We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, shame about the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my parents for five days in August. I'll keep it brief...

Good points:
Views- outstanding
Bedroom- nice, comfortable bed

Bad points:
- Arrived at 930am (had an early flight). 5 hour wait to check in, not offered a coffee or anything
- 1 hour wait to be served in the lounge bar
- No porter to help with luggage
- Pubic hairs in the bathtub
- Squashed flies on mirror and bathroom wall
- Extortionate price for hotel meal (48€/pp): cold, poor food
- Hotel restaurant decorated like a cheap 90s wedding
- Too many members of staff surly and rude, to the point of ignorant
- Hotel very far from city centre- this wasn't really stated beforehand
- Small but loud themepark located in grounds of the hotel, open until 2am- never mentioned beforehand
- Staff did not know currency conversion rates, nor did they have the initiative to check them online
- Wi-fi was poor and often did not work in bedrooms

This is an expensive hotel, in an impressive location. Unfortunately, the staff, the low standards and the overall experience were less than what we had hoped for.

Think twice before you book this hotel, may be a caravan would be better!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fergwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marymy P, Director General at Mercure Monte Igueldo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in early August and loved the location with its impressive views as well as the outdoor swimming pool - however I would not recommend dining in the restaurant as it was hugely overpriced with very poor / non-existent service. Main course cold and had to sent back. Breakfast buffet fine but it was often a challenge to get seated / coffee etc. Far better to eat in San Sebastien itself from a quality and price point of view. Restaurant is chronically understaffed and badly managed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marymy P, Director General at Mercure Monte Igueldo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Agniuk_C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marymy P, Director General at Mercure Monte Igueldo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It has a great view of the harbor which is its only redeeming value. Horrible price value. We have a double preferred room with a view for far, far too many euros. I do belong to the Accor Club.
The internet not only goes down constantly but operates a a slow dial-up speed. We've had to ask dozens of time to reset it. If you have work to do or to communicate with the outside world, FORGET IT!
Our room had no shampoo and dirty glasses have left.
The wine-by-the-glass list is miserably short and of poor quality. This is Spain for bloody sakes!
We were supposed to have a non-smoking room but have a smoking room. I'm a caner survivor with asthma since 9/11.
We're trying to rebook and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marymy P, Director General at Mercure Monte Igueldo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Many thanks for your review.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been lucky enough to stay in this fantastically dated hotel twice for a week each time over the last couple of years.
It's spotless and quaint, the food is okay, the staff excellent and the location, pool and views unsurpassed in the world. The 102 year old funicular and the extraordinary fun park with its original water driven roller coaster is not to be missed.
However the best feature of all is that its still affordable for the common man. We rue the day this historical quirky gem is taken over by a Hip Operator and we can no longer afford to enjoy such a magical place.
Long may it stay a daggy, eccentric wonderland.
Not to be missed by any intelligent traveller.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marymy P, Director General at Mercure Monte Igueldo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The view is spectacular and is in it self worth a stay. Got a room high up with balcony.
The room was small but had a decent standard. Service was good, a special thanks to the night porter on 5th August which was very helpful. Wifi- connection was very poor. The hotel in general is in need of renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marymy P, Director General at Mercure Monte Igueldo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review.
It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everyone had to queue to get into the dinning room for breakfast both days, the poor breakfast staff were stressed, only three people there for everyone, I sympathised, they were working very hard trying but there were simply not enough tables or staff working so as to cope, there is a massive balcony adjoining the hot dinning room with the doors closed which would have accommodated at least another 8 more tables. The view is one of the best in the world and I have been around a bit of it, but the internet connection is still somewhere back in the mid 90's, it is simply terrible, don't go there if you need to be connected on. The management are in complete denial about this, in fact the hotel is clean and nice, and so it should be at 180 euro a night, the price of a can of coke 3.6 euros, that gives you an idea. This beautifully located hotel on the top of a mountain with views to die for needs some serious management changes to warrant the prices they charge, the current management are completely out of touch with their own hotel and have their heads in the clouds!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marymy P, Director General at Mercure Monte Igueldo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,793 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,359 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,763 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#9 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Monte Igueldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Monte Igueldo

Address: Paseo del Faro 134, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Monte Igueldo Hotel)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £66 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Monte Igueldo 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 km from the city centre of San Sebastian and close to the historic monument Palacio Miramar and Naval Museum. Restaurant, bar, meeting rooms. Swimming pool and parking facilities. Stunning views over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Monte Igueldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure San Sebastian Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Mercure San Sebastián Donostia
Mercure Hotel San Sebastian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing