We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A festival of film”
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A boutique hôtel with great access to the public transport network to take you into the heart of San Sebastian in 10 minutes or out to fantastic place such as Hondarriba in 30 minutes. The bus to and from Bilbao airport stops across the road.

From check-in to check-out we were warmly looked after and when a member of the group fell ill, a late check-out request was happily accepted.

The hotel has been tastefully themed around the San Seb film festival, with each room featuring a different actor, with photos and film credits everywhere. Breakfast was excellent, but if you want something lighter to start the day there is a lovely cafe next door.

Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Choose your actor/ess? Sigourney Weaver maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trebor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I spent 2 nites here in July. Things I liked about the hotel:

- Just diagonally across the street from the bus terminus. Very convenient when departing to/arriving from other parts of Spain, such as Bilbao.
- Its got character. I got the Sean Penn room at the top floor, with a small terrace! Really enjoyed the movie theme all throughout the hotel.
- While the hotel is not in the center of town, there are buses you can take (across the street) that can get you there in a few minutes (if you'd prefer not to walk or are pressed for time).
- While the room was quite small, it wasn't too bad for a solo traveller like me.

Would definitely stay here again if I have the opportunity to come to San Sebastian again.
-

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We visited here last week and what a lovely surprise!
A modern hotel with a twist as all rooms are based on movie stars who have visited the local film festival. All very nice with and edge on your normal hotel.
The location was great. Just 15 minutes walk into the old town which is a delightful journey as you can stop for espresso and breakfast along the way.
Cleanliness was spot on. no complaints. We slept in most mornings and the maid always came back and cleaned our room.
Toiletries lovely and high end
Fresh towels every day
If a Mr & Mrs Smith customer a nice bottle of bubbly and posh biscuits too!

Room Tip: 5th Floor was great for us as quiet View not great but unless staying in the room not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We drove to Donostia - San Sebastiàn from Tours, France in June 2014. Unexpectedly, we had to rent a car to circumvent the disruption in rail service due to the French SNCF rail strike. Thankfully, the hotel has underground parking available. The parking is first-come-first-served, and there is limited capacity. It is fairly well lit, well-maintained, and convenient to use. We were lucky that there was still a parking spot available for us, because the garage was quite full.

Check-in was simple. We had prepaid for our stay through the travel agency at San Sebastiàn Food. My wife and I provided a credit card for incidentals, showed our passports, and got our keys. My wife enjoyed the cinema theme for the hotel. We both were quite satisfied with the hotel's amenities, the bathroom, and the room. We were very comfortable there.

The food at the bar at the Hotel Astoria 7 was far better than I expected. We quite enjoyed the wine that they recommended. The cod and the beef cheeks we had were fantastic. We were also happy to be able to buy a bottle of wine there to take to our room, complete with proper wine glasses. That was a great convenience to us.

They have a great, convenient system for getting taxis. They call the taxis electronically, I think, and less than five minutes later, a taxi arrives for us at the front door. That was very convenient.

We utilized the laundry service to press some of our clothes. If I recall correctly, the items were returned to our room in less than 24 hours, which was impressive to us.

A couple of problems arose, however. My wife was allergic to the detergent used on our bed sheets. That was unfortunate and uncomfortable for her. Still, we slept fairly well there overall. I read some criticism in this forum about the cleanliness of the hotel. We did not find our hotel room to be particularly dirty, but there were certainly some lapses in the quality of the housekeeping. The back of the curtains stuck out to me as needing some dusting as there were some cobwebs and dust.

Location was very good in our opinion. The hotel is a leisurely 15-20 minutes walk from the Old Town (Parte Vieja). It's a lovely walk, frankly. Also, its distance from Old Town seemingly helped to keep the hotel quiet, which we thought of as a good thing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roburado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Astoria 7 and found it suitable for a long weekend in the area. As other reviewers have mentioned, it has a movie star / Hollywood theme throughout the entire hotel as the city hosts a huge film festival. It was quirky but done tastefully.

Our room was nicely sized, clean with a very large bathroom. Modern and well appointed. Breakfast in the morning, included with our room, was done well with all the basics that someone could want. I used the workout facility on the top floor and thought it was just fine. Elliptical, some weights, steps, mats, water and towels.

As for location you are not in the old town nor near the beach area whatsoever. It takes about a 20 minute leisurely stroll to get to this part of town. We did not mind as we had ample time. We did not eat at the hotel as when in this part of the world you have amazing food all around you- no need to stick to your hotel. There are so many incredible restaurants and pintxos places I feel as if we ate our way through the city. And yes, it was totally worth it.

Back to the hotel, Hotel Astoria 7 was a modern fun chic hotel that I would stay at again over a long weekend and would recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank La_D0lce_Vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice hotel 10 minutes walking to the centre city. Every room is dedicated to a movie star, and because I am a big fan of the movies I loved finding Mr. Hitchcock in the lobby. Very good breakfast and nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I suggest this hotel motivates it's housekeeping staff to do better if they want to keep up their good reviews. Our two rooms were spacious and comfortable but the floors were dirty and so were several surfaces in the room. Mopping the floor is just a basic 5 minute job, how can it be so obviously overlooked? By the sound of other reviews our problem was the exception rather than the rule but the lack of cleanliness spoilt our experience and would probably not return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lynnpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments.

Cleanliness is an absolut priority for us and I do apologize if your rooms were not up to the standarts we have established.

Please do not hesitate to contact should you wish to come back to San Sebastian,

Best regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,790 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#10 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £58 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing