We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits the bill”
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were pleased to have booked the Astoria: themed for the movies (San Seb is a major movie town) and each room is dedicated to a different star. The lobby had a life size of Hitchcock and the Christmas tree was made out of film tape...witty. It is a 20 minute walk into town or a 6Euro taxi ride. Breakfast was more than good, rooms were clean - although far too hot for us and the air conditioning was dodgy. The Astoria was a great choice for us as we wanted to take the bus to Bilbao on one of our three days in San Sebastian: the bus station is literally over the road. Thoroughly happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Astoria 7
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Astoria is themed for the movies.Each room designated for a star.The Lobby features a life size model of Hitchcock.The rooms are reasonably sized with excellent bath rooms and adequate storage.There is a large library including multiple dvd's for use in the rooms.The hotel altough on a main route is well insulated and quiet at night .The bar serves good pintxos and raciones if needed but it is only a short bus ride 1.60 euros to the old town where great food is everywhere.The restaurant while were were there did some special evening meals but seems to be more in use at lunch.All in all a very good hotel well situated just out of the main town and close to buses and trains.There is a wonderful deli just a few doors away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is located near the bus terminus, and is about 10 min walk from Amara train station, which makes it convenient as a base to explore nearby towns. Walking to the seafront along the river takes about 20-30 min, but very pleasant. My room was spacious, especially with a bright bathroom. There is also a popular cafe next to the lobby, as well as a film library. The small gym was also quite adequate for a small hotel like this one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Two couples stayed here as part of a deal with San Sebastián Food Company. It is a very well placed hotel for all of the attractions that San Sebastián has to offer. It's about a 20 minute walk to the old town and the pintxos bars and the squares and cafe bars that are there. Taxis are easily available if you don't want to walk.
We had a standard room which was very modern and clean and comfortable and all the rooms are themed with a film star - ours was Mel Gibson - not my favourite but who cares!
The rooms are modern with a huge shower room and toilet, the room can be a little dark and the lighting is not all it should be but as we didn't spend a lot of time in it this was not really a problem.
Breakfast was included in our tariff and was standard hotel fare but very good and tasty though my husband's poached eggs looked almost raw despite the next day the person next to us had almost perfect poached eggs - chef must have had a bad day! Choices included cheeses, meats, pastries etc with a limited hot choice if required.
We did eat in the cafe bar one night and had pintxos of calamari, mushrooms on bread and something else I can't remember - nothing special and compared to the old town pintxos bars it was nothing but it served a purpose for two weary travellers.
Wine prices were reasonable in the hotel.
A good comfortable place to stay near to all the fabulous places which San Sebastián offers.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CardiffBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This film-themed hotel is modern and comfortable.The staff were helpful answering questions. An easy walk to the train station or the old section of San Sebastian and the beach. Great breakfast included. We were charmed by San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel has a strong move theme; each room is named after a movie star or director. We stayed in the Michael Douglas room, which was decortaed with photos of that actor. The standard rooms are a bit small; I'd go for a superior room next time. But the bed was comfortable, the bath was OK, and the location was convenient and quiet. we didn't subscribe to the breakfast, but it appears to be very reasonable.

Room Tip: Higher flood are better, and our friends, who had a superior room , had a lot more space.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Apt7 is the hotels offer to rent a modern apartment. Spacious and well equipped - especially as we where upgraded to a big apartment, 104 sq.m.
Friendly staff, good service and a top flat.
Negative: expensive parking, no dailycleaning in the apartment.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jrj-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,755 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
459 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#9 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £50 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing