We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, nice location and great host”
Review of Pension Regil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Regil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

A few points:
Location - it is a very short walk to La Concha beach and close to the old town and sights we wanted to see, so we really were happy with the location. Since it was not in the center of town, it was also not noisy and we were able to go out eating and drinking in the noisy section and then walk back a little to the nice quiet area. We also felt very safe here.
Cleanliness - the pension is kept very clean with the cleaning lady coming in every day and cleaning the place thoroughly. You can even see the sheets and towels being hung up to dry. Again, we were very happy with this.
Friendliness - Inaki is perfect for this job. He warmly greeted us upon arrival and every time we came or left, he was around smiling in case we needed anything. He was very helpful with tips for places to eat and things to see. He has a soothing effect when he speaks to you and we really did enjoy talking to him.
Price - you really shouldnt bother looking for anything better in this price range. This is unbeatable in my opinion.

The only item that may be seen as a negative is that the bathroom is pretty small. When two people shower, the bathroom can get a little messy with water on the floor - more of a pain for the cleaning lady actually. Again, we didnt see this as a problem but others may. We had a room in the back of the building and so had a nice terrace overlooking the courtyard.

If I were to go to San Sebastian again, would stay here without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back face the courtyard and have a terrace and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Fantastic budget hotel in a great location close to La Concha, shopping areas and the old town. All staff are pleasant and Inaki the owner is exceptional ... very friendly and goes out of his way to be helpful. The hotel feels safe and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Pension Regil was exactly what we were looking for. It is in a fantastic location for the price, close to the beach and a very short walk to the old town. We stayed for 2 nights, one in a flat a short distance from the pension and one night in the Pension itself. The owner Inaki was as friendly and helpful as others on here have said. He took the time to give us lots of recommendations for things to do and for the best bars to get pintxos. The room in the pension was compact but with a nice little balcony and both the rooms were very clean. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our stay was very pleasant, location is perfect, very close to La Concha beach, rooms are very clean, the owner is very kind and the staff is nice. Excellent hospitality and quality/price ratio. Great base to explore San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saharamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Pension Regil is a great place to stay. Our room was very clean and nice and quiet. The owner, Inaki, is super friendly and is always there to give advice about where to go and what to do. The internet connection was fast enough to watch a movie online one night and the room was thoroughly cleaned every day. The pension is very well situated very near to La Concha beach, main shopping areas and the old town. We loved our time at Pension Regil and will come back. The pension was better than some hotels. As my girlfriend would say for the girls: you can walk barefoot, towels and bed sheets are very clean. It's also nice and safe. Tiny romantic balcony to drink wine on. If you forget to take something to the beach you can be back in 2 min, if you go crazy when shopping you will have 2 min to drop the bags and if you are craving for pintxos and some wine in the old town then you will need 5 min to get there. Also, Inaki is sweet and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the little sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Everything you need for staying in San Sebastian. Great location, fantastic host, super clean, Cheap. Room was only used to sleep in as most of the day you are out enjoying the sunshine, beach and sights so the value of the rooms are great. Very simple but clean and everything you need. Inaki the host was a delight to deal with. Highly recommended for a no frills stop over.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katasha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Pension Regil, and our host Inaki was fabulous.
The location is perfect, a short walk from the beach and the old city. San Sebastian blew us away, and being close to the beach made it even better.
Our room had a small balcony overlooking the street below and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is tiny but it has everything you need.
It is up a flight of stairs, so just keep in mind that you have to carry your luggage upstairs or give Inaki a call so he can come and assist you (which he very kindly offered to do for us).
Next to the entrance on street level there is a small pinxtos bar that looked delightful, but when we came back later (it was a Sunday) it was unfortunately closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street, it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#16 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Edorta
Pension Edorta
#18 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Regil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Regil

Address: C/Easo, 9-10, 20006 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £36 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Regil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing