We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Pension Iturriza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Iturriza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently on a trip to Spain. It is in a great location- near the old city and the pintxos bars and a 5 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are basic but clean and modern. The owner, Ibon, lives off-site but is only 5-10 minutes away. On arrival, Ibon met us and gave us a good outline on San Sebastian and great recommendations for eating at the pintxos bars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for exploring the old town or going to the beach. Ibon and his wife were accommodating hosts - showed us where to eat, kept our luggage and booked a minivan taxi for our evening flight.

We had Fuego (larger room) and Tierra. Both were very clean, comfortable and with fairly new furnishings. Minimalist modern style.

From our perspective you could not beat this for value. We would definite come back to this hidden gem.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank qbsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Ibon, the owner, designed this pension and built a lot of it himself. It looks amazing, very modern, clean and well managed. Right next to the old town and Ibon has tons of great recommendation for where to eat and explore. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Very friendly and beautiful place. Only thing is there is not parking right outside since it is the old town where it is all pedestrian. The parking garage is 32 euros for 48 hours and is a 5 minute walk. Also there is not a receptionist there all the time, however keys are waiting for you upon arrival and Ibon is very easy to get a hold of for questions or help. Saw the apartment on the top floor, it is GORGEOUS! fabulous for a large group, with cute furniture and a great view. Will not disappoint! Thanks Ibon!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Thalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I booked this pension based on trip advisor reviews and it was the only disappoint on my trip through the Basque country. This hotel is extremely overpriced for what you get. The rooms are very basic. I had just come from the Miro hotel in Bilbao and for not that much more had a 4 star experience. Room was adequate in size, and had some basic amenities like a hair dryer, soap on the wall from a soap dispenser, towels. There was a very small TV and the bed was adequately comfortable. No view to speak off, decent closet space. Yes, the host is friendly and does provide information on where to eat, but I don't think that warrants the price of the pension. There is a water cooler in the corridor. I think people might book this because it is very well located, but St. Sebastian is very small and after arriving I realized I could have stayed further out, paid the same price and stayed in a much better hotel, or paid much less. Visited the spa recommended my another reader on the beach, great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelwithyourmeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My partner and I spent 5 days in San Sebastian and Pension Iturriza was quite up to our expectations.We were received by our host who gave us a detailed description of restaurants og San Sebastian. Rooms were kept impeccably clean. Although the rooms are quite small, they were just what we wanted. Very satisfied indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

5 good friends on our yearly trip abroad booked 3 rooms and the penthouse appartement on the top floor. The location is perfect. Just 50 meters from shops and wonderful tapasbars, and 200 meters from the beach. The owner gives outstanding service as well. We got a handdrawn map of all places worth eating and tasting on....outstanding place, and next years trip is aleeady booked !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We only had a few days to stay in San Sebastian after a two week Spain and Portugal trip. We had no idea where to stay but knew we wanted to be walking distance to the pintxo bars. We tend to prefer boutique hotels or inns and Pension Iturriza ended up being just right. The rooms are modern with the nicest and biggest bed we had on a trip filled with twin beds in five star hotels. The bathroom and shower were modern and good size. The only noise we heard were some school kids on their break outside our window in the morning. After checking out other places in the area I think we picked the best location.

We figured out the parking and the pension is only a short walk away. Luckily we travel light as I would not want to slog a bunch of luggage through town. The location is steps way from the water and beach and steps away from a great hike. We got set up with our friendly host who provided great recommendations for pintxos hopping. We loved Atari and Zeruko and went their on both nights. We thoroughly enjoyed the La Perla Spa and got massages and did the pool circuit twice.

San Sebastián was the highlight of our trip and we cannot wait to go back. I would recommend Pension Iturriza to experienced or relaxed travelers. If you need a hotel with a restaurant, parking, bell man and guaranteed quiet , probably none of the places in Old Town will work. Our room was comfortable, modern, clean, well stocked with towels bathroom amenities and a hair dryer. We stayed in October and the weather was awesome-sunny and in the high 70s every day .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,655 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#13 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Iturriza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Iturriza

Address: Campanario 10, 2, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £39 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Iturriza 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Pension Iturriza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing