We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”
Review of Hotel Punta Monpas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Punta Monpas
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good location with wonderful beach views (chose a room at the front) about 15 minutes walk from old town.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Our room was spacious and pleasant.

Bathroom was good.

Breakfast buffet was good, particularly as served outside; would have been a bit crowded in the tiny reception area. It is a really tiny hotel, looks miniature from outside.

In common with other San Sebastian hotels for mid August it was quite expensive; we discovered it was a big holiday/festival week, great fun with free concerts through out the city, including one right outside the hotel which went on till about 2.00 am when the crowd dispersed without a sound. We decided to go with the flow and enjoy it from our room, which was a good vantage point.

Parking was a bit distant and involved queueing a while but again down to the busy week we chose.

San Sebastian is an attractive, if busy, resort; we only stayed one night en route for Spain but we were happy with this hotel and would chose it again.

Room Tip: Must be at the front with sea view. I think ours was a deluxe room so presumably bigger than some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfromhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    51
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
13
78
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Terrific hotel! Great staff, great location and great rooms.

My boyfriend is a surfer so was able to pop across the road to surf each morning before we headed off to explore the wonderful city that is San Sebastian. Andrea and the other staff were outstanding - they even went to the trouble to arrange a traditional, local meal for us one night after seeing them eating it the night before! The buffet breakfast was perfect and was well worth the extra money.

We will definitnely be back...

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms overlooking the sea are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, excellent breakfasts, great location, overlooking the beach, the rooms are clean and comfortable.
The town centre is only a short walk, there's a car park in front of the hotel,
it's ideal for surfing, outside the the hotel, there were play areas for basketball, football rollerblading, and cycle lanes
would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikbwoyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

If you are looking for an affordable option near a great surfing spot, look no further in San Sebastián. This was a great choice for surfing. The hotel is right at the beach and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Good affordable rates. Just be careful when parking in front of the hotel and pay close attention to the parking signs. You can get easily towed away.
Other than that, very good spot!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuixDonosti, Ex-Director at Hotel Punta Monpas, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Good afternoon, thank you very much for your review. During our administration, until 31 August this year we have made many efforts to meet their needs. Because of the many rental costs, management, personnel and maintenance especially to avoid odor problems, make cozy rooms with wood floors, photos, breakfast varied as possible and others, we could not continue and had to leave the management. Still and all we are pleased that our management served for a happy holiday for our customers. Regards. Luis Olaizola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

We took a standard double bedroom which was in the first floor (lift available). It was small but clean and modern, very decent for two nights' stay. The room had a/c and minibar and a small wall tv set. Bathroom also new, clean and functional. Breakfast on the ground floor was coffee/tea, toast, butter/marmalade, ham and cheese, cereals, yoghurt, juices and fruit. Pricey for a 2* (75€/night with breakfast), but then San Sebastian is expensive on high season. You can walk 15' to the Old town or cross the street to beach. Parking on street for about 1€ /hour, 9 to 20 hs. All in all a good choice if not staying for too long!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuixDonosti, Gerente at Hotel Punta Monpas, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Lady, thanks for your review, this month is our last one at the Hotel. We will keep working hard wherever we go to make your stay as pleasant as yours. Regards. Luis Olaizola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Rooms are very good, clean and spacious. Stuff were very friendly and helpful,
The location is not the best, because is a bit far from the city center and "las conchas" beach.
But it was good enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lu_biancooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuixDonosti, Gerente at Hotel Punta Monpas, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thanks for your review. Makes us very proud about our work and helps us to keep working hard. We know the Hotel is not very central location, but some guests like it, we are away from noise and parking problems, and not very far from city center (about 10-15 min walk).
Regards. Luis Olaizola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had the opportunity to stay here for two nights in the fall of 2009. It was my first European experience (outside of airports) and I was not disappointed. My room and the hallways were clean and the staff were friendly. I had a room on the second floor at the front so was not disappointed with the view - beautiful sight across the street with a beautiful beach and the Bay beyond. The hotel is not a luxury hotel but it certainly was clean and comfortable. With any luck, I'll get back again someday!

Room Tip: If you are able, I would highly recommend second floor - front but only if you like a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuixDonosti, Gerente at Hotel Punta Monpas, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thanks a lot for your review, helps us to keep working hard. Hope to see you soon and every visit will be a good new for us, it means that we are doing it better, and every time you will see new things which were taken from suggestions like yours. We are open to new ideas and opinions to increase our guests satisfactions.
Regards. Luis Olaizola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Center
Hotel Arrizul Center
#33 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#15 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hostal Alemana
Hostal Alemana
#25 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Monte Ulia
Hotel Monte Ulia
#27 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
#21 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Monpas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Monpas

Property: Hotel Punta Monpas
Address: Jose Miguel Barandiaran, 32, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Punta Monpas 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Monpas Hotel is set by the beautiful Zurriola Beach, in the historic centre of San Sebastian. All rooms include free Wi-Fi, a TV, air conditioning and heating. Most rooms offer views of the sea, Urgull Mountain and San Sebastian's seaside Kursaal Exhibition Centre. Some rooms are split level with a small seating area upstairs. It is a short walk from Punta Monpas Hotel to La Concha Bay and the city centre. The hotel is in the Gros neighbourhood and is surrounded by surfer bars and cafes with pleasant terraces. Staff at the 24-hour reception can provide more information about all the activities of the area. San Sebastian airport is about 30 minutes drive from the hotel. Hotel Rooms: 11 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Punta Monpas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing