We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Evening but lacking in Class.”
Review of Saltxipi

Saltxipi
Price range: US$0 - US$68
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional basque cuisine since 1973. Large terrace.
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Our hotel booked this restaurant for us as recommended for a Couples Evening.
Lovely Garden setting, lighting etc but there was an absence of a warm welcome.
The food was good with interest but not great and at no time did we feel special to be there.
A little disappointed as this was our only night in San Sebastián.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Good morning Peter. Thank you very much for sharing your comment.
We are happy to read you enjoyed the visit and we will keep working hard to improve.
Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

this is one of my favorite restaurants in San Sebastian, lovely and very homely setting with a beautiful garden, and by far the best steak you can get in this lovely food-heaven city

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank johnkenn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Good morning. Thank you very much for sharing your comment.
It is great to read you had such a great experience and you have a fantastic memory of our steak. It would be nice to see you back to San Sebastian.
Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

If you enjoy terrible service, mediocre food and lackluster presentation with a side of good ambiance, this place is for you.
In the last 90 min, we’ve seen our waiter 2x, which was once too many, when he picked his nose prior to ask me if I am done.
Culinary experience suicides.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Good morning.
We regret you did not have a good experience in our restaurant. We take anote and will keep working to improve.
Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

One of the non michelin star restaurant in San Sebastian probably the best txangurro and turbot I have ever had

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank MIGUELJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Good morning. Thanks a lot for the comment.
We are glad you have such a great memory of our txangurro and our turbot. It would be nice to see you enjoying them again soon.
Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Bad service, and substandard food. With all good options around, you should better avoid this one! Good ambiance but something’s a miss and that is the love and care that goes into preparing and serving the Basque cuisine, in the Mecca of fish. The two appetizers ordered were with identical sauce, one had the sauce reduced from yesterday’s soup, we are sure. Nobody cared about the empty bottles and the glasses accumulated on the table and the fish cheeks (which was advertised as their specialty) was bland, and served with no care (dropped by the side of the table with a spatula in them as the server decided probably he had better things to do). Waste of time and money. Very disappointing experience!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Alp4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Good morning.
We regret you did not enjoy the experience as much as we would have liked. We take a note of your comment and will keep working.
Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltxipi also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Saltxipi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing