We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like being home”
Review of Pension Aia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Aia
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really like being home”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is perfectly clean and the facilities are well beyond what I'd expect for the price. Well located right near the beach in beautiful San Sebastián, the real draw card for this place is Paulo and his wife who seem to treat their guests like family. They really could not have been more welcoming, friendly or hospitable. I look forward to coming back. Many thanks!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    29
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
134
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked this along with some cheap Ryanair flights as a surprise weekend away and couldn't have asked for anything more. It was booked on a whim and quite cheaply as I didn't want my partner to know about it. Just around the corner from the supermarket which was perfect as the communal kitchen had plenty in it and a glimpse of the beach from our balcony. Thank you - we hope that we will be back!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KevMarnieAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Not many places get five stars after eighty reviews, the Pension Aia deserves them.
Clean, tidy rooms with comfortable beds and an excellent shower.
The owner as has been mentioned previously is extremely helpful and considerate.
For the cost of the rooms this is a truly excellent place to stay within ten minutes of the old town and two minutes from the beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank RandwickBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

You can't ask for more. It's a cosy place and rooms are well decorated. If you are looking to save money but still wanna be in town and close to everything and possibly in a nice place, this is the place for you. The hostel is run by a lovely couple, they have everything you need and there is food and drinks available in the kitchen for free.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilSeriedipendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed the weekend in this lovely pension while we were competing in the area. Paulo (the owner) was very welcoming and gave us good insight to the city. The room was spacious and very clean with a great little balcony and a very comfortable bed. The en-suite bathroom was a good size with a very nice shower. The location of the pension is wonderful, less than a minute from the beach and only a short (and pleasant) walk to the old town.

The en-suite double room cost us 55 euros a night and the parking nearby (recommended by the pension) was 12 euros a night.

I would recommend this place to anyone who would listen!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Even though it was one night(I didn't book and there was a marathon on this weekend), Paulo went out of his way to make me feel at home. He even gave me his number to contact him should I run into any trouble. What a legend.
The room and bed were spotless and very comfortable. Had a great sleep. The bathrooms and kitchen are also spotless. There is free cereal, tea, coffee(proper coffee) and milk.
For the standard of the place, I thought the price was very reasonable.
Will definitely stay here again when I'm back in Spain!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room away from the street. There was a little bit of noise, but I was so tired tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights September and can't praise this pension enough, it appears like everybody else in the reviews, it is in a fantastic quiet part of town yet only minutes walk to everything, the rooms are well insulated and soundproofed, they are very clean with good bedding. The pensions secret weapon is the owner "Paola" and his lovely wife, nothing was a problem, they run a very very good hotel and deserve the great reviews, one thing that isn't mentioned is that there is a great kitchen with breakfast cerial, coffee, tea supplied, also microwave, fridge. We fully recommend this pension

Room Tip: All rooms we saw looked great but next time we would ask for a twin room as the double beds are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#4 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aia

Property: Pension Aia
Address: Zabaleta 40 | 1st Floor, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute walk to Zurriola surf beach and Kursal conference centre. The town center with its many shops and the Old Town with its many bars and bustling night life are just a five minute walk away. The perfect place to stay and enjoy the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing