We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it. Far better places nearby.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cueva

La Cueva
Reserve with
La Cueva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid it. Far better places nearby.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The service was terrible. The waiter was simply rude and badly mannered. Also it is very hot inside the terrace and you are sweating. The waiter was sweating as if it was a sauna...
Btw, I'm fluent in Spanish and the service was the worse I had in lovely San Sebastián.

Food was ok, but nothing special. Far better places nearby. AVOID IT !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubén G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnlaceComunicacion, Propietario at La Cueva, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Hi! Thanks for your comment. We will try to improve those things you didn´t like. Hope you enjoyed the city!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    49
    40
    14
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Pretty decent but should look to do something special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The food was decent, excellent artichokes which were steamed with oil, the fish was also well prepared. The service was very good. The eating space is a bit cheap and ordinary, but at least they try. Much of the attitude in San Sebastián is a bit rough with a slight sustain for tourists but the food is definitely good. With a bit of improvement could outdo the restaurant opposite.

Helpful?
Thank drtcoBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnlaceComunicacion, Propietario at La Cueva, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Hi!! Thanks a lot for the comment. We will try to improve ourselves but we are glad to see you felt happy with our service. It would be nice to see you soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spanish decor - shame about food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Positive - traditional spanish decor was nice.

The waitress was fairly grumpy towards us the whole time we were there. The starter of tuna salad was smothered in salt/oil, but the scrambled eggs with mushrooms were fairly tasty. We had 2 jugs of wine between 4 - generous. The main course of salmon was not grilled per the menu, it was fried - one of our pieces of salmon was raw. They didn't have any lamb chops so one person had chicken and chips. Just looked like a cheap frozen breaded piece of chicken, chopped up with some cheap frozen chips (which I noted all the other diners left on their plates). The mussels main course was good if small.

Pudding was horrible, creme caramel (there were 4 of us and for some reason they only brought 3). Other option was sheeps yoghurt.

All in all not a great experience, service or food-wise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaS1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tias
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had an excellent menú del día with good food in this restaurant which is situated in a delightful old building in a pretty square. Our experience was a little marred by the fact that we had some spare cinema seats during the Film Festival which we were prepared to give away to anyone who could use them. We asked our waiter who said he'd ask the owner and when he said the owner was interested, we gave him the tickets. He then told us the owner was making some phone calls. We were a little disappointed, therefore, when the owner rushed past us (with two hours to spare!) and didn't even acknowledge us, let alone thank us

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayTias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good place, good menu del dia. Lovely FRESH squid.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I noticed the comments on this place regarding service, over-cooked beans, etc. I have to disagree. The fabada Asturiana was delicious, and not at all over-cooked. The squid was delicious! Overall I liked this place and thought it a good restaurant in San Sebastian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to La Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing