We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and very comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Bahia Bernardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This place took us awhile to find it as it is located on pedastrian only street, in the old city. The traffic in San Sebastian didn't help and ack of nearby parking makes it triple trouble.
However, once we checked in, the room is comfortable, staff is friendly, free botted water in the cooler.
Breakfast at nearby affilliated restaurant is simple and enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location- right at edge of old town and minutes from la concha.

Staff were very helpful and frienldy.

Accomdation was clean and comfortable with air con.

Only negative was that shower head needs to have new bracket fitted so it sits into it properly and shower door doesnt close properly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jid1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We walked from the train station which took 20 mins- i would recomend taking a cab. The hotel/ private residence is located in a fantastic location within the old town surrounded by hundreds of Pintox bars, just one small street away from the boulevard and far enough from the loud bars. We stayed in room 4 and could hear all the goings on at reception in the morning and the loud american neighbour next door, very annoying and only setback about the room. Breakfast was at another hotel about 200 mts away, and was very basic with expresso and a danish. La Conch beach is a 7 min walk and Zurriola beach is about 15 mins walk. The woman at reception was very helpful with recomendations and clear english, while the older gentleman really struggled with the english language but tried. There is free Wifi in the room and a small fridge at reception so you can help your self to bottles of water, there is a safe in the room. Very good stay for 4 days, would come back .

Room Tip: Dont stay in a room anywhere near reception. not no. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile


Firstly I think you should rate based on the principle of 'am I getting what I paid for?' & 'does this meet reasonable expectations?'

So with that in mind I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms had character in a good way, the staff were lovely and helpful, it was clean & it was close to the good spots in San Seb.. Those being the beach & the old town.

Things to take note of which may not suit everyone Are..Limited front desk hours, located in a residential building & the rooms had no bar fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

In the heart of Old Town in amongst all the tapas bars- best location for tapas bars!

We were in a deluxe room and I would definitely recommend upgrading to deluxe - spacious room and recently renovated. Shower was awesome with six side jets!

Family who owned the hotel were lovely and very friendly. Breakfast is at a nearby restaurant and is simple and effective (tea/coffee, fresh juice and crossiant / toast). There is also free bottled water at the hotel and a welcome drink at the restaurant.

Really good value for money for a boutique hotel / B&B. If you are after the luxuries of a 5 star hotel this probably isn't for you, but I highly recommend as a boutique hotel where they know you by name!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_D_MLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Good location in centre of old town. Rooms Clean but small and a bit noisy due to indequate sound proofing and our one had a small window therefore not much natural light. Staff friendly and helpful. Continential Breakfast served in the restuarant owned by same business around the block. A nice touch was that we were given a voucher for some pinxto & drinks in the restaurant on the first night - food was excellent. On reflection if returning we would stay in accomodation outside of the old town (along the beach) where hopefully we would get more room. The town is very compact and easy to get around

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

First beware if you are staying here, that it is not really what most people would call a hotel. It is a room in a building where there is no room service and no-one at reception after 10pm. They did provide a continental breakfast and the room was smart and clean but there was little in the way of facilities - nothing for making tea or coffee and a plain ordinary TV. Worst thing was that I woke up early because I was cold, even after I asked for the heating to be turned up (I suspect the air-conditioning wasn't working properly since it claimed to be 24 degrees and it wasn't), and there were only sheets on the bed and no blankets or duvet. I didn't have the noise problems that others have reported even though it was apparently full. And it was a great location for the conference centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jussnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#16 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
634 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
#19 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Codina
Hotel Codina
#8 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#2 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Bahia Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Bahia Bernardo

Address: Embeltran 16 1 D, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £49 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gran Bahia Bernardo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely place is located in La Parte Vieja of San Sebastian. Renewed in June 2009, the 8 rooms are full equipped with TV, air conditioning, free wifi connection, private bathroom and breakfast included. We are extremely good located, restaurants and bars around where you will taste the delicious "pintxos", taxi and bus stops, public parking, 5 minutes walking to the beach, shopping area, business center and Central train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Bahia Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing