars that are there. Taxis are easily available if you don't want to walk.
We had a standard room which was very modern and clean and comfortable and all the rooms are themed with a film star - ours was Mel Gibson - not my favourite but who cares!
The rooms are modern with a huge shower room and toilet, the room can be a little dark and the lighting is not all it should be but as we didn't spend a lot of time in it this was not really a problem.
Breakfast was included in our tariff and was standard hotel fare but very good and tasty though my husband's poached eggs looked almost raw despite the next day the person next to us had almost perfect poached eggs - chef must have had a bad day! Choices included cheeses, meats, pastries etc with a limited hot choice if required.
We did eat in the cafe bar one night and had pintxos of calamari, mushrooms on bread and something else I can't remember - nothing special and compared to the old town pintxos bars it was nothing but it served a purpose for two weary travellers.
Wine prices were reasonable in the hotel.
A good comfortable place to stay near to all the fabulous places which San Sebastián offers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    729
    124
    29
    10
See reviews for
208
867
55
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This film-themed hotel is modern and comfortable.The staff were helpful answering questions. An easy walk to the train station or the old section of San Sebastian and the beach. Great breakfast included. We were charmed by San Sebastian.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
412 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel has a strong move theme; each room is named after a movie star or director. We stayed in the Michael Douglas room, which was decortaed with photos of that actor. The standard rooms are a bit small; I'd go for a superior room next time. But the bed was comfortable, the bath was OK, and the location was convenient and quiet. we didn't subscribe to the breakfast, but it appears to be very reasonable.

Room Tip: Higher flood are better, and our friends, who had a superior room , had a lot more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Apt7 is the hotels offer to rent a modern apartment. Spacious and well equipped - especially as we where upgraded to a big apartment, 104 sq.m.
Friendly staff, good service and a top flat.
Negative: expensive parking, no dailycleaning in the apartment.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jrj-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Astoria7 hotel! I was in San Sebastian for the 2013 marathon and I stayed there for 3 nights. I love the movie theme of the hotel and the different styled rooms and the different person in each room from the film industry. The hotel is super clean and modern, the restaurant area is lovely and always bustling with a good vibe! It not a luxurious hotel, but definitely worth the 4 stars it has been given.
It was right around the corner from the bus station and the marathon start so it was in a perfect location for me. The walk to the old town wasn't too bad at all :o) in fact it was very nice during the day. The staff were super helpful and nice. I honestly don't have a bad word to stay about the hotel, definitely worth a stay :o)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indee1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Astoria 7 is a great, clean, modern hotel. It is a little bit of a walk to the old part of town, but we enjoyed making it- helps to walk a little after eating all the amazing food in San Sebastian! The hotel was comfortable, clean and had really nice bathrooms. The cinema theme also makes it fun and different. While it is a walk to parts of San Sebastian, there are still lots of shops, restaurants and such close by. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went to the Basque Country to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Decided on this hotel and were not disappointed. Easy stroll to the beach and old town. Nice room, good breakfast, nice staff. Good parking in the basement. Easy access from the motorway. Clean and nice de luxe room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DormyStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Property: Hotel Astoria 7
Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, MyHotelShop, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing