We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Astoria 7
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Costa Vasca(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$526
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Parma Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pension Edorta(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mercure Monte Igueldo(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,690)
Filter reviews
1,690 results
Traveller rating
700
800
140
35
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
800
140
35
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie themethemed hotelalfred hitchcockthe busmovie starsgreat hotelminute walkfilm industryold townlife sizecocktail barfilm festivalcool hoteldvd playerbilbao airportsuperior roomstaff on reception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 1,690 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We took the airport bus to San Sebastian and the hotel was a very short walk away from the bus station so a good start. There are plenty of taxis if you happen to be staying elsewhere. We really liked the movies theme with each room being associated with a different film star or director etc. There is a large picture of the star in the room with a write up (only in Spanish) with other photos around the room but it was fun to see so many famous faces around the hotel and a lot of time was spent talking about actors and films even though we are not real movie buffs. Have your picture taken with a life size Hitchcock sat on old cinema seats in the lobby. All the staff are super and so helpful and friendly, even if your Spanish is rubbish like ours. We enjoyed breakfast and ordered poached eggs and bacon most mornings to go with the other continental breakfast offerings. The bar was almost always busy (which for me is good) with a good selection of food and drink on offer. Watch out as it closes at 11pm which is a bit of a shock if you wonder back in the evening hoping to get a coffee or a nightcap before turning in.
The restaurant doesn't serve food in the evening so you need to go out to eat which is what we normally do anyway so no problem. See my review on Kaskazuri for 1 of many great places to eat. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable as are the bathrooms with great shower and bath. All in all a very pleasant stay and highly recommended even though a 20 minute walk from the old town and beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0823Malcolm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear 0823Malcom52,

Thank you very much for your nice comments following to your stay at our hotel.

Regarding to the bars opening hours, I take note of your mention and will see with our Food and Beverage Manager what we can do to about it.


Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to come back to San Sebastian.


Best regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked on recommendation by daughter. Travelled in party of 6. Surprisingly very good quality pintxos in hotel cafe, albeit selection very limited_ service there was good too. Quality of accommdn up to expectations..clean and large rooms.
Complaint concerns breakfast: served from 7 AM on weekdays but only 8 AM on weekends. Were told at 7 AM 19th April by front desk that we could not get any food a little earlier than 8 AM, even if we were happy to have a very limited selection (we explained intention to leave 8.30 AM by private bus). Duty Mgr said regulation had to be strictly observed. When we came back at 8 AM, the restaurant was nearly full and the meal nearly done. Waitress and Duty Mgr explained it was a large tour group (Caucasian)_ their breakfast was arranged at 7.30 AM by prior request. We were not told this when we were there earlier. We were also a tour group, but only 6 ethnic Chinese Singaporeans and we could have been accommodated at least from 7.45 AM. We had to delay our departure on a long day's drive to Llanes due to lack of initiative (or worse) on the part of Duty Mgr. "Strictly observed" my foot! And we did find seats and enough food at 8 AM. Not making a prior arrangement is our mistake but, given the circumstances, a little initiative and service orientation would have helped us feel less like second class guests. The staff didn't even recognise our point and made no apology for being unhelpful.
PK Chia

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear PK Chia,

Thank you for taking the time in writing us your experience at our hotel.

On behalf of the hotel I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding in regards to the breakfast opening hours. As you mentionned, breakfast opens from 07am until 10h30 am on weekdays and from 08am until 11am on weekends. Exceptionnaly on the 19th of april we agreed to open half an hour before to give service to a group that left early morning. We could certainly have advised you of such change for you to take your time in having breakfast, and I am deeply sorry if we did not.

From the rest of your comments I understand you had a nice time with us. Please, do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to come back to San Sebastian.


Best regards,



Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for Semana Grande - certainly a long walk into the old town, but there's a bus out the front, and the distance meant it was probably a bit quieter at night. Room was spacious and excellent bathroom. The movie theme was cool - though it was good to remember there's a big picture of someone behind the bed when you get up at night! Overall, good hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear PAVLICH,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experience with us.


We do hope to see you again in San Sebastian,


Very best regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Firstly, let me start with the positives- it's in a quiet part of town, the staff are very friendly, helpful and they speak very good English. There's some free parking nearby if you're lucky like us, it was a bank holiday so free public parking as opposed to the garage fee in the hotel. The room was on the 6th floor, it was short but wide. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was good.

I would strongly recommend skipping breakfast here as I don't feel it is value for money. Their choice of meat is very poor in a country that prides itself on excellent Iberian ham, as was the cheese. There's a really nice deli 2 minutes away, we'd already paid for breakfast so we didn't try the it but it looked great. The walk into town is very very manageable and as other reviewers wrote, you'll be glad of it after eating pintxos in town. Overall, I guess it's a nice spot, it just doesn't have the same holiday feel as the ones nearer town.

One major gripe I had was all the lights in the room when you turn off the main lights at night. There are two little red light flashing every 3 seconds directly over the bed, for fire safety I guess then there's another one directly in front of you as you lie down at the socket on the wall, We had to open our suitcase up against it to block it. Simple thing to fix I'm sure but worth noting none the less.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggiem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Maggiem00,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time in writing your feeling after staying with us.

We will definitely take into account your comment about the breakfast though we majorly receive good comments about it. In order to improve our level of standards, it always very useful to understand the customer's point of view.

As for the light flashing above the bed, it is indeed the fire sensor and we have very few solutions to offer since it is a sensor recommended by the Basque Health and Safety Authorities.
The small light you mentioned next to the socket can be switch off using the light switches next to the bed. This one is for a night use only should someone wishing to get up without using the normal bedrooms lights.

We do hope to welcome you again at our property.


Best regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Astoria is a very pleasant, clean and stylish hotel, our room was very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Certainly we will stay there again. Although a bit far from the centre of town, it is a strait walk to the centre and gives you an opportunity for a 20 minutes walk. There are also buses to the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank D M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing about your stay with us.

We are glad to hear you had a pleasant time.

We hope to welcome again very soon.


Best regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews