We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in a wonderful city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good stay in a wonderful city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday and it was a very good surprise!
The location is excellent - we took the train from the French border to San Sebastian and the hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the Amara station we came into. It's also less than a five minute walk from the bus station where you catch the bus to Bilbao Airport, and a 15/20 minute walk into the old town and to the beach. We never needed a taxi.
Service was a bit hit or miss, though never bad. One of the guys on reception seemed to be new that day, but I would still have expected him to say hello when he saw us standing there instead of just staring at us - instead he waited for the other member of staff, who was busy, to greet us. At other times reception staff were friendly and efficient.
The room was really nice - absolutely massive by the standards of most European cities, with a huge, extremely comfortable bed, and a big bathroom with twin sinks and a big shower. We had the Meryl Streep room - I loved the cinematic theme of the hotel, it was unusual and muy cool!
Breakfast was quite good though again the staff could have been friendlier- they advertised eggs as you like them and no one actually offered this to us, and at times staff were slow to replenish the buffet, but the choice was generally good.
I would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again - great location and rooms, they just have a little work to do to bring their service up to to four star level.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    715
    119
    29
    10
See reviews for
204
845
53
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The rooms with cinematic theme were great - clean, good amenities. The location was perfect for access to bus lines, there was a market, a tapas bar nearby, and a restaurant in the hotel in addition to opaque coffee shop next door. However, when it came to asking the front desk people for suggestions regarding tourist attractions in usual response was, "I'm too busy right now. I'll research it & you can check back. " Four of five times, the seemingly unbusy front desk people gave the air that it was "not their job". There was no concierge available, thus the reason to consult the front desk...or should I say, try to. They usually just referred us to the tourist info center which was blocks away. Our group of four found much friendlier staff at our prior hotel in Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Shirley B,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comment in tripadvisor.

I take good note of your remark in regards to the concierge service. This is normally provided by our front desk staff. I will speak with the person in charge of the department to make sure this will be addressed.

Best regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice for a trip to San Sebastian - it is approx. a 20 minute very pleasant walk to the beach, there is also a regular 28 bus which stops right outside the door and brings you down to the beach and old town in 5 minutes - fare is about €1.50. The main bus station [for buses to and from Bilbao Airport] is a 2 minute walk away. Be careful when getting your bus back to the airport as sign on bus reads "Liau Airport" and not Bilbao Airport. You also need to buy your ticket beforehand from ticket office across the road. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and breakfast is excellent, staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the hotel bar is a lovely spot for a nightcap.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthloneAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Stayed with a family of four (2 adults and a 19 and 10 year olds) for 4 nights. Got 2 joining superb rooms. A bit of a refreshing walk to the centrum but the location near the buss station for Bilba and Bilbao airport is handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel, was central to all our needs in San Sebastián . Was modern with a quirky edge. quiet, well spoken staff, over all comfortable. car parking convenient also.
At $150? Per night highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchellWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We took the airport bus to San Sebastian and the hotel was a very short walk away from the bus station so a good start. There are plenty of taxis if you happen to be staying elsewhere. We really liked the movies theme with each room being associated with a different film star or director etc. There is a large picture of the star in the room with a write up (only in Spanish) with other photos around the room but it was fun to see so many famous faces around the hotel and a lot of time was spent talking about actors and films even though we are not real movie buffs. Have your picture taken with a life size Hitchcock sat on old cinema seats in the lobby. All the staff are super and so helpful and friendly, even if your Spanish is rubbish like ours. We enjoyed breakfast and ordered poached eggs and bacon most mornings to go with the other continental breakfast offerings. The bar was almost always busy (which for me is good) with a good selection of food and drink on offer. Watch out as it closes at 11pm which is a bit of a shock if you wonder back in the evening hoping to get a coffee or a nightcap before turning in.
The restaurant doesn't serve food in the evening so you need to go out to eat which is what we normally do anyway so no problem. See my review on Kaskazuri for 1 of many great places to eat. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable as are the bathrooms with great shower and bath. All in all a very pleasant stay and highly recommended even though a 20 minute walk from the old town and beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0823Malcolm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear 0823Malcom52,

Thank you very much for your nice comments following to your stay at our hotel.

Regarding to the bars opening hours, I take note of your mention and will see with our Food and Beverage Manager what we can do to about it.


Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to come back to San Sebastian.


Best regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked on recommendation by daughter. Travelled in party of 6. Surprisingly very good quality pintxos in hotel cafe, albeit selection very limited_ service there was good too. Quality of accommdn up to expectations..clean and large rooms.
Complaint concerns breakfast: served from 7 AM on weekdays but only 8 AM on weekends. Were told at 7 AM 19th April by front desk that we could not get any food a little earlier than 8 AM, even if we were happy to have a very limited selection (we explained intention to leave 8.30 AM by private bus). Duty Mgr said regulation had to be strictly observed. When we came back at 8 AM, the restaurant was nearly full and the meal nearly done. Waitress and Duty Mgr explained it was a large tour group (Caucasian)_ their breakfast was arranged at 7.30 AM by prior request. We were not told this when we were there earlier. We were also a tour group, but only 6 ethnic Chinese Singaporeans and we could have been accommodated at least from 7.45 AM. We had to delay our departure on a long day's drive to Llanes due to lack of initiative (or worse) on the part of Duty Mgr. "Strictly observed" my foot! And we did find seats and enough food at 8 AM. Not making a prior arrangement is our mistake but, given the circumstances, a little initiative and service orientation would have helped us feel less like second class guests. The staff didn't even recognise our point and made no apology for being unhelpful.
PK Chia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear PK Chia,

Thank you for taking the time in writing us your experience at our hotel.

On behalf of the hotel I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding in regards to the breakfast opening hours. As you mentionned, breakfast opens from 07am until 10h30 am on weekdays and from 08am until 11am on weekends. Exceptionnaly on the 19th of april we agreed to open half an hour before to give service to a group that left early morning. We could certainly have advised you of such change for you to take your time in having breakfast, and I am deeply sorry if we did not.

From the rest of your comments I understand you had a nice time with us. Please, do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to come back to San Sebastian.


Best regards,



Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Property: Hotel Astoria 7
Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing