We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in the Old Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Bahia Bernardo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Bahia Bernardo
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel in the Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had never been to San Sebastian and came by car. We had a difficult time finding the hotel, but once we parked at a nearby garage, it was a short walk. When we got there, the owner had left us a note that she was not there, but we could call her. We did and she came right away. She was very friendly, helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. We extended our stay while there and had to switch rooms. We went from a deluxe to a regular, both on the street side with doors and balconies looking down to the street below. Both rooms had a lot of charm with some old aspects of the building kept intact, but were modernized with nice large bathrooms and air conditioning. My husband turned the aircon on and I was cold, but there were extra blankets in the closets. We never made it to the included breakfast, as we woke up late and went to explore other places. We found out where we had parked was included in the cost of the room. We could hear people sometimes at reception, but it didn't seem excessively loud and it was super quiet during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
38
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This place took us awhile to find it as it is located on pedastrian only street, in the old city. The traffic in San Sebastian didn't help and ack of nearby parking makes it triple trouble.
However, once we checked in, the room is comfortable, staff is friendly, free botted water in the cooler.
Breakfast at nearby affilliated restaurant is simple and enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location- right at edge of old town and minutes from la concha.

Staff were very helpful and frienldy.

Accomdation was clean and comfortable with air con.

Only negative was that shower head needs to have new bracket fitted so it sits into it properly and shower door doesnt close properly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jid1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We walked from the train station which took 20 mins- i would recomend taking a cab. The hotel/ private residence is located in a fantastic location within the old town surrounded by hundreds of Pintox bars, just one small street away from the boulevard and far enough from the loud bars. We stayed in room 4 and could hear all the goings on at reception in the morning and the loud american neighbour next door, very annoying and only setback about the room. Breakfast was at another hotel about 200 mts away, and was very basic with expresso and a danish. La Conch beach is a 7 min walk and Zurriola beach is about 15 mins walk. The woman at reception was very helpful with recomendations and clear english, while the older gentleman really struggled with the english language but tried. There is free Wifi in the room and a small fridge at reception so you can help your self to bottles of water, there is a safe in the room. Very good stay for 4 days, would come back .

Room Tip: Dont stay in a room anywhere near reception. not no. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile


Firstly I think you should rate based on the principle of 'am I getting what I paid for?' & 'does this meet reasonable expectations?'

So with that in mind I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms had character in a good way, the staff were lovely and helpful, it was clean & it was close to the good spots in San Seb.. Those being the beach & the old town.

Things to take note of which may not suit everyone Are..Limited front desk hours, located in a residential building & the rooms had no bar fridge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

In the heart of Old Town in amongst all the tapas bars- best location for tapas bars!

We were in a deluxe room and I would definitely recommend upgrading to deluxe - spacious room and recently renovated. Shower was awesome with six side jets!

Family who owned the hotel were lovely and very friendly. Breakfast is at a nearby restaurant and is simple and effective (tea/coffee, fresh juice and crossiant / toast). There is also free bottled water at the hotel and a welcome drink at the restaurant.

Really good value for money for a boutique hotel / B&B. If you are after the luxuries of a 5 star hotel this probably isn't for you, but I highly recommend as a boutique hotel where they know you by name!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_D_MLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Good location in centre of old town. Rooms Clean but small and a bit noisy due to indequate sound proofing and our one had a small window therefore not much natural light. Staff friendly and helpful. Continential Breakfast served in the restuarant owned by same business around the block. A nice touch was that we were given a voucher for some pinxto & drinks in the restaurant on the first night - food was excellent. On reflection if returning we would stay in accomodation outside of the old town (along the beach) where hopefully we would get more room. The town is very compact and easy to get around

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#17 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo
Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo
#24 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#2 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Alameda
Pension Alameda
#23 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Bahia Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Bahia Bernardo

Property: Gran Bahia Bernardo
Address: Embeltran, 16 1-D, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gran Bahia Bernardo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely place is located in La Parte Vieja of San Sebastian. Renewed in June 2009, the 8 rooms are full equipped with TV, air conditioning, free wifi connection, private bathroom and breakfast included. We are extremely good located, restaurants and bars around where you will taste the delicious "pintxos", taxi and bus stops, public parking, 5 minutes walking to the beach, shopping area, business center and Central train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Gran Bahia Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing